Need some help - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Need some help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-08-2019, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 249
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Need some help

I am trying to add my 1070 to my rig, I already have a 960 running.

Boinc does not see the 1070, windows device manager does as does HWINFO64. So it's there and installed correctly or so I assume.

cc_config.xml is setup correctly and boinc is reading it, yet no work is being done on card.

Using the latest nvidia drivers 417.35, and according to nvidia supports both cards.

I would move the 1070 to primary 16x slot and ditch the 960, but cable doesn't match dvi on card.

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(8 items)
CPU
8700K
Motherboard
Hero-X
GPU
1080ti
RAM
F4-3200C14-8GRV
Cooling
Intel Raystorm pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
HWLABS 560mm
Operating System
Win10
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-08-2019, 05:21 PM
Badge Chaser
 
skivelitis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Metro Detroit, USA
Posts: 69
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Do you have a monitor hooked up to the 1070? If not you will need a dummy plug.
skivelitis is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-09-2019, 06:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 249
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I was under the impression that dummy plugs are a thing or the past?

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(8 items)
CPU
8700K
Motherboard
Hero-X
GPU
1080ti
RAM
F4-3200C14-8GRV
Cooling
Intel Raystorm pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
HWLABS 560mm
Operating System
Win10
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-09-2019, 07:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Finrond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 2,813
Rep: 55 (Unique: 42)
What project are you trying to run?



Finrond is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-09-2019, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,826
Rep: 282 (Unique: 135)
user_all_gpus set to 1 in cc_config?

Restart the client and post the event log.


mmonnin is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-09-2019, 08:16 AM
Womp Womp
 
Jewfro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
I've been dealing with some similar issues with my R9 Fury and Tesla K20m running in the same system. Check to make sure the 1070 is getting enough PCIe lanes, enabling "above 4g decoding" in the BIOS helped for me. I don't think you need a dummy plug (at least I didn't when I ran a Fury and a 560ti at the same time).

CPU
i5 6600k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
GPU
Sapphire RX Vega 56
RAM
EVGA SuperClocked DDR4
Hard Drive
Intel 760p SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate HDD
Hard Drive
Seagate HDD
Power Supply
EVGA 650 B3
Cooling
CoolerMaster Masterliquid 240 AIO
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II Core
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Monitor
Asus VP247
Keyboard
Gigabyte K83
Mouse
Logitech G403 Wireless
Mousepad
Kingston HyperX Fury S
Audio
Sennheiser GSP 350
Other
Intel 82574L Gigabit Network Card
CPU
Intel Pentium G4560
Motherboard
MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3x
GPU
Sapphire Nitro R9 Fury
GPU
Tesla K20m
RAM
G.Skill Aegis
Hard Drive
OCZ Agility 3
Hard Drive
Seagate 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair CX650M
Cooling
Stock Intel Cooler
Case
Thermaltake V100
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
▲ hide details ▲
Jewfro is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2019, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 249
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Welp, looks like the card is dead.

Windows gives code 43, card installed by itself no video, not even bios screen. I dont know how the card went bad, there is no visible damage. It sat on a shelf for a year and a half, worked fine when I put it there.

So unless someone really thinks flashing the cards bios is going to revive it, to the bin it goes.

Thanks to all for the suggestions.

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(8 items)
CPU
8700K
Motherboard
Hero-X
GPU
1080ti
RAM
F4-3200C14-8GRV
Cooling
Intel Raystorm pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
HWLABS 560mm
Operating System
Win10
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2019, 03:56 PM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,474
Quote: Originally Posted by gammagoat View Post
Welp, looks like the card is dead.

Windows gives code 43, card installed by itself no video, not even bios screen. I dont know how the card went bad, there is no visible damage. It sat on a shelf for a year and a half, worked fine when I put it there.

So unless someone really thinks flashing the cards bios is going to revive it, to the bin it goes.

Thanks to all for the suggestions.

I would probably wipe the drivers with DDU, and then download and install the latest drivers from NVIDIA. Also, if you have a DVI cable, use that for the 1070. I have had mixed results getting into the BIOS on my 1070s connected via HDMI and DisplayPort.


tictoc is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2019, 04:04 PM
Loosing Vision
 
BinaryBummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 192.168.0.0
Posts: 1,813
Rep: 66 (Unique: 65)
What PSU are you using? My sesonic X750 Gold that I ran for 6 year could not run on my current system. Would shutdown. I then took the new Seasonic 650 Gold we ordered for my old PC and tried it and have not had a problem since.

Guess over time the Caps and all can loose there integrity. Just something to consider. Old PC ran a Nvidia 650TI stock prior to the new build.
BinaryBummer is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2019, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 249
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by tictoc View Post
I would probably wipe the drivers with DDU, and then download and install the latest drivers from NVIDIA. Also, if you have a DVI cable, use that for the 1070. I have had mixed results getting into the BIOS on my 1070s connected via HDMI and DisplayPort.
DVI is what I have been using. I'd deal with drivers if the damn thing could put out a signal, as it stands now with the 1070 as the only card it will do nothing.

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(8 items)
CPU
8700K
Motherboard
Hero-X
GPU
1080ti
RAM
F4-3200C14-8GRV
Cooling
Intel Raystorm pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
HWLABS 560mm
Operating System
Win10
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off