Help with EVO 970 SSD and ASUS Z97P MB - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help with EVO 970 SSD and ASUS Z97P MB

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Rep: 0
Help with EVO 970 SSD and ASUS Z97P MB

Hey guys,

I need a little bit of help please, according to the web site for my mother board they banged on about the M.2 slot being able to handle speeds of up to 10Gb/s a second, so I thought, My old SSD is quite old (about 8 years) and I thought I'd splash out and get my self a new SSD, So I bought the EVO PRO 970 500GB as it has some great reviews.

They have some amazing benchmarks on youtube and the like so I thought why not!

Now this is the bit that I didn't take any notice of and that was the interface for my board (or the m2 slot should I say) which is only running at PCIe Gen 2 x 2 so this means that the pro 970 is running way less than it should be.

I'm only getting about 800 MB/s read speeds which is way less than what I should be. (the SSD is running like 6 times slower than what it can be run at)

Sent ASUS an email on it as I think it's a little bit confusing, but they only replied with something that was not even related to my initial query, so sent them an email back.

So just a couple of questions please,

I take it the board (ASUS Z97P) won't run the M2 any faster...? (can't find anything in the bios to change)
Is it possible to use a PCI Express riser card and use the M2 SSD with it to boot into windows giving me the speed and interface that I want?
Is there a possibility that I can buy another board that will take my chip and DDR3 that will use the faster PCIe 3.0 x4 speed ? (Only reason I ask is that my local PC store just dismissed it and said that I'd need a new board, processor, ram etc.)

Any ideas please?

Thanks.

p.s I have the correct drivers installed for the SSD rather than the stock MS one...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	06-12-2018 09-16-07.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	93.3 KB
ID:	237036  

Click image for larger version

Name:	06-12-2018 09-10-12.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	127.1 KB
ID:	237038  

Click image for larger version

Name:	06-12-2018 09-09-53.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	136.8 KB
ID:	237040  

Click image for larger version

Name:	06-12-2018 09-24-34.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	239.2 KB
ID:	237044  

Attached Images
   

Last edited by mowax; 12-08-2018 at 12:09 PM.
mowax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 12:25 PM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 865
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
The problem is that the SSD is running through the PCH at PCI-E 2.0 @ X2 because that you aren't reaching the advertise speeds.
Yes you can run a PCI-E to M.2 adapter but will be the same because your board doesn't PCI-E switchs the second PCI-E is also running at PCI-E 2.0 @ 2X.
Sadly the only option is changing the platform, but in my opinion you will not see a big benefit with the drive running at full speed, games and application will load at the same speed.
Only in very specific applications you can see a noticeable benefit SATA and NVME drive for the casual / gamer user is the same. Your drive right now is running faster than any SATA drive so is fast enough

I7 8700K@4.7Ghz / Z370-A / 2X8GB 3200Mhz ADATA Spectrix D40 / 1TB Intel 600P / EVO 850 250GB / 4TB WD Gold / RTX 2080 GAMING OC / NZXT Noctis 450 ROG / EVGA G2 850W@ECO
Heatkiller REV 3.0 / XSPC EX360 / DDC 3.25 + EK-XRES / 3x Venturi HF-12 PWM
lexer is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Rep: 0
ah shucks, thanks for that....I had a feeling that it was a possible board change. I have noticed a real difference in all my apps since running them from the new SSD, just some of the speeds that I see with them running on a rig that handles PCIe 3.0 x4 are insane.

So if I get it running then video rendering and game loading etc. would they then not become even faster?

here's some examples.....

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Samsung-970-EVO-2TB-NVMe-SSD-AS-SSD-Bench.png
Views:	13
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	237064  

Attached Images
 
mowax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 02:38 PM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 865
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
You need to find a SLI Ready board, that have at least 2x PCI-E 3.0. So you can use a adapter a M.2 to PCI-E adapter. But as i said before in most applications you will not notice any difference.
I had my Intel 600P running in a Z97-A at PCI-E 2.0 X2 and then I move it to my actual setup. All the games and applications loads take almost the same time to load

I7 8700K@4.7Ghz / Z370-A / 2X8GB 3200Mhz ADATA Spectrix D40 / 1TB Intel 600P / EVO 850 250GB / 4TB WD Gold / RTX 2080 GAMING OC / NZXT Noctis 450 ROG / EVGA G2 850W@ECO
Heatkiller REV 3.0 / XSPC EX360 / DDC 3.25 + EK-XRES / 3x Venturi HF-12 PWM
lexer is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Rep: 0
ok thanks man, what puzzles me with this is if it goes faster will it not load faster......it's just my way of thinking....like what is the bottle neck? so I load cs the way it is....for example and then load it up on the PCIe 3.0 x4 lane....will it not load like instant, maybe faster than the 2 x lane?
mowax is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 05:56 PM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 865
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
Most software don't take advantage of those drives at least for now, if you search some REAL world benchmark you will see that perform very similar to a SATA SSD. There is some applications where NVME drives shines like database. CS:GO is a very old game with small assets it will not load faster with a NVME drive

https://www.guru3d.com/articles-page...review,12.html

I7 8700K@4.7Ghz / Z370-A / 2X8GB 3200Mhz ADATA Spectrix D40 / 1TB Intel 600P / EVO 850 250GB / 4TB WD Gold / RTX 2080 GAMING OC / NZXT Noctis 450 ROG / EVGA G2 850W@ECO
Heatkiller REV 3.0 / XSPC EX360 / DDC 3.25 + EK-XRES / 3x Venturi HF-12 PWM
lexer is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Rep: 0
Thanks for that and thanks for your help

I'd still like to give it a go I guess, you know what it's like when you get something new for your PC , so I'm hoping I can find a board that will allow me to use the full potential of the EVO....

I think my chip is a 5 series, would you know about that or how to tell? and then I'll try to see if I can find a board that will take the processor and DDR3 that I have.....hopefully anyway...

Thanks again matey
mowax is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 11:50 AM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 865
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by mowax View Post
Thanks for that and thanks for your help

I'd still like to give it a go I guess, you know what it's like when you get something new for your PC , so I'm hoping I can find a board that will allow me to use the full potential of the EVO....

I think my chip is a 5 series, would you know about that or how to tell? and then I'll try to see if I can find a board that will take the processor and DDR3 that I have.....hopefully anyway...

Thanks again matey
Your chip is 4° Gen "Haswell" and you need a Z97 (LGA1150) board that is SLI Ready. Because those board has at least 2x PCI-Express 3.0 that can run 8x/8x or 16x. So your ssd will run at their full speed with a M.2 to PCI-E adaptor and your video card at x8. Only high end board that as a PLX chip can run 16x/16x or 8x/8x/8x/8x

I7 8700K@4.7Ghz / Z370-A / 2X8GB 3200Mhz ADATA Spectrix D40 / 1TB Intel 600P / EVO 850 250GB / 4TB WD Gold / RTX 2080 GAMING OC / NZXT Noctis 450 ROG / EVGA G2 850W@ECO
Heatkiller REV 3.0 / XSPC EX360 / DDC 3.25 + EK-XRES / 3x Venturi HF-12 PWM
lexer is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Rep: 0
nice..that sounds like a plan....can i boot into windows with it? that's what worry's me....as all riser cards don't seem to want to boot..
mowax is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 03:12 PM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 865
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by mowax View Post
nice..that sounds like a plan....can i boot into windows with it? that's what worry's me....as all riser cards don't seem to want to boot..
Yes Z97 can boot from any PCI-E. M.2 is just PCI-E + SATA with another form factor but in the case of Z97 only supports PCI-E. Only Z87 needs a BIOS mod to boot from a PCI-E

I7 8700K@4.7Ghz / Z370-A / 2X8GB 3200Mhz ADATA Spectrix D40 / 1TB Intel 600P / EVO 850 250GB / 4TB WD Gold / RTX 2080 GAMING OC / NZXT Noctis 450 ROG / EVGA G2 850W@ECO
Heatkiller REV 3.0 / XSPC EX360 / DDC 3.25 + EK-XRES / 3x Venturi HF-12 PWM

Last edited by lexer; 12-09-2018 at 03:16 PM.
lexer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off