"Tape-Trick" for lower liftoff-distance(LOD) with optical mice - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

"Tape-Trick" for lower liftoff-distance(LOD) with optical mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-06-2012, 04:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,641
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
To reduce the LOD in the first place, you have to decrease the illuminated spot on the surface, rather than weakening the light itself(with more or less transparent tape).

So take non-transparent!!! tape, and stick it over the hole of the bottom of the mouse, until it reaches the small lens:

vFWpOl.jpg
N2MDbl.jpg

done!


G400: L4Ka6Pvs.jpg Abyssus: TnlvTHds.jpg Alcor: NlvTfIOs.jpg
EC1 evo w/o custom lens: uoH0dFqs.jpg

thuNDa is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-06-2012, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Skar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 827
Rep: 64 (Unique: 41)
Should also reduce the maximum speed, did you try that?
Skar is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-06-2012, 05:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
fasti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 222
Rep: 15 (Unique: 8)
ah.. followed some wrong guide, now this tape trick works on Kana : )

.
fasti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-06-2012, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,641
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skar View Post

Should also reduce the maximum speed, did you try that?

In my experience it doesn't significantly decrease the max-speed, if at all when u leave the small lens area completly free.
It doesn't affect the area of light the mouse tracks when sitting down anyway, just the area infront of where the sensor takes pictures of, which then would wander right under the sensor while lifting the mouse off.
But that gets cut of with the tape:

MRAael.jpg


thuNDa is online now  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-22-2012, 11:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pentdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 340
Rep: 31 (Unique: 24)
Hi,

I have a Gigabyte GM-M6880 optical mouse. I have tried to put scotch on the entire hole but it reduced tracking completly. Then i put like you showed in the picture but depending how much of the hole i covered it either did nothing or it reduced tracking completly. Any suggestions?

Also why is non transparent tape essential? I've seen the same tutorial on youtube but many of them used clear tape.
Pentdragon is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,641
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
because depending on which transparent tape it is, it wouldn't do anything at all.
but your mouse seems to be a laser mouse, so this doesn't work.

thuNDa is online now  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 07:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
superj1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Auraxis
Posts: 4,548
Rep: 213 (Unique: 185)
superj1977 is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 07:44 AM
Gone
 
Skylit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,730
Rep: 541 (Unique: 328)
Technically it's still CMOS based using a simular lens assembly. The sensor itself is likely spec'd for optical illumination.

It should work if carefully placed, but I don't quite have an HD picture of the backside of the mouse.


Edit : http://product.pconline.com.cn/pdlib/263355_bigpicture2367624.html < Need better than this.

Skylit is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 01:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AquaSurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 178
Rep: 16 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylit View Post

(...) http://product.pconline.com.cn/pdlib/263355_bigpicture2367624.html < Need better than this.
http://www.mygarage.ro/attachments/componente/104135d1278578050-poze-componente-p1070245.jpg
source

Edit: I believe that this tape trick will not work with laser sensors.
Laser light is just too narrow. example - video
AquaSurfer is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-28-2012, 07:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bobuy00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 279
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Why don't(doesn't?) all mouse manufacturers use this on stock mice? As far as I know only A4tech do this with V-track mice..

Tweaks settings for 3 hours. Plays for 1.
bobuy00 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off