Swapping microswitches for "dummies" - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Swapping microswitches for "dummies"

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 04:30 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,156
That's WAY too much heat to be putting into that board with all of that solder. And why would you bother with all of that when you have a solder-sucker in the first place? That's what they're made for.

I'm sorry but this is a terrible how-too, you don't even know how to use the equipment properly.
Cavi Mike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 04:34 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,156
And OMG, what the heck are you doing with that screwdriver???? You've got to be kidding me. Those copper traces are extremely soft and fragile, you're gonna scrape them right off! For christs sake, where did you learn how to do this stuff? You have all of the right equipment but don't have a darn clue how to use any of it.
Cavi Mike is offline  
post #23 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 04:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ich1ban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 247
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thuNDa View Post

Nice thumb.gif
Did you have to sand something off of the sticks?

Nope, did not have to sand anything off at all, they were exactly the same size as the old HUANOs and OMRON d2fc-7Ns

Although I know what you're talking about, the OMRON d2f-01FLs i took out of my Kinzu v1 PRO for my first AM that I messed up, they were taller than the microswitches I have now. I put new D2FC-7Ns into the Kinzu and the buttons don't click properly because they're not tall enough.

The method thuNDa taught works well and is extremely easy, although probably not the most solder efficient. I had to use a lot of solder to cover all 3 pins, although once covered, I didn't need to use tweezers to pull out the old switches, they just fell clean off with nothing stuck to them when I heated it up - you could put them into another mouse instantly.

I think there needs to be a Kinzuadder guide now tongue.gif I have a Mac edition Deathadder 1800DPI and the Kinzu red v1 pro that can be converted biggrin.gif

ich1ban is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,647
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavi Mike View Post

That's WAY too much heat to be putting into that board with all of that solder. And why would you bother with all of that when you have a solder-sucker in the first place? That's what they're made for.
I'm sorry but this is a terrible how-too, you don't even know how to use the equipment properly.

This "how-to" is all experience, and has mainly the amount heat in mind actually.

Of course i didn't start with this method, when i tried to get microswitches out of mice.

I tried the "pro"-solutions too:

- solder-sucker (risk to suck off the contacthole together with the solder, but chances to get all of the solder out to get the pins free with one try are low)
- desolder braid (needs much more heat, but chances to get all the solder out to get the pins free depend how tiny the holes are, so if it doesn't go easy chances are high to destroy the contactholes with too much heat)
-and even got me some tweezers meant for SMD-soldering to heaten up all the pins at the same time.

Everything was a pain the a.., took very long and in the end destroyed alot of contactholes/microswitches


The copper traces are actually not so fragile, and are covered with paint also.





thuNDa is offline  
post #25 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 05:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ich1ban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 247
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
I was wondering why desoldering braid wasn't working before, must need a lot higher temperature :d
ich1ban is offline  
post #26 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 12:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ihatelolcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: memphis, TN
Posts: 2,919
Rep: 92 (Unique: 82)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarningHPB View Post

...ones for the middle mouse button/mouse wheel button...

oh cool

~*~ AMD 1GHz OC ~*~ AMD 4GHz ~*~ Phenom II x4 955 4.1GHz ~*~ Proud Phenom1st 4.6GHz ~*~ ╥ AMD SuperPi 15.759s ╥ ~*~
~*~ AMD Vishera FX-83X0 Owners Club ~*~ Vishera FX-8350 5GHz ~*~ ╥ AMD SuperPi 14.450s ╥ ~*~
"We're looking at what Intel does—and we're not gonna do that." - Robert Hallock


ihatelolcats is offline  
post #27 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 06:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Skar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 827
Rep: 64 (Unique: 41)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ich1ban View Post

I notice the D2F-01FLs are a lot nicer to press and are softer compared to the D2FC-7Ns, hard to tell the difference by pressing them with your fingers but once installed, it's a lot nicer.

It is basically the same switch with different tolerances. you can find d2fc that are harder and softer than the d2f.
Skar is offline  
post #28 of 98 (permalink) Old 03-01-2012, 11:52 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
obi.van.kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 316
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
since you opened your wmo's up, i have a question. would it be possible to put g400 pcb into a wmo? of course without the top switches and the side B/F buttons (would be left at single dpi without software).

IGN: Was there any discussion about adding shooter mechanics like a cover system or regenerative health to the game, or would that be blasphemous?

Roman Ribaric: Cover system??? Regenerating health??? You can't be Serious!

obi.van.kenobi is offline  
post #29 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-15-2012, 04:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NuFon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 424
Rep: 12 (Unique: 11)
Thanks for the guide, so the switches will just slide out or atleast be easy to pull out? smile.gif
Is this hard to do the first time? Maybe I should try to do this in a cheaper mouse at first smile.gif
NuFon is offline  
post #30 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-15-2012, 05:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,647
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NuFon View Post

Thanks for the guide, so the switches will just slide out or atleast be easy to pull out? smile.gif
Is this hard to do the first time? Maybe I should try to do this in a cheaper mouse at first smile.gif

They are easy to pull out then, yes.
Alwas good to try soldering on unused things first.

thuNDa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off