How to fix OCZ Vertex Drive not Recognized - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

How to fix OCZ Vertex Drive not Recognized

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
nolonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,030
Rep: 260 (Unique: 196)
Yesterday I got my SSD, installed Windows and when I told CCleaner to zero-whipe the free space it froze. I restarted and it wasn't seen by the system anymore. After hours of reading and frustration I've come up with a way to solve the problem. This should work on any OCZ Vertex that came with Firmware 1.1 from factory.

This guide can also be used to update from pretty much any firmware to 1.6 (the latest). The whole process will be described using a Flash Drive since I didn't wanna go out and buy one CD for each step.

Firmware 1.1
First step: Find a jumper and use it to connect the two pins on the back of your SSD.

Now download Firmware 1.1 (attached below). Open the appropriate folder for your drive and run start.exe. A dialog box will pop up. Click Ok. Once a dialog box appears telling you to remove the jumper pops up, click OK and then Cancel on the next one.

Turn your system off and remove the jumper.

Firmware 1.3
This is where it gets a little more complicated. You'll need a bootable flash drive. For this, follow the guide found here.

Once that is done, copy all the files from the correct folder to your bootable flash drive.

Turn the computer off, unplug all hard drives and leave only the SSD you're flashing connected on the first SATA port in addition to the flash drive.

Set the flash drive as your primary boot HD and let it boot. The Windows 98 splash screen will display and you should now see a blinking cursor after c:\\. Type in FWUPDATE.exe.

A new window will appear asking if you want to search for the SSD. By default, it'll search for it, so don't worry about pressing Y. This can take up to 20 minutes!! After some time it'll come back with your SSD on a table. Press 1 (remember, don't have any other drives connected). This is a very quick flash.

Firmware 1.4
You can only update to this Firmware once you have 1.3 on your SSD. Clean out your flash drive (don't format, just delete all the files). Download Firmware 1.4 here and save all the files from the image 14v to your flash drive.

Once again, take all your HDD's off, place your SSD on the first SATA port and boot from your flash drive. This time, when you get to the command prompt, type:
cd aup
runme.bat

From this point on, it's just like updating from 1.1 to 1.3.

Firmwares 1.5 and 1.6
Once again clear your flash drive and download Firmware 1.5 attached below (you'll need Firmware 1.4 in your SSD to update to this Firmware). Place all the files in the flash drive.

Repeat the process of removing your HDD's and placing the SSD in the first SATA port.

Boot from the flash drive and it'll hang on the Windows 98 splash screen for a bit. Wait until your SSD is found and the Firmware is updated.

Now download Firmware 1.6 here and repeat the process. You cannot update to 1.6 from any other firmware, but 1.5.

If you have any issues with this update process, let me know. Feedback on this guide is appreciated. Thank you!

My Subzero Runs Thread
^^ Updated 11/04/10


nolonger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 08:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
binormalkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Posts: 11,444
Rep: 496 (Unique: 341)
A very common problem that people have when trying to flash is that their motherboard doesn't have their SATA ports set to AHCI mode. The flash tool will see the drive and attempt the flash, then reboot, but you won't have the latest firmware.

PWNzershreck
(11 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Formula
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 FE Heatkiller Acetal
RAM
GSkill DDR4-3000 F4-3000C15Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
EK Velocity 2x HW Labs 480GTX
Case
Caselabs STH10
Monitor
LG UC88-B Ultrawide, ASUS VS278Q
Keyboard
Ducky
Audio
ASUS Xonar Essence STX
▲ hide details ▲
binormalkilla is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-11-2010, 05:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
nolonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,030
Rep: 260 (Unique: 196)
Thanks for pointing that out. My main problem when flashing was the Firmwares they used wouldn't work. I had to find another source for 1.3 and 1.5.

My Subzero Runs Thread
^^ Updated 11/04/10


nolonger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-17-2018, 02:57 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
komsomolec is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off