Definitive answer on the 'do you need to leave unallocated space' question - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Definitive answer on the 'do you need to leave unallocated space' question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-2010, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wintermute000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 234
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Hi guys

Wondering if the SSD experts out there can enlighten me on the old chestnut: Is it necessary to leave unallocated, unpartitioned space on your new SSD to enable and sustain max performance?

There is a TON of literature out there, some saying you need to leave 25% free space, others 15%, and still others say with modern firmware & TRIM its a load of garbage (pun intended).

Specifically Intel X25-V (40Gb) and X25-M G2 (160Gb). I have them both on the way (40Gb for media center, 160Gb for gaming rig, both Win7x64 so should do TRIM).

I've been doing my homework, I've got the latest intel driver for my gaming rig ICH10R, and I've removed the nforce driver on my media center 9300m chipset and reverted to win7 stock. If I do need to 'short stroke' it like a traditional RAID I can easily get the system files down to require .85 of the capacity or whatever the recommended figure is so its not a question of feasibility, I just need to know the 'correct' answer (I realise it may not be black and white answer)

wintermute000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-2010, 10:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
magic-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Trinidad, Ca
Posts: 165
Rep: 101 (Unique: 88)
To be honest, there is no simple yes or no answer. It all depends on whether the drive in question has its own built-in over provisioning or not. For example:
The OZC Vertex LE DOES have over provisioning that cannot be used by the user. In this case, fill er up.
The Patriot M28 does NOT have any real over provisioning, so the number is 90-95% (depending on use).
My general rule of thumb is if it has its own area to mess with, I am gonna use up mine. If not, I will give it 5-10% to play with.

magic-man is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wintermute000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 234
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
OK, what about the Intel X25 160Gb Gen2, and the X25-V 40Gb?
I got both on the way.

wintermute000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 01:07 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
theyedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 422
Rep: 17 (Unique: 15)
my intels have 149/160gb, so it seems so

edit; as in, the drives are showing a max of 149 when they are each 80, so it seems they reserve space

theyedi is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 01:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mini1337s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 379
Rep: 58 (Unique: 52)
On an Intel drive, you will want to leave free space. On a 160GB drive, I would recommend you create a primary partition/s totalling 140GB, and leave 20GB free space. The rule of thumb is 15%-20%, but you will be fine with that.
Tbh though, it isn't nessecary.

So you want to buy a Solid State Drive? Check out my pre-purchase guide for a run down on the fundamentals
Already have a Solid State Drive? Read magic-man's Windows 7 optimization guide

Need convincing? Check out these benchmark threads:
AS SSD Benchmarks
Crystal Disc Mark Benchmarks

mini1337s is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wintermute000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 234
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Yeah I was thinking just to be on the safe side. My current primary drive is a 150Gb raptor so going down to 140 Gb isn't an issue.

For the system with the X25-V, its a media center so trivial to shrink the system partition to say 30Gb.

wintermute000 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 07:50 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,142
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
No. You do not have to leave unprovision space as long as you are aware of the free space left.

In case you NEED the space, you can always use it at the cost of the drive's performance.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 08:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 144 (Unique: 119)
Quote:
No. You do not have to leave unprovision space as long as you are aware of the free space left.
I like to see a test between no partition, a partition that has been formatted but not used, and partition that is in the RAW state after cleaning with HDDErase.

Personally, I have a 20% partition in the RAW state and it's kept my performance the same as new.....and both my current G2s are used RMAs.

Can't get much better than that.

Since there's no definative answer, I'm staying with what works for me.

Edit....I'm using RAID0 so TRIM doesn't enter my equation.

I can't stand phonies, liars, and thieves.

Old Hippie is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 08:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 144 (Unique: 119)
Quote:
Originally Posted by theyedi View Post
my intels have 149/160gb, so it seems so

edit; as in, the drives are showing a max of 149 when they are each 80, so it seems they reserve space
80GBs formatted is 74.3GB.

I can't stand phonies, liars, and thieves.

Old Hippie is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 08:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waiheke Island, NZ
Posts: 3,111
Rep: 383 (Unique: 259)
All drives will slow down considerably under HEAVY LOAD, where they have no let up to do some clean up.

Most drives have spare area

Intel drives have around 7.3% spare area...

The definitive answer is NO.

Not SATA III it's SATA 6Gbit/s
SATA cables are SATA cables, no such thing as a "SATA 6Gbit/s cable"

TheDreadedGMan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off