Need some help - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Need some help

 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2019, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
gammagoat Level 1
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 215
Need some help

I am trying to add my 1070 to my rig, I already have a 960 running.

Boinc does not see the 1070, windows device manager does as does HWINFO64. So it's there and installed correctly or so I assume.

cc_config.xml is setup correctly and boinc is reading it, yet no work is being done on card.

Using the latest nvidia drivers 417.35, and according to nvidia supports both cards.

I would move the 1070 to primary 16x slot and ditch the 960, but cable doesn't match dvi on card.

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(7 items)
CPU
8700k
Motherboard
Hero X wifi
GPU
1080 TI FE
RAM
Ripjaws V 3200
Cooling
Raystorm Pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
560mm Rad
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2019, 06:21 PM
Badge Chaser
skivelitis Level 1
 
skivelitis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
Do you have a monitor hooked up to the 1070? If not you will need a dummy plug.
skivelitis is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
gammagoat Level 1
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 215
I was under the impression that dummy plugs are a thing or the past?

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(7 items)
CPU
8700k
Motherboard
Hero X wifi
GPU
1080 TI FE
RAM
Ripjaws V 3200
Cooling
Raystorm Pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
560mm Rad
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-2019, 08:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
Finrond Level 1
 
Finrond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 2,783
What project are you trying to run?



Finrond is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 08:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about mmonnin has a spectacular aura about
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,523
user_all_gpus set to 1 in cc_config?

Restart the client and post the event log.


mmonnin is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 09:16 AM
Womp Womp
Jewfro
 
Jewfro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
I've been dealing with some similar issues with my R9 Fury and Tesla K20m running in the same system. Check to make sure the 1070 is getting enough PCIe lanes, enabling "above 4g decoding" in the BIOS helped for me. I don't think you need a dummy plug (at least I didn't when I ran a Fury and a 560ti at the same time).

CPU
Intel i5 6600k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
GPU
Sapphire RX Vega 56
RAM
EVGA SuperClocked DDR4
Hard Drive
Intel 760p SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate HDD
Hard Drive
Seagate HDD
Power Supply
EVGA 650 B3
Cooling
CoolerMaster Masterliquid 240 AIO
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II Core
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Monitor
Asus VP247
Keyboard
Gigabyte K83
Mouse
Logitech G403 Wireless
Mousepad
Kingston HyperX Fury S
Audio
Sennheiser GSP 350
Other
Intel 82574L Gigabit Network Card
CPU
Intel Pentium G4560
Motherboard
MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3x
GPU
Sapphire Nitro R9 Fury
GPU
GTX 560 Ti
RAM
G.Skill Aegis
Hard Drive
OCZ Agility 3
Hard Drive
Seagate 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair CX650M
Cooling
Stock Intel Cooler
Case
Thermaltake V100
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
▲ hide details ▲
Jewfro is offline  
Old 01-10-2019, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
gammagoat Level 1
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 215
Welp, looks like the card is dead.

Windows gives code 43, card installed by itself no video, not even bios screen. I dont know how the card went bad, there is no visible damage. It sat on a shelf for a year and a half, worked fine when I put it there.

So unless someone really thinks flashing the cards bios is going to revive it, to the bin it goes.

Thanks to all for the suggestions.

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(7 items)
CPU
8700k
Motherboard
Hero X wifi
GPU
1080 TI FE
RAM
Ripjaws V 3200
Cooling
Raystorm Pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
560mm Rad
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
Old 01-10-2019, 04:56 PM
2+2=5
tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about tictoc has a spectacular aura about
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,287
Quote: Originally Posted by gammagoat View Post
Welp, looks like the card is dead.

Windows gives code 43, card installed by itself no video, not even bios screen. I dont know how the card went bad, there is no visible damage. It sat on a shelf for a year and a half, worked fine when I put it there.

So unless someone really thinks flashing the cards bios is going to revive it, to the bin it goes.

Thanks to all for the suggestions.

I would probably wipe the drivers with DDU, and then download and install the latest drivers from NVIDIA. Also, if you have a DVI cable, use that for the 1070. I have had mixed results getting into the BIOS on my 1070s connected via HDMI and DisplayPort.


BOINC||Join OCN BOINC Team||My BOINC Stats||
[email protected]||Join OCN [email protected] Team||My [email protected] Stats||
TickTockArch
(10 items)
TickTockCruncher
(18 items)
TickTock4
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-Pro
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 SeaHawk EK
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport
Hard Drive
Adata XPG 8200
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Basic Acetal
Cooling
EK-FC Radeon Vega Acetal+Nickel
Operating System
Arch Linux
CPU
intel E5-2670 v2 ES
CPU
intel E5-2670 v2 ES
Motherboard
AsRock EP2C602-4L/D16
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
GPU
Sapphire R9 290
GPU
Sapphire R9 290
GPU
NVIDIA GTX 980 Classified Kingpin Edition
RAM
Samsung ECC 1866 MHz
Hard Drive
SanDisk Extreme PRO
Hard Drive
SanDisk SSD Plus
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Acetal Clean x2
Cooling
EK-FC R9-290X x2
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Dell Ultrashrp U3415W
Keyboard
Max Keyboard Blackbird
Mouse
Logitech MX Master
Other
Seasonic X-760
CPU
intel i7-4790k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VI IMPACT
GPU
XFX R9 Fury X
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tactical ulp
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Intel
Cooling
EK-FC R9 Fury X
Case
Thermaltake Core X5
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Headless
▲ hide details ▲


tictoc is offline  
Old 01-10-2019, 05:04 PM
Loosing Vision
BinaryBummer Level 1
 
BinaryBummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 192.168.0.0
Posts: 1,804
What PSU are you using? My sesonic X750 Gold that I ran for 6 year could not run on my current system. Would shutdown. I then took the new Seasonic 650 Gold we ordered for my old PC and tried it and have not had a problem since.

Guess over time the Caps and all can loose there integrity. Just something to consider. Old PC ran a Nvidia 650TI stock prior to the new build.
BinaryBummer is offline  
Old 01-10-2019, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
gammagoat Level 1
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 215
Quote: Originally Posted by tictoc View Post
I would probably wipe the drivers with DDU, and then download and install the latest drivers from NVIDIA. Also, if you have a DVI cable, use that for the 1070. I have had mixed results getting into the BIOS on my 1070s connected via HDMI and DisplayPort.
DVI is what I have been using. I'd deal with drivers if the damn thing could put out a signal, as it stands now with the 1070 as the only card it will do nothing.

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(7 items)
CPU
8700k
Motherboard
Hero X wifi
GPU
1080 TI FE
RAM
Ripjaws V 3200
Cooling
Raystorm Pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
560mm Rad
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off