Razer Synapse 2.0 software/mouse unusable if you dont have an internet connection or their servers are down... - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Razer Synapse 2.0 software/mouse unusable if you dont have an internet connection or their servers are down...

 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 190 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 07:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
forthedisplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 167
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by h4rdcor3 View Post

I left Logitech because of setpoint. I have been happy with my deathadder(s) and Mamba. Logitech mice tend to hurt my hands on extended usage. But this is pretty much unacceptable.

New logitech mice use Logitech Gaming Software, which is far, far better than what Setpoint ever was.

I got a 30% off coupon from Logitech for two products, and the offer was a single day only. I ended up buying the Logitech G600. I already have Gigabyte Aivia Osmium as my main Keyboard, but I did consider getting the G710+ for 100€ too with the coupon (preorder). I don't really care about some small difference in switches even if the browns might be better than reds for me (actually, from the reviews I can judge that the G710+ looks worse and has worse build quality than the osmium), but the fact that I could have had G710+, G600 and G13 all running from a single profile - that would've been a killer.

However, if the mouse doesn't fit your hand, that will be biggest limiting factor for you, of course.
forthedisplay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 190 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
channelx99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 505
Rep: 28 (Unique: 24)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GariKrandi View Post

channelx99, you just got into news in Finland smile.gif

Finland is an awesome country in my book smile.gif

channelx99 is offline  
post #33 of 190 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
channelx99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 505
Rep: 28 (Unique: 24)
Contacting support has been pretty useless so far they dont want to budge on anything since they dont think theres a problem with their software. I argued there was no disclosure about needing to activate the mouse online before hand, and that they didnt have a right to monitor my usage whenever I was connected to the internet, but it fell on deaf ears.

I think the only way they will change is if enough people let them know what theyre doing is wrong:

http://help.razersupport.com/us-en/email.asp

channelx99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 190 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 10:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
krokdylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 118
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
R.I.P. Razer ...
krokdylz is offline  
post #35 of 190 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 12:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RuSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: zeeland
Posts: 1,471
Rep: 98 (Unique: 80)
RuSo is offline  
post #36 of 190 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 04:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Well I decided to set up so auto profile switching. I did that little with my blackwidow, but not much.
I notice now in Synapse 2.0 it also forces the game to minimize when you load it. Extra step there as I have to click the game back up.
Some games I recall don't like you alt-tabbing around, so another fail here.

TheGlow is offline  
post #37 of 190 (permalink) Old 11-02-2012, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
channelx99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 505
Rep: 28 (Unique: 24)
My suspisions are confirmed. Synapse 2.0's only purpose is to spy on you:

“User Generated Information” means any information made available to Razer through your use of the Software. Subject to the Privacy Policy mentioned above, you expressly grant Razer the complete and irrevocable right to use, reproduce, modify, create derivative works from, distribute, transmit, broadcast, and otherwise communicate, and publicly display and perform the User Generated Information and derivative works thereof in any form, anywhere, with or without attribution to you, and without any notice or compensation to you of any kind.

By using Razer Synapse 2.0 (“Synapse”), the Subscriber agrees that Razer may collect aggregate information, individual information, and personally identifiable information. Razer may share aggregate information and individual information with other parties. Razer shall not share personally identifiable information with other parties, except as described in the policy below.


The Synapse 2.0 software was not created to benefit customers in any way. It was a ploy to get into your computer and watch what you do and profit off this info.

channelx99 is offline  
post #38 of 190 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 12:23 AM
Retired Moderation
 
Arizonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,660
Rep: 313 (Unique: 253)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroSpiderman View Post

I just ordered a death adder...

Congrats it's a great mouse. thumb.gif Thinking on one myself for my nephew Christmas present. smile.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Padishah View Post

The new Synapse software has "cloud" support thats why you need to log on to Synapsesave and load your profiles.
here is a link to the old software no cloud storage and runs standalone
http://www.razersupport.com/index.php?_m=downloads&_a=viewdownload&downloaditemid=744
also my synapse 2.0 software loads fine without and internet connection.

That's awesome. Has anyone tried this on the Naga 2012 yet confirm it works with macros?


Truly sad to be forced to use Synapse to obtain the options one already paid for within the product hardware. It would have been better served if they provided cloud storage as an 'option'. I do agree that being forced to the cloud or any services in order to obtain a purchased product features is wrong especially when that info is being used and profited from.

Threads being derailed a bit by Razer haters who take this opportunity to say 'I"m never going to buy another Razer product" when they never did or already made that decision prior to this news. tongue.gif

Boils down to Razer still has some great mice and software didn't change that but Razer will lose revenue by those who object to cloud storage that's being shared to who knows. Dumb move on Razer's part because whether one agrees or disagrees it still alienates possible purchases from those who object. On the flip side it's hard for some to understand those who don't feel threatened and doesn't mind Synapse and what it offers for what they give up.

After two years of owning a Mamba which I recently handed down to the kids it's still going strong. The DeathAdder has proven to be old faithful for a lot of people and is a solid mouse. Razer sales will determine the outcome of Synapse longevity be rest assured. What that outcome will be may take a quarter before it surfaces on paper for the bean counters and corporate to make a decision. rolleyes.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by RuSo View Post

https://www.overclock.net/t/1320903/razer-synapse-2-0-offline-saved-settings-and-login-for-offline-pcs
For synapse 2.0 usage offline and profile saving tongue.gif

Razer Synapse 2.0 offline saved settings and login, for offline PC's

Great job figuring this out. smile.gif


CPU
|INTEL i7 4790K [4.6 GHz]
Motherboard
|ASUS Z97 Maximus Formula VII
GPU
|SAPPHIRE Nitro R9 Fury
RAM
|CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 2133
Hard Drive
|PNY CS2211 XLR8 480 [Gaming]
Hard Drive
|WD Velociraptor 1TB [Storage]
Hard Drive
|SAMSUNG 850 Pro 256 [OS]
Power Supply
|SUPERNOVA P2 1000
Monitor
|VIEWSONIC XG 2700 [4K IPS Freesync]
Keyboard
|DUCKY Shine 5 YOTG
Mouse
|LOGITECH G Pro [Modified]
Mouse
|ZOWIE G-SR Dark Gray
Audio
|SENNHEISER HD650
Audio
|SCHIIT Modi 2 Uber
Audio
|SCHIIT Magni
Audio
|BLUE Snow Ball ICE [Black]
Audio
|CORSAIR SP2500
Other
|CORSAIR Obsidian 450D
Other
|CORSAIR H100i
Other
|NOCTUA NF-F14 [2] & NF-A12 [3] Chroma
▲ hide details ▲
Arizonian is offline  
post #39 of 190 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 01:08 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Dt_Freak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,756
Rep: 74 (Unique: 55)
if synapse is forced thru purchasing any other razer products then i shall be finding a new company to buy gaming products from. they have no right to spy on people!
Dt_Freak1 is offline  
post #40 of 190 (permalink) Old 11-03-2012, 07:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
boogdud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 554
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
I asked them if there were going to be any offerings that did NOT use synapse and they informed me, that in fact all future razer products would be synapse 2.0 only (and they have been since the naga hex'ish timeframe). Not only that, they're going to retrofit it to all legacy products. They want everything running on synapse even old hardware.

I told them I wouldn't be purchasing any of their products until they abandon this bloated, invasive, gimmick-ware.
boogdud is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off