Cheap server build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Cheap server build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,720

Been poking around ebay trying to put together an inexpensive multi CPU cruncher, hopefully in time for the Pentathlon.  And I came across the following, looks like I could put something like this together for $110 - 135 in parts and some stuff I have laying around.

 

$65 motherboard new

 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Dell-Poweredge-R410-Dual-Xeon-LGA1366-Server-System-Motherboard-03GTGH-N051F-/391211453798?hash=item5b16050d66:g:q30AAOSwPe1T-5xj

 

or $45 used

 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SuperMicro-Dual-Socket-LGA1366-Motherboard-X8DTT-F-SG007-Rev-2-/361508515832?hash=item542b962ff8:g:NlMAAOSw5IJWceev
 

processors are cheap $21 for a pair of L5630 or $23 for a pair of E5630

 

would still need some RAM,

 

I've got an ATX power supply, HDD, CPU coolers and PCI wireless card on hand.  Assuming PC parts will work.

 

I would stick some flavour of Linux on it

 

I have not built a server before, hopefully you experts can tell me if I am about to throw my money away.

 

So that would be 16 threads of Xeon power...  How would this work?  Not at all, or slower than slow?


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 08:24 AM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Have a look here at the bottom of the page. If you want a server grade build, the best thing to do is maximize performance.... otherwise would be better to invest in a single CPU like the E3-1240V2 or something...

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Xeon/Intel-Xeon%20E5630%20-%20AT80614005463AA%20(BX80614E5630).html

A nice lower power 6-core/12-thread CPU is the E5645 and that is affordable I think...

OR you could look at the L5640 along those same lines.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/QTY-1x-INTEL-Six-Cores-CPU-L5640-2-26GHZ-12MB-5-86GT-s-QPI-LGA1366-SLBV8-60W-/141942428207?hash=item210c6d922f:g:xQAAAOSwAvJW-Mjb

It really makes a big difference having the extra cores... otherwise, performance for that setup would not be much more than another faster single CPU setup.

I chose to go with two X5680 CPU's and much higher cost, but it was the only way to compete with more modern single CPU setups... I'm very happy that I did that, but not everyone has the same goals as me. Also, the X5680 vintage CPU's pull a lot of power, about 385 Watts from the wall running 24 threads.

A lower power setup would not be that much slower for BOINC purposes, but would significantly lower the power required to maybe 250W or so?

In any case, look around. A 6-core vs. 4-core CPU is a really good (if not the best) way to go... I did that for a dual CPU setup to justify the expense.... special deals not withstanding of course...

BTW, the dual X5680 setup is running Linux Mint 17.3 Cinnamon no CODECs just fine... and it runs Universe tasks significantly faster under Linux than under Winderz. Nice GUI, easy to setup remote host control via desktop sharing, PSensors for for temperature display... BOINC of course...


Good Luck!

biggrin.gif



Tex1954 is offline  
post #3 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,720

Thanks Tex! 

 

Big price difference between something like an E5630 at $23 a pair, versus E5645/L5640 at $100 a pair.  Turns my $120 project into a $220 project. eek.gif

 

You are just using the regular MINT distro?  Nothing special needed for the dual CPUs?


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 09:06 AM
165 Hz
 
Cyclops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 5,187
Rep: 682 (Unique: 476)
Before you jump on that thing, have you considered 2011 server boards? You can get 8 core xeon processors for as little as 50 bucks. A lot of performance to be had there:

http://www.ebay.com/sch/Server-CPUs-Processors-/56088/i.html?_from=R40&_sop=15&_nkw=e5-2670


No Bottlenecks
(22 items)
LAN Rig Revision 4
(21 items)
File Server
(10 items)
CPU
6700K @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 TI Sea Hawk EK X @ 2.1 / 12 GHz
RAM
32GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 3333 MHz 15-14-14-34-2T
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB NAS
Optical Drive
Go away
Power Supply
Raidmax RX-700AT 80+ Titanium
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z170X Monoblock
Cooling
EK/MSI Waterblock/Backplate
Cooling
2 * Dazmode Darkside LP360
Cooling
MCP355 DDC @ 7V
Cooling
9 * Noctua NF-P12
Case
Fractal Design Define S
Operating System
8.1 Pro
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Monitor
2 * BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
LG 34UM58-P
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K60
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
HyperX Fury S Pro XL
Audio
Asus Xonar DSX
CPU
4770K @ 4.5 GHz 1.3V
Motherboard
Maximus VI Gene
GPU
ASUS GTX 1080 Reference
RAM
16GB G.Skill Sniper 2600 MHz 11-14-14-14-2T 1.65V
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB PCIe
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 8TB
Optical Drive
I will end you
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
Dazmode Darkside Maple Leaf Special Edition
Cooling
EK GTX 1080 Reference Block
Cooling
Feser TFC Admiral 240
Cooling
Black Ice GTX Xtreme M92
Cooling
6 * Silverstone SST-FN121-P
Cooling
2 * Noctua NF-B9 Redux
Case
NZXT Vulcan (With Attached Handle)
Operating System
8.1 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2417DG YNY1D
Monitor
Samsung U28D590D
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K60
Mouse
Logitech G500
Mouse
XTRAC PADS Ripper XXL
CPU
E5-2670
Motherboard
Supermicro X9SRA
RAM
64GB Samsung ECC 1333 MHz
Hard Drive
Mushkin Ventura Pro 32GB (Boot)
Hard Drive
10 * 6TB HGST Deskstar NAS (RAID Z2)
Optical Drive
I will harm you
Power Supply
Corsair RM650 (Passive)
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
Operating System
FreeNAS 9.10
▲ hide details ▲
Cyclops is offline  
post #5 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclops View Post

Before you jump on that thing, have you considered 2011 server boards? You can get 8 core xeon processors for as little as 50 bucks. A lot of performance to be had there:

http://www.ebay.com/sch/Server-CPUs-Processors-/56088/i.html?_from=R40&_sop=15&_nkw=e5-2670

 

Yes but the dual CPU motherboards are a lot more expensive.  Although I guess with 16 threads in one processor, maybe I don't need that.  Thanks.


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
post #6 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 09:33 AM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfromcolo View Post

Thanks Tex! 

Big price difference between something like an E5630 at $23 a pair, versus E5645/L5640 at $100 a pair.  Turns my $120 project into a $220 project. eek.gif

You are just using the regular MINT distro?  Nothing special needed for the dual CPUs?

Yup, plane vanilla distro off the LinuxMint.com website...

By all means, get what you wish, but don't forget RAM and all that. A very nice single CPU setup using a surplus Aurora R4 ALX motherboard and the E5-2670 would do very nicely. The problem I had with any server setup was Mobo cost until I found the $50 Supermicro X8DTT-F and then just put a fast CPU in it. Thing is, it uses a non-standard power input setup...

But, whatever!

We are OCN members and like the fastest setups (within budget of course) that make the wall wiring smoke!

BWaaaaaaaa HaHaHaHaHaHaHa!!!!!




biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
post #7 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex1954 View Post

The problem I had with any server setup was Mobo cost until I found the $50 Supermicro X8DTT-F and then just put a fast CPU in it. Thing is, it uses a non-standard power input setup...

Thats one of the boards I listed in the OP.  So I would not be able to use one of the ATX power supplies I have laying around?


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
post #8 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 09:50 AM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfromcolo View Post

Thats one of the boards I listed in the OP.  So I would not be able to use one of the ATX power supplies I have laying around?

Well, you would have to mod it or make a special cable. The ATX connector is NOT standard at all, not even close...


http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12212

It's actually a Major pain to try to extract pins from a connector... the locking ears of the pins always get flattened & maybe break trying to bend them back out... I had to purchase new pins, crimping tool, connector bodies to do it... and wire of course...

Then I got those cheap 450w $9 server PSUs on ebay...

biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
post #9 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex1954 View Post


Well, you would have to mod it or make a special cable. The ATX connector is NOT standard at all, not even close...


http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12212

It's actually a Major pain to try to extract pins from a connector... the locking ears of the pins always get flattened & maybe break trying to bend them back out... I had to purchase new pins, crimping tool, connector bodies to do it... and wire of course...

Then I got those cheap 450w $9 server PSUs on ebay...

biggrin.gif


Did you need two PSUs or is the second power connector to connect to a second board?

 

Edit - never mind I found a manual, guess you only use one at a time.


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
post #10 of 122 (permalink) Old 04-03-2016, 10:21 AM
Retired Staff
 
Tex1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a house older than me...
Posts: 4,462
Rep: 100 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfromcolo View Post


Did you need two PSUs or is the second power connector to connect to a second board?

The boards are meant to be placed side by side in a rack mount chassis... ONLY ONE connector can be used at a time. There are two so Supermicro can have a simple power distribution scheme with side-by-side mounting.




It's basically half grounds and half 12v wires...




Here is another mod URL.... https://rochegregory.wordpress.com/2015/03/14/supermicro-x8dtt-hef-mod-a-power-supply/


biggrin.gif


Tex1954 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off