[OFFICIAL] - BOINC Team members rigs and photos thread - 56K warning - Page 31 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OFFICIAL] - BOINC Team members rigs and photos thread - 56K warning

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 337 (permalink) Old 04-29-2016, 07:07 PM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
GOOD GRIEF tictoc! Put a crank pulley on the bottom front and looks like a turbocharge exotic race engine!

OUTSTANDING! Gives me some ideas for a long delayed project too!

Great work!

biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 337 (permalink) Old 04-29-2016, 07:23 PM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,474

I would like to get one more 7970 on it, but the only 7970 I have left is a non-reference card.  I have a spare EK block, just waiting for a good deal to pop up on ebay.



tictoc is offline  
post #303 of 337 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 06:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by tictoc View Post
 

Just configuring the OC's, but it should be up and crunching this weekend:

 

 

Wow that's pretty slick. What is it mounted on, did you build your own tech bench for it?


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #304 of 337 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 08:46 AM
Cake
 
TwirlyWhirly555's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Inside a Fridge , UK
Posts: 292
Rep: 19 (Unique: 15)
This used to be my boinc rig , It used a i7 and a 7950 , There use to be two 7950s but I kept get getting a BSOD every few days and removing one card seemed to fix the problem so I left it like that .

I have started a experimental setup with the plan being a Pico ITX running Linux to run GPU tasks on a R9 380X over a x1 link , the setup was briefly tested on my laptop and the GPU was found and showed correctly but I didn't try installing drivers . If it works it will be a compact GPU boinc unit , or it could fail : P

Old setup


IMG_0480[1] by TwirlyWhirly555, on Flickr

I don't know what you had in mind
But here we stand on opposing sides


TwirlyWhirly555 is offline  
post #305 of 337 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 02:04 PM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfromcolo View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tictoc View Post
 

Just configuring the OC's, but it should be up and crunching this weekend

 

Wow that's pretty slick. What is it mounted on, did you build your own tech bench for it?

 

It is mounted on a homemade test bench. They are very easy to make even if you only have simple hand tools.  You can get the 1/2x3/4 aluminum at any hardware store.  I built mine with rivets, but nuts and bolts would work just as well.  About $20 in material and an hour or two to put it together.  



tictoc is offline  
post #306 of 337 (permalink) Old 05-04-2016, 10:54 AM
Cake
 
TwirlyWhirly555's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Inside a Fridge , UK
Posts: 292
Rep: 19 (Unique: 15)
New test Setup I hope to soon run 24/7 , Quad core Celeron 2Ghz on a Pico ITX board and a R9380X @ 1100Mhz over a Pcie x1 2.0 Link .

OS is Win 10 and its currently running Collatz Conjecture GPU tasks .


I don't know what you had in mind
But here we stand on opposing sides


TwirlyWhirly555 is offline  
post #307 of 337 (permalink) Old 05-05-2016, 11:45 AM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwirlyWhirly555 View Post

New test Setup I hope to soon run 24/7 , Quad core Celeron 2Ghz on a Pico ITX board and a R9380X @ 1100Mhz over a Pcie x1 2.0 Link .

OS is Win 10 and its currently running Collatz Conjecture GPU tasks .


WOW! Can the X1 link keep the GPU fed well enough? That is amazing... GPU looks bigger than the mobo setup!

LOL!

Gotta love the ingenuity of OCN folks!

Great job!

biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
post #308 of 337 (permalink) Old 05-05-2016, 12:27 PM
Cake
 
TwirlyWhirly555's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Inside a Fridge , UK
Posts: 292
Rep: 19 (Unique: 15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex1954 View Post

WOW! Can the X1 link keep the GPU fed well enough? That is amazing... GPU looks bigger than the mobo setup!

LOL!

Gotta love the ingenuity of OCN folks!

Great job!

biggrin.gif

Thanks biggrin.gif ! , I'm glad it worked after a lot of it not wanting to work . Ended up trying win10 and after doing that it was up and folding within 20 minuets after an update . The GPU Is the largest part of the whole thing as the mobo is only 10cm x 7cm tongue.gif

After adding a GPU config file , GPU usage is nearly 100% non stop so the x1 link has no problems keeping up biggrin.gif

The GPU has a dummy VGA plug on so it shows as enabled in the radeon software with the Intel iGPU running the monitor

so its working and folding biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

I don't know what you had in mind
But here we stand on opposing sides


TwirlyWhirly555 is offline  
post #309 of 337 (permalink) Old 06-20-2016, 01:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BeerCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 630
Rep: 25 (Unique: 14)
Here is where a lot of my boinc firepower resides. Behind the rack is 3 servers that have 6 gpu's. Eventually I have to clean this room up smile.gif




BeerCan is offline  
post #310 of 337 (permalink) Old 06-20-2016, 02:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
magic8192's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MS
Posts: 1,697
Rep: 62 (Unique: 47)
Nice rack!
What is in it?



magic8192 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off