8th BOINC Pentathlon - Swimming (LHC@Home) Project Support - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

View Poll Results: What Project Should OCN Choose for Swimming?
[email protected] 2 16.67%
[email protected] 0 0%
[email protected] 0 0%
[email protected] 1 8.33%
[email protected] 1 8.33%
SRBase 0 0%
VGTU [email protected] 0 0%
YAFU 0 0%
[email protected] 2 16.67%
[email protected] 4 33.33%
[email protected] 0 0%
TN-Grid 2 16.67%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

8th BOINC Pentathlon - Swimming ([email protected]) Project Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4thKor View Post

I configured for all tasks, but I get the "VirtualBox is not installed" in event log. Networking is on. Or am I missing something?

 

Did you resart BOINC after installing VirtualBox and the Extension Pack?

 

What version of BOINC, and what version of VirtualBox, do you have installed?



BOINC||Join OCN BOINC Team||My BOINC Stats||
[email protected]||Join OCN [email protected] Team||My [email protected] Stats||
TickTockArch
(10 items)
TickTockCruncher
(18 items)
TickTock4
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-Pro
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 SeaHawk EK
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport
Hard Drive
Adata XPG 8200
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Basic Acetal
Cooling
EK-FC Radeon Vega Acetal+Nickel
Operating System
Arch Linux
CPU
intel E5-2670 v2 ES
CPU
intel E5-2670 v2 ES
Motherboard
AsRock EP2C602-4L/D16
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
GPU
Sapphire R9 290
GPU
Sapphire R9 290
GPU
NVIDIA GTX 980 Classified Kingpin Edition
RAM
Samsung ECC 1866 MHz
Hard Drive
SanDisk Extreme PRO
Hard Drive
SanDisk SSD Plus
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Acetal Clean x2
Cooling
EK-FC R9-290X x2
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Dell Ultrashrp U3415W
Keyboard
Max Keyboard Blackbird
Mouse
Logitech MX Master
Other
Seasonic X-760
CPU
intel i7-4790k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VI IMPACT
GPU
XFX R9 Fury X
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical ulp
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Intel
Cooling
EK-FC R9 Fury X
Case
Thermaltake Core X5
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Headless
▲ hide details ▲


tictoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:32 AM
Retired Staff
 
4thKor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Out there
Posts: 3,296
Rep: 35 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tictoc View Post

Did you resart BOINC after installing VirtualBox and the Extension Pack?

What version of BOINC, and what version of VirtualBox, do you have installed?

Running the newest on both. Re-booted and now downloading all kinds of stuff. Still not showing anything in VB, but maybe that will change.

"Hell, there are no rules here, we're trying to get something done!" Thomas Edison

"You can't solve your problems with the same level of thinking that created them." Albert Einstein






















































































































Win Prizes


4thKor is offline  
post #23 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,335

Grabbed some LHC tasks on my htpc. :wheee: Currently running 2 Six Track tasks and one ATLAS task.  In my [email protected] preferences, I set max CPUs to two.  That setting is only applied to the VBox tasks, so I am able to run one VBox task at 2 CPUS, and two Six Track tasks on my little quad core A10-7700K.  



BOINC||Join OCN BOINC Team||My BOINC Stats||
[email protected]||Join OCN [email protected] Team||My [email protected] Stats||
TickTockArch
(10 items)
TickTockCruncher
(18 items)
TickTock4
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-Pro
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 SeaHawk EK
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport
Hard Drive
Adata XPG 8200
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Basic Acetal
Cooling
EK-FC Radeon Vega Acetal+Nickel
Operating System
Arch Linux
CPU
intel E5-2670 v2 ES
CPU
intel E5-2670 v2 ES
Motherboard
AsRock EP2C602-4L/D16
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
GPU
Sapphire R9 290
GPU
Sapphire R9 290
GPU
NVIDIA GTX 980 Classified Kingpin Edition
RAM
Samsung ECC 1866 MHz
Hard Drive
SanDisk Extreme PRO
Hard Drive
SanDisk SSD Plus
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Acetal Clean x2
Cooling
EK-FC R9-290X x2
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Dell Ultrashrp U3415W
Keyboard
Max Keyboard Blackbird
Mouse
Logitech MX Master
Other
Seasonic X-760
CPU
intel i7-4790k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VI IMPACT
GPU
XFX R9 Fury X
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical ulp
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Intel
Cooling
EK-FC R9 Fury X
Case
Thermaltake Core X5
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Headless
▲ hide details ▲


tictoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,598
Rep: 268 (Unique: 129)
VB just needs to be installed. Thats it. VBox will run in the background, hidden and tasks will process normally.


mmonnin is offline  
post #25 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:39 AM
Retired Staff
 
4thKor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Out there
Posts: 3,296
Rep: 35 (Unique: 27)
Currently running 21 SixPack and three TheorySims. Downloading lots of stuff. I have my work limit set to 5 days. That should be plenty.

"Hell, there are no rules here, we're trying to get something done!" Thomas Edison

"You can't solve your problems with the same level of thinking that created them." Albert Einstein






















































































































Win Prizes


4thKor is offline  
post #26 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,602

Is there a way to bunker the VBox tasks if they require network connectivity?

 

The 3 sixtrack tasks I downloaded took average 4343 seconds to run on a L5640 in Linux.  Loading this up for a bunker would require 900 tasks if I wanted to dedicate 10 threads to it between now and project start.  Is anyone getting those kinds of downloads?

 

And assuming I get a bunker what IP(s) need to be blocked?


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
post #27 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:46 AM
Retired Staff
 
4thKor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Out there
Posts: 3,296
Rep: 35 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfromcolo View Post

Is there a way to bunker the VBox tasks if they require network connectivity?

The 3 sixtrack tasks I downloaded took average 4343 seconds to run on a L5640 in Linux.  Loading this up for a bunker would require 900 tasks if I wanted to dedicate 10 threads to it between now and project start.  Is anyone getting those kinds of downloads?

I'm still downloading. I went for the whole enchilada with tasks. Have my limit set to 5 days. thumb.gif

Now have four VM tasks. Three TheorySims are suspended to run an Atlas.

"Hell, there are no rules here, we're trying to get something done!" Thomas Edison

"You can't solve your problems with the same level of thinking that created them." Albert Einstein






















































































































Win Prizes


4thKor is offline  
post #28 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Egilman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Tuvalu
Posts: 1,114
Rep: 34 (Unique: 18)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4thKor View Post

I thought these did require VB. At any rate, I'm running ten at 75% CPU usage and 5 gb RAM usage. Should be able to run more with 24 threads.

It's why I quit running it years ago.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmonnin View Post

Just the one app does not require vbox, like Cosmo. Lots of memory required here. Atlas is using 9gb and CMS 2.4gb.

Edit: Networking needs to be enabled as well for vbox apps.

Well I'm connected to LHC, won't give me any work telling me I do not have VBox installed. The log claims that all LHC tasks require VBox.....

So I guess I'm going to have to review Cosmo and see if I can get the memory requirements under control.....

YECH!


Egilman is offline  
post #29 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
emoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 470
Rep: 29 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfromcolo View Post

Is there a way to bunker the VBox tasks if they require network connectivity?

The 3 sixtrack tasks I downloaded took average 4343 seconds to run on a L5640 in Linux.  Loading this up for a bunker would require 900 tasks if I wanted to dedicate 10 threads to it between now and project start.  Is anyone getting those kinds of downloads?

And assuming I get a bunker what IP(s) need to be blocked?
Code:
127.0.0.1    lhcathomeclassic.cern.ch

Seems to be working



emoga is offline  
post #30 of 222 (permalink) Old 05-07-2017, 07:51 AM
Retired Staff
 
4thKor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Out there
Posts: 3,296
Rep: 35 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egilman View Post

It's why I quit running it years ago.....
Well I'm connected to LHC, won't give me any work telling me I do not have VBox installed. The log claims that all LHC tasks require VBox.....

So I guess I'm going to have to review Cosmo and see if I can get the memory requirements under control.....

YECH!

Re-boot.rolleyes.gif

"Hell, there are no rules here, we're trying to get something done!" Thomas Edison

"You can't solve your problems with the same level of thinking that created them." Albert Einstein






















































































































Win Prizes


4thKor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off