How to: Set up Intel Smart Response Technology (SSD caching) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to: Set up Intel Smart Response Technology (SSD caching)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 355 (permalink) Old 03-11-2012, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Storage Nut
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 21,076
Rep: 1660 (Unique: 967)

How to: Set up Intel Smart Response Technology (SSD caching)



Intel® Smart Response Technology User Guide:
This feature requires that the SATA controller be set to RAID mode via the system BIOS. Intel® Smart Response Technology is an Intel® Rapid Storage Technology (RST) caching feature that improves computer system performance. It allows a user to configure computer systems with an SSD used as cache memory between the hard disk drive and system memory.

This provides the advantage of having a hard disk drive (or a RAID volume) for maximum storage capacity while delivering an SSD-like overall system performance experience. Intel® Smart Response Technology caching is implemented as a single drive letter solution; no additional drive letter is required for the SSD device used as cache.

You can use a SSD to cache your secondary drives and RAID arrays. Just remember all data on the SSD you use will be wiped when you accelerate the other drives. And you can only have one volume accelerated at a time.

More info here: (link)

Also, before you try to set it up make sure your SSD has no partitions on it. So, go to disk management and delete all the partitions on the SSD or use the diskpart clean command to delete the partitions that way before you begin.

System requirements:
  • Intel® Z68/Z77/H77/Q77 Express Chipset-based desktop board
  • Intel® Core™ Processor in the LGA 1155 package
  • System BIOS with SATA mode set to RAID
  • Intel Rapid Storage Technology software 10.5 version release or later
  • Single hard disk drive or multiple drives in a single RAID volume
  • Solid State Drive (SSD) with a minimum capacity of 18.6GB
  • Operating system: Microsoft Windows* Vista 32-bit Edition and 64-bit Edition, Microsoft Windows* 7 32-bit Edition and 64-bit

Setup guide:
  1. Install Windows onto the HDD with the SATA mode set to RAID in the BIOS/UEFI. If you have the OS installed and the SATA mode currently set to IDE or AHCI please look here on how to properly change to RAID mode: (link)
  2. Install the newest Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver with the Control Center (a check box in the bottom left corner when installing): (link)
  3. Have both the HDD you intend to accelerate and the SSD in system at this point
  4. Run the Intel RST software through the All Programs menu or the task bar icon.
  5. Click Enable acceleration either under the Status or Accelerate menu.
    412
  6. When pop-up menu appears, chose which SSD you wish to use as the Cache device
  7. Select the size from the SSD to be allocated for the cache memory. Any remaining space on the SSD may be used for data storage using the simple data single-disk RAID 0 volume that is automatically created.
  8. Select the drive (or RAID volume) to be accelerated. It is highly recommended to accelerate the system volume or system disk for maximum performance.
  9. Select the acceleration mode. By default, Enhanced mode is selected.
    Enhanced mode: Acceleration is optimized for data protection.
    Maximized mode: Acceleration is optimized for input/output performance.
    373
  10. Click OK
  11. After clicking OK button, SRT will enable automatically, and the RST GUI will refresh to show the newly accelerated system configuration.



Option 2: Set up caching on a secondary drive with a separate, non-OS SSD for caching
  1. The system should already have windows installed on the main SSD and the SATA mode should be set to RAID, if you need to change your sata mode look here: (link)
  2. Once that is set, install on your caching SSD
  3. Install IRST
  4. Follow the instructions in the above guide, only instead of using your OS SSD as the cache SSD use the one you designated for caching the HDD.



Option 3:
Setting up the SSD as the OS drive and the cache drive. You will have to install on the HDD and set up the cache for xxGB of the SSD (up to 64GB). Then when you do that reinstall on the SSD in the unused space. Then set up SSD caching again on the previous cache space. (iirc)

Guide here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1404323/guide-using-1-ssd-as-system-drive-os-and-acceleration-drive-raid-smart-response-technology-ssd-caching


Now supported by X79 chipsets!
https://www.overclock.net/t/1217075/asus-p9x79-motherboard-owners-where-are-you-at/100_50#post_19487853

All you need is the IRST driver v11.7.x.xxx or newer!


No acceleration tab showing up for you? Here is the fix! (Note: You can not cache dynamic disks!)

  1. This is your issue, no option to enable acceleration right?
  2. Simply exit the Intel control panel and then delete the partition on your SSD you are going to use to accelerate
  3. Reopen the Intel control center and then under the status tab under the performance subsection you will have the Acceration using SSDs: Disabled and the ability to enable it.
  4. Click enable and here you go!


Fix #2:

https://www.overclock.net/t/1227655/how-to-set-up-intel-smart-response-technology-ssd-caching/240#post_21550417
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubanresourceful View Post

That did not work. What did work was shrinking my OS partition by 200MB. I noticed that people were having issues with IRST with additional partitions like Linux, etc. and then deleting them worked. So I assume (not verifiable) that IRST needs some space towards the end of the drive? After accelerating, the 200MB free space shrunk to 198MB free space. Dunno, but if someone else is having an issue where they cannot accelerate, even though everything else is correct, try shrinking the last partition (or the OS partition, I don't know which since I only had one main partition on the drive, aside from the other required Windows partitions).

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials | My Build Logs | My Server Build Log | flickr | Steam | Depression and I
Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
Le Main Rig
(15 items)
Terrorbyte V2
(16 items)
Test Bench
(8 items)
CPU
i7-6700K
Motherboard
ASRock Z170 OC Formula
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 960 WindForce 2X OC
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
480GB ADATA SX8200
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
2TB HP EX950
Power Supply
Corsair RM650
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Keyboard
Patriot Viper V760
Mouse
Patriot Viper V560
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximux IV Extreme
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 830
Hard Drive
480GB SanDisk Extreme II
Hard Drive
2TB WD Red
Hard Drive
2TB Samung Spinpoint F4
Hard Drive
2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Other
LSI 9261-8i
Other
Intel RES2CV240
CPU
i5-4670k
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400MHz
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 850 Pro
Power Supply
850W Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
Case
Thermaltake Urban T81
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Sean Webster is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 355 (permalink) Old 04-17-2012, 03:36 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Big Sky
Posts: 1,459

Is this worth doing if your just having 1 Intel SSD as the OS and a HDD for storage and no RAID?

1ceTr0n is offline  
post #3 of 355 (permalink) Old 04-17-2012, 03:41 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
KuuFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,450
Rep: 197 (Unique: 177)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ceTr0n View Post

Is this worth doing if your just having 1 Intel SSD as the OS and a HDD for storage and no RAID?

no it's not worth doing.

It is only "worth" doing if you had a small ssd <30gb and you wanted an extra boost in every program you use often that wouldn't fit on an ssd.
KuuFA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 355 (permalink) Old 04-17-2012, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Storage Nut
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 21,076
Rep: 1660 (Unique: 967)
Since you are using the SSD as a OS drive you would need a separate SSD as the HDD cache.

If you want to do this over having the OS on the SSD I don't recommend it.


I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials | My Build Logs | My Server Build Log | flickr | Steam | Depression and I
Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
Le Main Rig
(15 items)
Terrorbyte V2
(16 items)
Test Bench
(8 items)
CPU
i7-6700K
Motherboard
ASRock Z170 OC Formula
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 960 WindForce 2X OC
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
480GB ADATA SX8200
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
2TB HP EX950
Power Supply
Corsair RM650
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Keyboard
Patriot Viper V760
Mouse
Patriot Viper V560
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximux IV Extreme
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 830
Hard Drive
480GB SanDisk Extreme II
Hard Drive
2TB WD Red
Hard Drive
2TB Samung Spinpoint F4
Hard Drive
2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Other
LSI 9261-8i
Other
Intel RES2CV240
CPU
i5-4670k
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400MHz
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 850 Pro
Power Supply
850W Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
Case
Thermaltake Urban T81
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Sean Webster is online now  
post #5 of 355 (permalink) Old 04-17-2012, 05:59 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Big Sky
Posts: 1,459

Ok, so far so good. Now i'm trying to figure how to have all my frequeantly used files and documents referenced on the HDD itself automatically seperatly  from the SSD which is now the C: and damn, its fast!!

1ceTr0n is offline  
post #6 of 355 (permalink) Old 05-22-2012, 05:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mxthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Eaton, OH
Posts: 3,428
Rep: 144 (Unique: 123)
I bought a 60gb intel 330 ssd to play with. now that I am done messing around with it, I would like to secure erase it and use it for a cache drive.
my question is, I already have windows installed on my vraptor. Can I still switch to raid mode in UEFI and setup SRT, or do I need to re-install windows?
mxthunder is offline  
post #7 of 355 (permalink) Old 05-22-2012, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Storage Nut
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 21,076
Rep: 1660 (Unique: 967)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxthunder View Post

I bought a 60gb intel 330 ssd to play with. now that I am done messing around with it, I would like to secure erase it and use it for a cache drive.
my question is, I already have windows installed on my vraptor. Can I still switch to raid mode in UEFI and setup SRT, or do I need to re-install windows?
Yes you can easily switch to RAID mode.

Follow this guide: https://www.overclock.net/t/1227636/how-to-change-sata-modes-after-windows-7-installation

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials | My Build Logs | My Server Build Log | flickr | Steam | Depression and I
Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
Le Main Rig
(15 items)
Terrorbyte V2
(16 items)
Test Bench
(8 items)
CPU
i7-6700K
Motherboard
ASRock Z170 OC Formula
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 960 WindForce 2X OC
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
480GB ADATA SX8200
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
2TB HP EX950
Power Supply
Corsair RM650
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Keyboard
Patriot Viper V760
Mouse
Patriot Viper V560
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximux IV Extreme
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 830
Hard Drive
480GB SanDisk Extreme II
Hard Drive
2TB WD Red
Hard Drive
2TB Samung Spinpoint F4
Hard Drive
2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Other
LSI 9261-8i
Other
Intel RES2CV240
CPU
i5-4670k
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400MHz
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 850 Pro
Power Supply
850W Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
Case
Thermaltake Urban T81
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Sean Webster is online now  
post #8 of 355 (permalink) Old 05-22-2012, 07:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mxthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Eaton, OH
Posts: 3,428
Rep: 144 (Unique: 123)
mxthunder is offline  
post #9 of 355 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 07:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canoodle
Posts: 10,327
I'm thinking of doing this for my next laptop. I'll use the standard 500 GB drive and a 64 GB SSD (50 bucks - OCZ Agility 3). The big thing about SSDs is the small file read speeds and access times, isn't it? Other then that, you don't notice much of a difference. Would you get the SSD performance for the small file reads while keeping the larger storage capacity this way?

Anyone have any benchmarks of this? I can't find any modern ones with faster drives. Could also be handy for my bros next desktop. 50 bucks for SSD like performance while having a large capacity is awesome. I could care less about the 200-500 GB read/write speeds for the larger files. Half the time we're limited to the 16-48 Mbps download speeds anyways. If this works like the corsair accelerators without having to buy that specific drive, then I'm definitely interested.
Domino is offline  
post #10 of 355 (permalink) Old 06-02-2012, 02:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eggrolls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California
Posts: 146
Rep: 13 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domino View Post

I'm thinking of doing this for my next laptop.

don't think you can do that.
Quote:
System requirements:

Intel® Z68 Express Chipset-based desktop board

laptops don't use the z68 chipset

eggrolls is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off