NVMe loosing data - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

NVMe loosing data

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-27-2019, 01:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Toine3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
NVMe loosing data

Problem: My WD-black 500Gb NVMe is loosing data after I leave my PC for one week.

Hardware: WD-black SSD mounted in a Gigabyte Aorus Z390pro and 9700k not overclocked 2x8Gb kingston 3333mhz cl16. The SSD is installed with the heatsink and the warranty label is removed.

Description: first I did use this as an Win10 boot, but after two blue screens and the needed OS reinstalling, I transformed it to an data disk. Now I notice it is loosing data if I do not use my system. I have done lots of chkdsk repair, installed WD SMARTcheck software and Crystal????? software to detect anything but I only see, it is in good healt. Temp 51degr celsius max. BTW, this SSD has been installed using a grounded strap.

Question: I need help in going further to solve this, the warranty label has been removed so an RMA would be useless here in my country.
Toine3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-27-2019, 02:06 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,634
Rep: 599 (Unique: 465)
Quote: Originally Posted by Toine3 View Post
Problem: My WD-black 500Gb NVMe is loosing data after I leave my PC for one week.

Hardware: WD-black SSD mounted in a Gigabyte Aorus Z390pro and 9700k not overclocked 2x8Gb kingston 3333mhz cl16. The SSD is installed with the heatsink and the warranty label is removed.

Description: first I did use this as an Win10 boot, but after two blue screens and the needed OS reinstalling, I transformed it to an data disk. Now I notice it is loosing data if I do not use my system. I have done lots of chkdsk repair, installed WD SMARTcheck software and Crystal????? software to detect anything but I only see, it is in good healt. Temp 51degr celsius max. BTW, this SSD has been installed using a grounded strap.

Question: I need help in going further to solve this, the warranty label has been removed so an RMA would be useless here in my country.
What do you mean losing data? Files corrupted?

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-27-2019, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Toine3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
No maps are complete gone, it looks like this NVMe can not holt its data.
I have 3 other disk, 2 SSD both 256Gb , that both contain the OS, one for gaming, the other one for regular activities like interneting, and one 500Gb HD, for data. On all 3 disk I never had any data loss.
MBAM and MS virusscan both the most intense scanning, did not detect any trojan, maleware or virus.
Couple of weeks ago I did restore the data on the NVMe and use my PC 3 days friday, saturday and sunday, no data loss and after one week non activities it did have data loss again. Interesting points, not quite sure but it appears, mostly the lost files are the last one that I put on the NVMe.
On the NVMe I have installed data, Steam, AssettoCorsa, racefactor2 and SteamVR. Steam is btw always updating also strange.
Toine3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Toine3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Guess a little bit difficult as only 1 replied. Is there a testing method or software, to test data loss caused by the SSD?
Toine3 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 03:12 PM
u broke 666 rep :(
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 23,362
Rep: 676 (Unique: 359)
what happens when you bench it for extended periods of time, or run a checking tool? some bios have them built in

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
KAIHL Switches < CHERRY Switches, 10/10, blind taste test @ work.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 02:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Toine3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
what happens when you bench it for extended periods of time, or run a checking tool? some bios have them built in
I do not see anything in the Gigabyte Bios, any advice on test software? I did use: WD monitoring software and Crystaldisk info, that did shows not any sign of problems.
Toine3 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-04-2019, 02:56 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,634
Rep: 599 (Unique: 465)
Quote: Originally Posted by Toine3 View Post
I do not see anything in the Gigabyte Bios, any advice on test software? I did use: WD monitoring software and Crystaldisk info, that did shows not any sign of problems.
You sure Windows Storage Sense isn't moving data around?

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
Reply

Tags
loose data , nvme , Ssd

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off