[Windows 7] Setting up the GPU client - nVidia - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Windows 7] Setting up the GPU client - nVidia

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-06-2010, 08:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ordinary_Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Great guides! Thanks for all your efforts.

Ordinary_Dream is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 01:48 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
PCCstudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 7,153
Rep: 260 (Unique: 223)
Does HFM not work under XP? I get a "failed to initalize properly" message when using either shortcut or from "my documents"



PCCstudent is offline  
post #13 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 03:46 PM
Once more into the Fold
 
franz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 2,816
Rep: 300 (Unique: 243)
Maybe show the members the options they have available in the task manager icon. I know I see a bunch of people asking how to pause or stop the client. Nice guides. Its about time they were updated a little bit.

I run the console version on all my rigs, and I find them easy to setup, but if you are doing a guide and have any questions let me know.


franz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)
Quote:
Originally Posted by franz View Post
Maybe show the members the options they have available in the task manager icon. I know I see a bunch of people asking how to pause or stop the client. Nice guides. Its about time they were updated a little bit.
I also see a lot of people syaing work doesn't continue after pausing (I know it doesn't for me). Should I add it...

Alright I'll put it in. Though I'll add that the client can just be closed then started again too. Make everyone happy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by franz View Post
I run the console version on all my rigs, and I find them easy to setup, but if you are doing a guide and have any questions let me know.
Thanks for the offer. When I get a chance I'm going to run some tests (read: fold) to see if it actually does improve PPD. If it does, I'll make some room for the console client too.

I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #15 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 05:52 PM
Once more into the Fold
 
franz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 2,816
Rep: 300 (Unique: 243)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac View Post
I also see a lot of people syaing work doesn't continue after pausing (I know it doesn't for me). Should I add it...

Alright I'll put it in. Though I'll add that the client can just be closed then started again too. Make everyone happy.



Thanks for the offer. When I get a chance I'm going to run some tests (read: fold) to see if it actually does improve PPD. If it does, I'll make some room for the console client too.
Yeah even when I used the systray client I hardly used pause. I really liked the "pause when finished" option though. That way I wouldnt have to sit and watch the WU finish. Really handy when I was just testing GPUs.

When I needed to stop the client I would just close it though, instead of pausing.

The console version does not improve PPD. I have tested this with multiple GPUs on multiple systems.

The reason I use it is because I feel it is much more stable. Obviously the more stable a client is, the more WUs you complete and the higher your PPD goes. I think for this reason people say they get more PPD, but WU for WU they are identical in PPD in my testing.


franz is offline  
post #16 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 07:59 PM
Testing...
 
S.M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Virtual Machine
Posts: 3,223
Rep: 215 (Unique: 188)
How long until HFM.NET starts reading correct values?

FX-5500 — 6600GT — 5770 — R9 390
WMO 1.1A — MX518 — MX1000 — Deathadder 3G — Sensei — GPro
Duron 1.6 — XP 2400+ — A64 3000+ DTR — E2180 — E8400 — Q6600 — 1100T — FX8150 — FX8350 — R7 1700 — R5 2600X
S.M. is offline  
post #17 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 08:08 PM
Once more into the Fold
 
franz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 2,816
Rep: 300 (Unique: 243)
Quote:
Originally Posted by S.M. View Post
How long until HFM.NET starts reading correct values?
If you mean when does the status bar go from yellow to green, its after 3%.


franz is offline  
post #18 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 01:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iGuitarGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 1,330
Rep: 50 (Unique: 42)
Is that system tray client a high performance one or not? There is like a separate section for high performance clients and I have no idea which one to choose


iGuitarGuy is offline  
post #19 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)
The system tray one and console one are both high performance, and both get the same PPD.

I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #20 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-27-2010, 05:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 152
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
I run a 5850 and when I put the option 'forcegpu ati_r700' it doesn't work, just pops up with a list of other possible options.

Also, what exactly does HFM.NET do?

BFBC2 Soldier... Rizer
Starcraft II ID... Rizer#178

CPU-Z | GPU-Z

orangeTheory is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off