The 30 Second Dummy Plug - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The 30 Second Dummy Plug

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CyberDruid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blue Ridge Mts., Virginia
Posts: 23,134
Rep: 2585 (Unique: 1242)
Here is how to make up a dummy plug for your card in about 30 seconds.

All you need are three 68 ohm resistors from RadioShack. They come in packs of 5 for a buck.


You will need the DVI-VGA adapter that ships with every GFX card, the resistors and a clipper. You could use scissors or a nail clipper, the wire is soft.


Bend one leg of the resistor around till it is parallel to the other then clip off the long leg so it is the same length as the bent leg.


The wire is just the right gauge to slide into the VGA plus securely.


Push it home. Note you want to bridge the top three pins on the right with the pins directly below one-to-one.. Hold the plug so the wide part is up top.


Alternate the resistors so the leg of one is against the body of another to avoid shorting out the jumpers.

And that is all there is to it. Start Folding on your second GPU

August 13th, 2011 sad-smiley-002.gif Happy trails, may we meet again.


CyberDruidPC is History


CyberDruid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 02:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Litlratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,636
Rep: 282 (Unique: 161)
Nice. +

"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."




Litlratt is offline  
post #3 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 03:37 PM
Retired Staff
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Rep: 257 (Unique: 180)
gibsonnova74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CyberDruid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blue Ridge Mts., Virginia
Posts: 23,134
Rep: 2585 (Unique: 1242)
It seemed a lot easier than soldering resistors to a VGA and then putting that on the adapter...and every card I've bought in the past couple of years comes with at least one adapter.

August 13th, 2011 sad-smiley-002.gif Happy trails, may we meet again.


CyberDruidPC is History


CyberDruid is offline  
post #5 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 04:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Seaside, CA
Posts: 6,121
Rep: 393 (Unique: 296)
Nice one there CD! *is sure to use this on 4870x2s*

~Gooda~


Start folding HERE!
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexgheseger go_quote.gif
Wow...

I never thought i'd have to say this, but any penis pictures will net you a hefty infraction mmkay?
Engineering Sample CPUs: Q6600 B0 - Xeon E3110 (E8400) E0 - E5400 (possibly) - E8400 (possibly)
Havegooda is offline  
post #6 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 05:02 PM
Retired Staff
 
Lige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,047
Rep: 391 (Unique: 283)
Nice CD, now...

To get my [email protected] GPU rig started back up...


I just need a CPU, anyone want to donate.



Lige is offline  
post #7 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 05:35 PM
GDP
New to Overclock.net
 
GDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 563
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
wait what does this do and why is it needed?



GDP is offline  
post #8 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 05:51 PM
Retired Staff
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Rep: 257 (Unique: 180)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDP View Post
wait what does this do and why is it needed?
It's for folding with multiple cards. It's needed as a "trick" to fool the cards into thinking that monitors are hooked up to all the cards, when in fact, the monitor is only hooked up to one card.


gibsonnova74 is offline  
post #9 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 06:14 PM
Retired Staff
 
mortimersnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houghton, MI
Posts: 11,540
Rep: 508 (Unique: 369)
Gollie had a thread on this here.

This might be useful:


I have made a few of these and they work well. I used 75ohm resistors and it worked too.

Eric - FTW PC Rep
[eric [at] ftwpc.com]
Store | Forum | Facebook | Twitter | Reseller Ratings

"Like" us on Facebook for a chance to win newly released products
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvgWhiteGuy go_quote.gif
Z is a pawn to the power that was Mort. He moderates like a boss.


mortimersnerd is offline  
post #10 of 211 (permalink) Old 09-12-2008, 06:21 PM
Retired Staff
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Rep: 257 (Unique: 180)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mortimersnerd View Post
Gollie had a thread on this here.

This might be useful:


I have made a few of these and they work well. I used 75ohm resistors and it worked too.
The thing that I like is that CD's method doesn't involve soldering.


gibsonnova74 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off