[Windows 7] Setting up the GPU client - nVidia - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Windows 7] Setting up the GPU client - nVidia

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-27-2010, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)
There should be a '-'; it should be "-forcegpu ati_r700" (without the "s).

And HFM is similar to Fahmon, except for -bigadv WU and SMP2 WUs (the ones with bonus points), HFM includes bonus calculations in its PPD, while Fahmon doesn't.

I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 446 (permalink) Old 03-27-2010, 07:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 152
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac View Post
There should be a '-'; it should be "-forcegpu ati_r700" (without the "s).

And HFM is similar to Fahmon, except for -bigadv WU and SMP2 WUs (the ones with bonus points), HFM includes bonus calculations in its PPD, while Fahmon doesn't.
Many thanks

BFBC2 Soldier... Rizer
Starcraft II ID... Rizer#178

CPU-Z | GPU-Z

orangeTheory is offline  
post #23 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 07:26 AM
Overclocked by Jesus
 
Wildcard36qs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,737
Rep: 213 (Unique: 193)
Just to be clear, the location you showed where the log file (FAHlog.txt) is, was not where the default location of it is. The default location of logfile is \\program files\\[email protected]\\[email protected]\\

also, is 3781 PPD good for 5770?

Rainbow Coffee
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 240
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Dell U2718Q
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Laser
Audio
Sony MDR-X950BT
▲ hide details ▲


Wildcard36qs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)
The client runs in the AppData> Roaming folder. In some cases, if the client crashes and restarts itself, it starts folding in the install location. But once it gets a new WU, it goes back to AppData> Roaming.

And ~3800 PPD doesn't sound too bad; did you use the environmental variables I linked in the "ATI Users" section?

Also, are you running the SMP client? With your CPU you'd probably get more PPD form the CPU than the 5770.

I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #25 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 07:55 AM
Overclocked by Jesus
 
Wildcard36qs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,737
Rep: 213 (Unique: 193)
Yea ok I guess we will see. Yea I am running the variables. SMP just started, so I am waiting for it to start making some % other than 0.

Rainbow Coffee
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 240
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Dell U2718Q
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Laser
Audio
Sony MDR-X950BT
▲ hide details ▲


Wildcard36qs is offline  
post #26 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)
Let me know what sort of PPD you're getting (when HFM updates). If it's low, we can do soem tweaking.

I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #27 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 08:12 AM
Overclocked by Jesus
 
Wildcard36qs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,737
Rep: 213 (Unique: 193)
After setting the SMP client, my GPU PPD Dropped (expected I suppose), but looking at utilization, GPU only being used at most 70%? That right? GPU = 2676 SMP = 4006

Rainbow Coffee
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 240
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Dell U2718Q
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Laser
Audio
Sony MDR-X950BT
▲ hide details ▲


Wildcard36qs is offline  
post #28 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)
Hmm... it could just be the WU you're folding (some have fluctuating GPU usage), but try this anyway:

Change the "-smp" flag on the client to "-smp 3", then go to Task Manager> Processes, and ste the affinity of FahCore_11 or FahCore_14 to the last core. Let the clients update a bit, and then check the PPD.

The GPU should go back to ~3.8k, while the SMP client should lose 200/300 points, so you should see a bit of a gain.

I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #29 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 08:25 AM
Overclocked by Jesus
 
Wildcard36qs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,737
Rep: 213 (Unique: 193)
changing priority in task manager help? Your suggestions did help. GPU jumped back up to ~3600 for right now and SMP dropped to ~3900

Rainbow Coffee
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 240
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Dell U2718Q
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Laser
Audio
Sony MDR-X950BT
▲ hide details ▲


Wildcard36qs is offline  
post #30 of 446 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)
Not really (for the GPU client; I've had improvements with increasing the priority of the SMP client though), that's generally set by the client itself. ATI cards folding on the GPU client needs a bit more CPU power than the nVidia cards, so affinity to one free core should give it more than enough room to work.

I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off