WARNING: Samsung 830 Firmware update - bugged. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

WARNING: Samsung 830 Firmware update - bugged.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Z Naught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,882
Rep: 64 (Unique: 59)
Today I updated my Samsung 830 256GB's firmware. The update failed and I BSODed. Afterwards, the drive was no longer in BIOS. I talked to Samsung and they said that it is a common issue with the firmware update and the only solution is an RMA. Luckily I had a backup of everything as I always do.

So again, do not update the firmware on your Samsung 830, it may fail!

UPDATE: By disconnecting the drive and reconnecting it, it showed up in BIOS and booted normally. It also appears to be updated. No performance changes from before.

I talked to Samsung again, apparently I am the only one who has thus far reported it being fixed like this and they wanted my configuration. Considering others are getting it fixed, can you post your configuration such as Motherboard, OS, Other disks, etc. so that I can report it to them?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Asus Support, in regards to Xonar DX sound looping
Me - you are not answering my question, if you are correct, then why do other audio devices not have this same issue?
Sonny Brown - because they are inferior
Z Naught is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 05:25 PM
Storage Nut
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 21,053
Rep: 1659 (Unique: 967)
another member had the same issue, he got it working again I think by just letting it sit for a while.

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials | My Build Logs | My Server Build Log | flickr | Steam | Depression and I
Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
Le Main Rig
(15 items)
Terrorbyte V2
(16 items)
Test Bench
(8 items)
CPU
i7-6700K
Motherboard
ASRock Z170 OC Formula
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 960 WindForce 2X OC
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
480GB ADATA SX8200
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
2TB HP EX950
Power Supply
Corsair RM650
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Keyboard
Patriot Viper V760
Mouse
Patriot Viper V560
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximux IV Extreme
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 830
Hard Drive
480GB SanDisk Extreme II
Hard Drive
2TB WD Red
Hard Drive
2TB Samung Spinpoint F4
Hard Drive
2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Other
LSI 9261-8i
Other
Intel RES2CV240
CPU
i5-4670k
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400MHz
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 850 Pro
Power Supply
850W Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
Case
Thermaltake Urban T81
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Sean Webster is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Z Naught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,882
Rep: 64 (Unique: 59)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Webster View Post

another member had the same issue, he got it working again I think by just letting it sit for a while.

How is that possible? Samsung said they need to RMA the drive as they can only reflash it at their factory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asus Support, in regards to Xonar DX sound looping
Me - you are not answering my question, if you are correct, then why do other audio devices not have this same issue?
Sonny Brown - because they are inferior
Z Naught is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 12:55 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
weebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,541
Rep: 77 (Unique: 66)
Hi Z Naught i'm the person that had the same problem as you.

"So i installed the update using the USB method. When i was done with that i rebooted my pc and rechecked if the SSD was fully updated. My pc got stuck, so i resetted it. When my pc wanted too boot it couldn't find my SSD anymore and it also wasn't visible in my bios. So i shutted my pc down and left for dinner. When i came back i installed ubuntu first on my USB by using a other pc so i could still use my pc with the dead SSD. When i started my pc and wanted too select my USB as boot device, bios found my SSD!

A strange problem but a good end, i now have CXM02B1Q installed:D"

A man without his word is no better than a beast
weebeast is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 01:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wooojciech1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 91
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hi,

My 128 GB SSD was also not visible in Bios and I got BSOD when I updated firmware using windows solution.
In that case I have powered down my computer and disconnected the SSD from the sata3 port and connected it again to the second sata 3 plug and it was visible again.
But the firmware was not updated after that crash, I still got the old one. Then I tried with bootable USB and bootable CD. This has also failed.
I manage to boot the from the usb/cd but the application which was run and should update the firmware has failed at the end and exited to DOS.
I tried also with sata set to IDE but without success.
My MOBO is Asus Z68 V-pro and I have i5-2500k processor running at 4GHz .




Wooojciech1983 is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 06:49 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Cakewalk_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Magic Kingdom, WDW
Posts: 6,659
Rep: 276 (Unique: 256)
SO I updated the firmware on mine...didn't have any problems... I've had 2 BSOD 101 code on my system, one before the update, one after. Haven't had a problem since... hmm... I guess I'll just keep using it till there's a problem. But I didn't have a problem, with the 64GB... hmm
bummer mad.gif


Cakewalk_S is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 07:12 AM
Storage Nut
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 21,053
Rep: 1659 (Unique: 967)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cakewalk_S View Post

SO I updated the firmware on mine...didn't have any problems... I've had 2 BSOD 101 code on my system, one before the update, one after. Haven't had a problem since... hmm... I guess I'll just keep using it till there's a problem. But I didn't have a problem, with the 64GB... hmm
bummer mad.gif

BSOD 101 is usually an overclock issue...unstable. I bet you will not get a BSOD @ stock clocks.

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials | My Build Logs | My Server Build Log | flickr | Steam | Depression and I
Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
Le Main Rig
(15 items)
Terrorbyte V2
(16 items)
Test Bench
(8 items)
CPU
i7-6700K
Motherboard
ASRock Z170 OC Formula
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 960 WindForce 2X OC
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
480GB ADATA SX8200
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
2TB HP EX950
Power Supply
Corsair RM650
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Keyboard
Patriot Viper V760
Mouse
Patriot Viper V560
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximux IV Extreme
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 830
Hard Drive
480GB SanDisk Extreme II
Hard Drive
2TB WD Red
Hard Drive
2TB Samung Spinpoint F4
Hard Drive
2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Other
LSI 9261-8i
Other
Intel RES2CV240
CPU
i5-4670k
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400MHz
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 850 Pro
Power Supply
850W Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
Case
Thermaltake Urban T81
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Sean Webster is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 12:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Maynard46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 92
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Maynard46 is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blue_Flame5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Yea I updated yesterday but instead of a blue screen it just restated yet it was not in BIOS I though my drive died or something but I just disconnected and re connected the sata cable and it was in bios again .

Blue_Flame5 is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2012, 12:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA, NH
Posts: 2,349
Glad I was worried about downloading new firmware and didn't.
Mkilbride is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off