Raid/Joining two ssd's? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Raid/Joining two ssd's?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-16-2019, 12:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 21,869
Rep: 630 (Unique: 342)
you won't be after finding out its 2x 2tb intel 660Ps

they were stupidly cheap when I got em (south of $200) and for my uses (with heatsinks and some air moving over them) work fine. Did some major data transferring last night between the two, in preperation to re-install enerprise & transfers were all ~700MB/s from NVMe stripe to SSD stripe, over a 2tb transfer.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-16-2019, 12:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 694
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Yes it is worth it for performance to stripe the NVMe drives aka put them into raid 0. Performance almost doubles in most areas.

You can either do it in the bios or you can just do it in windows. It's much easier and faster to do it in windows. Go into Disk Management to accomplish this and right click on the drive and select "new striped volume" and then add the second drive to the list.

RGB increases FPS!
(6 items)
CPU
[email protected]/4.9GHz CACHE HT/OFF
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS [email protected]
GPU
AORUS 2080Ti XTREME [email protected]/8000
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/4200MHz
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Monitor
Alienware AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
▲ hide details ▲
reachthesky is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-16-2019, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,682
Rep: 250 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
you won't be after finding out its 2x 2tb intel 660Ps

they were stupidly cheap when I got em (south of $200) and for my uses (with heatsinks and some air moving over them) work fine. Did some major data transferring last night between the two, in preperation to re-install enerprise & transfers were all ~700MB/s from NVMe stripe to SSD stripe, over a 2tb transfer.
I am still happy with sata SSD performance for the most part. My OS runs on a little EVO NVME 250gb but I would rather have more space than some extra speed.

Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
Yes it is worth it for performance to stripe the NVMe drives aka put them into raid 0. Performance almost doubles in most areas.

You can either do it in the bios or you can just do it in windows. It's much easier and faster to do it in windows. Go into Disk Management to accomplish this and right click on the drive and select "new striped volume" and then add the second drive to the list.
Thanks, any idea if the first drive is formatted. I am assuming so and no biggie if it is, but would be cool if it wasn't.

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
Sapphire Reference RX 5700
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 04:55 PM
Always flyin' to high...
 
IcarusLSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
I dunno why everyone is talking about NVMe drives as the OP said it was SATA ones they had.

I'd raid 0 any SSD's smaller then 1TB for sure! I do it on all my systems I make. Great for faster load times in games, snappier OS drives etc. Buying the smaller drives are much cheaper too. I pick one or two up at a time on sale and use them. If I break up the Raid volume they make great drives for sticking in USB3 enclosures and using as portable drives or backup.

Just make sure to back up ANY drive you have no matter the setup if you value the info...

·Ï¢årµ§·

i7 4790k · 32GB Kingston HyperX · MSI Gaming 5 · ... · 30" HP ZR30W + 27" Samsung 275T · 4x240GB Intel 530 in Raid 0 + 1TB Crucial MX500 · Lain-Li X2000F · EVGA SuperNova 850W G2 · BeQuiet! Dark Rock 3 · Logitech Z5500 · Win7pro 64bit
Ick Main
(16 items)
CPU
i7 4790k
Motherboard
MSI Gaming 5
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX
Hard Drive
Intel 530 4x240GB in Raid 0
Hard Drive
Crucial 1TB MX500
Optical Drive
LG WH14NS40 BluRay Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N DVD Burner
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 850W G2
Cooling
BeQuiet! Dark Rock 3
Case
Lian Li X2000F with smoked real glass window inside mounted
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
30" HP ZR30w 2560x1600
Monitor
27" Samsung 275T
Keyboard
Deck Francuim TKL
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Logitech Z5500
CPU
Intel i5 750 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth i55
GPU
Gigabyte GTX970 Gaming-4GD w/ Accelero Xtreme III
RAM
G.Skill ECO 8GB
Hard Drive
Crucial C300 3x64GB in Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB
Optical Drive
LG GH24LS50 DVD Burner
Power Supply
Antec Signature SG-850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Antec P100
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
27" Samsung 275T 1920x1200
Keyboard
CoolerMaster Storm Rapid i
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Creative Xfi Gamer
▲ hide details ▲
IcarusLSC is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,682
Rep: 250 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by IcarusLSC View Post
I dunno why everyone is talking about NVMe drives as the OP said it was SATA ones they had.



I'd raid 0 any SSD's smaller then 1TB for sure! I do it on all my systems I make. Great for faster load times in games, snappier OS drives etc. Buying the smaller drives are much cheaper too. I pick one or two up at a time on sale and use them. If I break up the Raid volume they make great drives for sticking in USB3 enclosures and using as portable drives or backup.



Just make sure to back up ANY drive you have no matter the setup if you value the info...


I ended up just adding the volume in Windows. Didn't feel like messing with it. Although wouldn't have been a big deal since it's not an os drive. But figured the speed gain wouldn't help too much as the drives just hold games.

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
Sapphire Reference RX 5700
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off