Project "Headless Linux CLI Multiple GPU Boinc Server" - Ubuntu Server 12.04.4/14.04.1 64bit - Using GPU's from GeForce GT610/GT640/GTX750ti/+ to crunch data. - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Project "Headless Linux CLI Multiple GPU Boinc Server" - Ubuntu Server 12.04.4/14.04.1 64bit - Using GPU's from GeForce GT610/GT640/GTX750ti/+ to crunch data.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 347 (permalink) Old 03-15-2014, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 201
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi,
Quote:
Very interesting project you have going on, but you seem to have chosen relatively low end GPUs considering the performance (PPD) to cost ratio of higher end GPUs running in much less expensive systems. Are there particular projects you want to crunch where this architecture is beneficial?

The reason I choose this GPU is only because I can fit 4 of them in the 2U case. The card is a low profile card with 2 low profile brackets. I haven't been able to find a faster card which can endure that kind of heat at the same time.

Jobs I'm aiming to do:
I've got AVX in my sight.
The 64bit part of [email protected], v7 v7.01 and AstroPulse v6 v6.03
Enhanced setiathome (can't remember what its called now)


Next test - looking for the right CPU:
OK, now we are going to step things up, just a little bit wink.gif We are going to find the right CPU for crunching data for [email protected] and [email protected] Could be any Boinc related project. (those who offers GPU rendering too of course). We are going up 1 level! Trying the app_info.xml to define exactly which applications we want to do. In this case we will try the new AVX for the haswell CPU, we will do GPU crunching times 4 and we will do it in 64bit! Why 64bit?? Because, in Linux, when putting 64bit job to Nvidia GeForce GT640 card, something happens. It runs like its being chased by a nymphomaniac. Its no Lamborghini, but it does really crunch data in a high rate compared to the cost of it. Back to the right CPU. Here's a comparison between Intel i5-4670K and Intel i7-4770K. The results speaks for themselves:



Intel Core i7-4770K advantages:

In single-threaded programs, the microprocessor has 3% higher performance.
In multi-threaded tasks, the processor has 19% better performance.
Memory performance of the Intel i7-4770K microprocessor is better.

Intel Core i5-4670K advantages:

Based on current official prices, the CPU is 29% less expensive than the Intel Core i7-4770K processor.
This CPU has 28% better price/performance ratio.

Facts:
There's really not much gained in using 100US$ more, even more expensive in Denmark (Denmark is that little zit which grew on top of Germany wink.gif . This is why I choose the i5 processor instead of the i7. The i7 has 4 cores and 8 threads - the i5 has 4 cores and 4 threads. But there's not much to gain by the double number of threads. All it will do, is run twice the number of jobs at half the speed!!

And this is the hardware we will use in this 3 test system. As I may have pointed out further down/up the thread:

Intel i5-4670K
Industrial 2U Cooler from JAC
Industrial 2U PSU ATX300W
Asus Maximus VI Extreme Z87 Haswell
8Gb Kingston HyperX Genesis X2 Grey S.
Asus GT640-1GD3-L PCIe 3.0 x16
Asus GT640-1GD3-L PCIe 3.0 x16
Asus GT640-1GD3-L PCIe 3.0 x16
Asus GT640-1GD3-L PCIe 3.0 x16



Test system 1 "wellington" will now be installed the same way as test system 2 "halifax", but with Ubuntu the 12.04.4 update. The Nvidia site tells us that since the 12.04.4 update, .deb package/cuda doesn't work any more. Let's see about that wink.gif And then we will have 2 system running the Server Edition all CLI and no GUI. Headless as well and multiple GPU's running wink.gif "politics"Take that Mr. Gates wink.gif (But, thanks for donating x% of your $ pile to the less fortunate ones) "/politics" wink.gif

Thanks Mr. DarkRyder. As always you Americans are positive and all for going the extra mile wink.gif

Just noticed, when editing the text to correct some misbeling, that the local tim was 6:41 pm. My G..!! You must be half way around the world to me.. It's 2:46 am here wink.gif
All I can say is, "...have a great afternoon, goodnight.." wink.gif

I'll be back wink.gif

Kind Regards,
Dan/Denmark
DanHansenDK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 347 (permalink) Old 03-16-2014, 03:55 AM
CYRUS + KEF + LG OLED....
 
2002dunx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,409
Rep: 42 (Unique: 41)
Great project but such hard work !

The Z87-ws may be a cheaper option - one i was considering till my electricity bill arrived mad.gif

dunx

P.S. My "version" of the BOINC box is an i7-4770K + Asus Impact VI with an R9 280X - so six threads, igpu and a full GPU ! mitx box with a 450W PSU.... know nothing about Linux and lack the time to learn it all from scratch.

Faster...sonic.gif


2002dunx is offline  
post #23 of 347 (permalink) Old 03-24-2014, 01:22 PM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Nice job so far!

I am curious to know which Nvidia driver you ended up using. In a 10 second test, I discovered the LinuxMint default driver didn't like the brand new PCIe 3.0 GTC 630 card I tested....

Also, I would really like to know why you don't like a GUI? X-server doesn't really take up many CPU's and really hasn't affected any times of tasks, but OTOH, I've never run without a GUI and desire it so I can use TightVNC to connect.

In any case, great job!

biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 347 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 07:13 AM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Another thing I would like to point out is that the only advantage to the "Server" edition is minimal and won't affect BOINC processes at all so far as I can tell. I still think you would be happier with LinuxMint Cinnamon 64b and just uninstall all the crap you don't need.

The LInuxMint folks seem to care about proper integration and testing and don't use that stupid POC Unity junk interface....

biggrin.gif




biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
post #25 of 347 (permalink) Old 04-05-2014, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 201
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi Guys,


The stuff is here! We are about to launch test system 3. A pretty serious mobo from Asus and 4 x Asus GT640 LowProfile, the hardware described in the posts above wink.gif

I would really like to know why you don't like a GUI?

Hi Tex, I have nothing against GUI. I use it all the time. Just not for a headless Rack-mounted computer system, where all control and remote control are pure CLI. I made some scripts which checks CPU temperature, GPU temperature and HDD's temperature. The last bit will not be necessary, I'm using SSD's. Tex, this is not a computer which runs Boinc, this is several computers build in a Rack, only running one thing and doing this one thing only - crunching data...All these crunchers can then be watched using e.g. BoincTasks, but it's really not necessary, theres my "CPU-WatchDog", "GPU-WatchDog" and maybe "FAN-WatchDog" shellscripts which watches the temperature and alerts if its getting hot and shutting down when getting too hot. It's also logging these things of course and mailing the alerts/warnings. I'll do a complete ToDo when I'm done.rolleyes.gif

Today, we are going to play! The new Asus mobo has a lot of nice stuff which came along when I bought it. You are not going to believe this. Maybe some of you serious gamers and crunchers already know this mobo, I didn't and I was amazed when I opened the box!! I got pictures for you guys of course thumb.gif

I just starting to assemble the system now, but here some pictures of the hardware we are going to use and the content of the mobo box tongue.gif



My G.., It's packed with all kinds of stuff! (is it kind or kinds), Well, here the 3 system, empty, prepared for the industrial PSU and several GPU's:



And here's the hardware wink.gif Well, I told you about the hardware before.. I just love to show you all the stuff lined up. biggrin.gif



Please notice the memory modules/RAM, I found these when building test system 2, its RAM/memory modules with cooling ribs/heat sinks. And the Aerocool X-vision controls 5 fans and temperature of 5 units. In this case 1 CPU and 4 GPU's. Here's a better picture:



I forgot to tell you about the OC Panel! A remote control and LCD panel, which make it possible to remotely modify the clock speed of your CPU and it has a LCD display which shows you a number of informations of the CPU. It can be fitted in a 5.25" bracket, which fits a 5.25" bay of the computer case. It's connected to the motherboard using a cable. A cable which is fitted to the backpanel of the mobo. It's A funny little gimmick I think, but in my case it will not be used. There's no room for additional mounting in the 5.25 bays. But maybe you would like to make use of this pretty nice idea. You can see the OC Panel highlighted/marked? in red/with a red box. In the green box you can see the 5 SLI's or PCIe 3.0 slots. Great stuff thumb.gif




Now, lets go! We are going to build this 3 test system which will be a Headless Ubuntu Linux Boinc Cruncher with 1CPU and 4 GPU's, build in a 2U Low Profile Rack Case. A industrial CPU Fan will be used to secure a low core temperature and the GPU's has got a large Heat Sink and a Fan of their own as well. An industrial PSU will be fitted, when it arrives. It's coming from across the Atlantic and its long overdue. We will use a standard PSU instead. Luckily a standard PSU fits this Case wink.gif Let's get started thumb.gif

I'll report back when entering the next stage

.
DanHansenDK is offline  
post #26 of 347 (permalink) Old 04-05-2014, 03:47 PM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Ummm, well, all I can say is WOW!

Yes, the latest HIGH END Mono's, especially the ROG type have all the bells and whistles for sure.

Those rack cases look pretty cool. Got a link for them? Looks like they stack nicely...

biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
post #27 of 347 (permalink) Old 04-05-2014, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 201
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi Tex,


They do indeed wink.gif A link, right on brother, coming right up.. It's a RPS-19-2550 RackCase from Germany wink.gif
I'll be back wink.gif

Here it is my friend wink.gif
http://www.shopwahl.de/a/produktliste/idx/2062200/mot/Rps_19_2550/produktliste.htm
DanHansenDK is offline  
post #28 of 347 (permalink) Old 04-05-2014, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 201
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Status:

It's 5:21 am here, and I need a few hours to recharge my batteries wink.gif

Mobo has been fitted with CPU, memory modules all 4 GPU's.
The graphic cards had to be modified with Low Profile brackets, and this has been done!
SSD disk, has been mounted/fitted as well.

I'll be back in a few wink.gif

Tex, did you find the case using the link I showed you? If not, just say so and I will find the right URL wink.gif

Kind Regards,
Dan Hansen
Denmark
DanHansenDK is offline  
post #29 of 347 (permalink) Old 04-05-2014, 11:02 PM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Tex1954 is offline  
post #30 of 347 (permalink) Old 04-06-2014, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 201
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi guys,

OK! Done with the boring stuff... Now I'm getting at the funny part biggrin.gif

Ubuntu 12.04.4 will still not work with .deb package of cuda 5.5 - so I'm using the 12.10 instead. Same difference wink.gif
Only, I can't get the static IP to work!! ¤%&/()O)(/&%¤ I just didn't expect that much difference between the two versions frown.gif Never mind that, let's go.. I'll just guess which IP number I have to use when SHH'ing test system 3 also known as "Beaufort". Here we go!

By the way, if any of you super guru's out there, should know the right way to setup static IP for 12.10, please don't hesitate to leave a post wink.gif Please notice that I have tried ubuntu guides, the usual stuff. I would like to hear from you if you have tried the usual way and still didn't get it to work and then solved it somehow. Here's my way of doing it on 12.04:

#2 Reconfigure the network to static IP:
Command: # vi /etc/network/interfaces
File:

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.x.xxx
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.x.0
broadcast 192.168.x.255
gateway 192.168.x.1
dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4

#3
Command: # /etc/init.d/networking restart
DanHansenDK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off