SSD RAID0 on P67 or H67 motherboard - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

SSD RAID0 on P67 or H67 motherboard

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2014, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
brasslad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: waterbury ct
Posts: 891
Rep: 65 (Unique: 52)
I have 2 Kingston Hyper 3K 120GB.
To increase "C" drive size (and to experience RAID0) would like to try.
I have an Asrock P67 and a Biostar H67A+ motherboard and a Sandy Bridge 2500K. Anyone know if TRIM will work on either board with Windows 7? I know TRIM is not officially supported.
P67 and 2500K bought used, H67 built with I5 2400.
fwiw I put a Corsair Neutron 256 GB on my P67 / 2500K and like the size and performance, would like to duplicate SSD size with the Kinston pair.

CPU I5 2400 Motherboard Biostar TH67A+ Memory 2x 4 GB DDR3 1600 CAS9 Ripjaws HDD Samsung HD204UI 2TB

Antec Earthwatts EA-500D Watt ODD Asus DRW-24B1ST Samsung TSST CDDVDW SH-222BB Steelseries mouse

Viewsonic VX2450 monitor Firefly Borealis keyboard Asus HD 6850 1 GB Rosewill Redbone case

Kingwin HotSwap 3.5 HDD Locking card reader
Rig 2: I5 2500K Asrock P67 4X 4GB Ripjaws X Corsair Neutron 256 GB SSD Samsung 2 TB HDD Antec 650 psu 3x ODD CM 912 Case
brasslad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2014, 10:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
francisw19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,437
Rep: 182 (Unique: 158)
No TRIM support AFAIK. I know that Intel did add TRIM on RAID 0 for 7-Series chipsets with the RST 11.0 drivers way back, but no support for the 6-series chipsets that I've heard.

However, the garbage cleanup on the HyperX SSDs should take care of resetting deleted cells. It'll run automatically when the drives are idle, so just be sure to get the drives some idle time when you can...even if you just let your PC sit at the log-in screen once in a while, you should be OK. thumb.gif

CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero WiFi-AC
GPU
Asus GTX1080 Strix
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2666 32GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 4 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Pro 512 GB
Power Supply
EVGA 750 G3
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 (Chromax)
Case
Fractal Design Define R6 w/ Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp U2515H
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 RGB TKL (MX Brown, PBT)
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50x
Audio
Kanto YU4 (Matte Black)
Audio
Kanto Sub6 (Matte Black)
Audio
Rode NT-USB
Other
Logitech C920
Other
Xbox One Wireless Controller
Other
Wacom Intuos Pro (Small)
▲ hide details ▲
francisw19 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2014, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lumberton, NC USA
Posts: 1,237
Rep: 69 (Unique: 62)
I'm running RAID0 w/ my p67 board for over a year now rock solid.

Look here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1244232/asus-asrock-msi-gigabyte-bioss-with-updated-raid-orom



spinejam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-27-2014, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
brasslad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: waterbury ct
Posts: 891
Rep: 65 (Unique: 52)
Exactly, there are people running RAID0 on P67 boards, just asking results and if possible anyone has experience with the Asrock or Biostar boards listed. P67 Pro3 and H67A+

CPU I5 2400 Motherboard Biostar TH67A+ Memory 2x 4 GB DDR3 1600 CAS9 Ripjaws HDD Samsung HD204UI 2TB

Antec Earthwatts EA-500D Watt ODD Asus DRW-24B1ST Samsung TSST CDDVDW SH-222BB Steelseries mouse

Viewsonic VX2450 monitor Firefly Borealis keyboard Asus HD 6850 1 GB Rosewill Redbone case

Kingwin HotSwap 3.5 HDD Locking card reader
Rig 2: I5 2500K Asrock P67 4X 4GB Ripjaws X Corsair Neutron 256 GB SSD Samsung 2 TB HDD Antec 650 psu 3x ODD CM 912 Case
brasslad is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2015, 01:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
razvann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Running RAID0 on two Corsair SSDs for three years now, with TRIM activated following a BIOS mod (P67 Gigabyte board).

However, I was not successful getting TRIM to work on Windows 10, has anyone been successful there?
razvann is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off