SteelSeries Apex Mini - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

SteelSeries Apex Mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-02-2014, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
yzefeeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 75
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
This is all the info i got so far.

The "SteelSeries branded switches" makes me doubt it. They started do that with the mouse switches as well. They rebrand some random switches as SS ones. Maybe from the cheapest bider or something like that, i guess.




Happy New Year !

yzefeeR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 03:37 PM
r/madlads
 
DaveLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8,692
Rep: 273 (Unique: 219)
Blimey! It's pretty expensive as well.
I have my money on the switches being Cherry ML

I wish rigbuilder could make a comeback and honestly I'm not a fan of VB
DaveLT is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 05:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hyde00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
lol would be nice if it's Cherry ML, I actually do like that switch just didn't like the fact that all the keyboards with Cherry ML have smaller than normal sized keycaps.

However I don't think Cherry ML is backlit capable so I think it could be something else. Unless they just copied the design and mod it.
Hyde00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 06:06 PM
r/madlads
 
DaveLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8,692
Rep: 273 (Unique: 219)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyde00 View Post

lol would be nice if it's Cherry ML, I actually do like that switch just didn't like the fact that all the keyboards with Cherry ML have smaller than normal sized keycaps.

However I don't think Cherry ML is backlit capable so I think it could be something else. Unless they just copied the design and mod it.
You never know what they could have done so wink.gif

I wish rigbuilder could make a comeback and honestly I'm not a fan of VB
DaveLT is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-06-2014, 06:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
prava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ibiza, Spain.
Posts: 1,456
Rep: 116 (Unique: 106)
They don't even say the switch they are using. doh.gif
prava is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-07-2014, 05:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hyde00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
It says newly designed, pro-quality SteelSeries switches. So there are 2 possibilities:

1) They designed a brand new switch in-house. In that case I wonder how the quality is, I'd assume to get the switches "right" will takes years of trial and error.

2) They bought 3rd party switches, in this case it's probably design and made from some Chinese factories.

Though either case I'm still interested in trying it out, but the price tag is a little bit heavy.
Hyde00 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-08-2014, 09:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
prava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ibiza, Spain.
Posts: 1,456
Rep: 116 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyde00 View Post

It says newly designed, pro-quality SteelSeries switches. So there are 2 possibilities:

1) They designed a brand new switch in-house. In that case I wonder how the quality is, I'd assume to get the switches "right" will takes years of trial and error.

2) They bought 3rd party switches, in this case it's probably design and made from some Chinese factories.

Though either case I'm still interested in trying it out, but the price tag is a little bit heavy.

In both cases the price is not right. Unless we are talking Topre switches... but that I doubt since I'm not even sure you can put leds on those.

A big fail on SS... huge one.
prava is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 09:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezisatnaF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 55
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
It's definitely not Topre... SS would flaunt that it was as well as it being inspected in Japan..
ezisatnaF is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2014, 06:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FredgHar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 235
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
It's dropped project. Image was leaked from server somehow or it comes from US survey.
FredgHar is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2014, 06:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hyde00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
That's a shame, was looking forward to new low profile mechanical switch.

frown.gif
Hyde00 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off