Zen segmentation fault and BOINC projects - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Zen segmentation fault and BOINC projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-15-2018, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,696
Quote: Originally Posted by Diffident View Post
I'm just waiting for the Ryzen refresh. I don't want to be without my rig waiting for the replacement...I'll just deal with the 3 or 4 attempts it takes to successfully compile Chromium and Mesa. I don't think its affected me yet crunching.
I don't have any bullet proof evidence it affected me either. But this rig has random crashes every 4 or 5 days running mining on a couple RX 4XX cards while using the cores to run BOINC projects. It happens with both Linux and W10, and after multiple re-installs and different kernels. The logged messages are impossibly vague, but its not a power fault. I got it up and running this afternoon, we will see how things go. I haven't tried the kill Ryzen script yet but as said above if it's post week 25 it should be good from everything I have read.

As soon as I knew I could get a replacement I knew I would, finally bit the bullet. I have plenty of computers, the inconvenience really consisted of losing a few bucks mining and playing Prey on a 960 for a few days.

Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-15-2018, 05:05 PM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,473
Quote: Originally Posted by Diffident View Post
I'm just waiting for the Ryzen refresh. I don't want to be without my rig waiting for the replacement...I'll just deal with the 3 or 4 attempts it takes to successfully compile Chromium and Mesa. I don't think its affected me yet crunching.
I'm doing the same thing. The only thing that has segfaulted for me is the kill-ryzen script. I actually haven't had any issues compiling anything, but I don't compile very many big projects outside of the kernel.



Last edited by tictoc; 02-15-2018 at 05:11 PM.
tictoc is offline  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-15-2018, 05:58 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,366
Rep: 838 (Unique: 558)
Quote: Originally Posted by Diffident View Post
I'm just waiting for the Ryzen refresh. I don't want to be without my rig waiting for the replacement...I'll just deal with the 3 or 4 attempts it takes to successfully compile Chromium and Mesa. I don't think its affected me yet crunching.
It has affected my [email protected] AVX WUs.

I never run [email protected] on Ryzen. It errors immediately (not BSOD, just the BOINC task reports SEGV) despite days of Skynet POGs working 100% fine as well as AVX prime95 , memtest, and AIDA64.

The moment we get Ryzen refresh on a reasonable price I'm probably going to rip it out for a R7 2xxx and sell off the chip I get from RMA. I might get rid of the Gigabyte X370 board as well because while memory support has been superb even with the BIOs it came with , the VRM heats up close to 90°C with a moderate overclock in AVX Prime95. It isn't the board design so much as the VRM heatsinks that have little surface area and poor fin area.

A Ryzen refresh with Precision Boost 2 and minimization of the Infinity Fabric limitations would be a insta-buy for me since Coffee Lake is slated to be Intel's mainstream for the rest of 2018 it seems.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 02-15-2018 at 06:03 PM.
AlphaC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-15-2018, 06:24 PM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,473
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
It has affected my [email protected] AVX WUs.

I never run [email protected] on Ryzen. It errors immediately (not BSOD, just the BOINC task reports SEGV) despite days of Skynet POGs working 100% fine as well as AVX prime95 , memtest, and AIDA64.

The moment we get Ryzen refresh on a reasonable price I'm probably going to rip it out for a R7 2xxx and sell off the chip I get from RMA. I might get rid of the Gigabyte X370 board as well because while memory support has been superb even with the BIOs it came with , the VRM heats up close to 90°C with a moderate overclock in AVX Prime95. It isn't the board design so much as the VRM heatsinks that have little surface area and poor fin area.

A Ryzen refresh with Precision Boost 2 and minimization of the Infinity Fabric limitations would be a insta-buy for me since Coffee Lake is slated to be Intel's mainstream for the rest of 2018 it seems.
Were your errors in Asteroids only when running a pre-4.10 kernel in a VM? Currently my 1700 is running in Windows, and I just loaded up some Asteroids AVX tasks. Fifteen minutes in and so far no issues. I can boot into a Linux distro after these tasks finish up and test it out if that would be helpful.


tictoc is offline  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-15-2018, 07:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,771
Rep: 276 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post
I recently was in a meeting with AMD reps and this was one of the topics I asked about. I got the answer I wanted and I'm really tempted to answer here.

But unfortunately, I don't know what is under NDA and what isn't. I'm pulling my hair out over this because I'm sure everybody wants to know, but I also don't want to face the consequences if I leak something either intentionally or unintentionally.

So at this time, I can neither confirm no deny any of the rumors floating around about this. Ugh...
What kind of meeting was this? Conference call, a CES like event?

I've been waiting for the refresh as well to replace my desktop 3770k with a Zen+ or 2 whatever it is.


mmonnin is offline  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-15-2018, 08:04 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,366
Rep: 838 (Unique: 558)
Quote: Originally Posted by tictoc View Post
Were your errors in Asteroids only when running a pre-4.10 kernel in a VM? Currently my 1700 is running in Windows, and I just loaded up some Asteroids AVX tasks. Fifteen minutes in and so far no issues. I can boot into a Linux distro after these tasks finish up and test it out if that would be helpful.
I should retest it but it seems Asteroids AVX WUs are not being distributed much.

My Debian lxde VM was on 4.11 I believe from backports, Fedora 26 (lxde Spin) which is supposed to be Linux 4.11.8 , and Manjaro was whatever the newest rolling one was with 17.0.2

I purchased the Ryzen chip post AGESA 1.0.0.6 , to give an idea of the timeframe.

One of my VMs still has stale WCG units due to not being used for a while (likely from WCG birthday challenge).

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 02-15-2018 at 08:31 PM.
AlphaC is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 09:44 AM
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Mysticial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 623
Rep: 69 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by mmonnin View Post
What kind of meeting was this? Conference call, a CES like event?

I've been waiting for the refresh as well to replace my desktop 3770k with a Zen+ or 2 whatever it is.
Sorry I didn't see this until now.

It was half informational and half marketing. We had a couple of AMD reps come to our office to tell us about their shiny toys - both present and future. And they let us ask them questions about their product lines.

Last edited by Mysticial; 03-01-2018 at 09:49 AM.
Mysticial is offline  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-01-2018, 09:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,771
Rep: 276 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post
Sorry I didn't see this until now.

It was half informational and half marketing. We had a couple of AMD reps come to our office to tell us about their shiny toys - both present and future. And they let us ask them questions about their product lines.
Ok, thanks for sharing. I wasn't aware AMD did that sort of thing but I guess why not. It makes sense depending on the customer. Our vendors do the same with product updates, roadmaps, etc.


mmonnin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off