GPU Temps - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GPU Temps

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
halocog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 844
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
I have a Radeon HD 4850, and I've been trying [email protected], and it GPU seems to get pretty hot. I don't know how to check the temp of it. It has a fan on the case door blowing onto the top of the card, Idk if that's a good idea or not though. The card makes the back of the case and the door warm around it so i guess it's getting too hot.

My question is: How can I monitor the temps, and should I ditch that extra fan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forsakenfire go_quote.gif

How could they determine that it was a domestic microwave and not possibly a wild microwave? Maybe this was an attack, there is something they aren't telling us people!


halocog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheVictor11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I use HWMonitor for my temps, I dunno if it's the best but it gets the job done.
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html#gallery
TheVictor11 is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BlahBlahBlah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,626
Rep: 305 (Unique: 259)
MSI Afterburner monitors GPU temp and you can also display it as an on-screen display so you can see it during full screen games.

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/

BlahBlahBlah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 392
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
You can also try MSI Afterburner to monitor temps. It also has an on-board screen display of your temps, core clocks, etc.
Dream Desire is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:36 PM
Radical Sanity
 
Behemoth777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9,169
Rep: 432 (Unique: 346)
Get gpu-z. You can monitor everything that can be monitored on a gpu.

The Final ROGtier: CPU - AMD Ryzen 5 1600 (3.8GHz) | Motherboard - ASUS ROG Strix B350-F | GPU - ASUS ROG Strix RX 580 8GB | RAM - GeIL RGB 4x4GB (2400MHz) | Hard Drive - SanDisk X400 512GB | Power Supply - EVGA SuperNova P2 650w | CPU Cooling - Deepcool Captain 240 RGB | Case - NZXT S340 Elite (Matte Black) | Operating System - Windows 10 Pro | Monitor - ViewSonic XG2701 | Keyboard - Turbot Mechanical Keyboard | Mouse - ASUS ROG Gladius II | Mouse Pad - Glorious PC Gaming Race | Speakers - Logitech Z623 2.1 | Headset - Cougar Immersa


Behemoth777 is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
halocog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 844
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Can it be used with non-EVGA cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forsakenfire go_quote.gif

How could they determine that it was a domestic microwave and not possibly a wild microwave? Maybe this was an attack, there is something they aren't telling us people!


halocog is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 17,956
Rep: 960 (Unique: 705)
msi afterburner probly best choice as you can even turn the fan speeds up with it if your card supports it.


Bal3Wolf is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BlahBlahBlah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,626
Rep: 305 (Unique: 259)
Afterburner can be used by any card AFAIK

BlahBlahBlah is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
halocog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 844
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Thanks guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forsakenfire go_quote.gif

How could they determine that it was a domestic microwave and not possibly a wild microwave? Maybe this was an attack, there is something they aren't telling us people!


halocog is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-02-2010, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
halocog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 844
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Just realized you guys said "MSI Afterburner" . For some reason i thought of EVGA lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forsakenfire go_quote.gif

How could they determine that it was a domestic microwave and not possibly a wild microwave? Maybe this was an attack, there is something they aren't telling us people!


halocog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off