USB polling precision - Page 119 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

USB polling precision

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1181 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-01-2020, 11:32 AM
"Insert dumb quote here"
 
Athrutep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 284
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by MIETAS View Post
I've depleted my tweaks ideas, that's all i can get @ win 10 (not safe mode).
Can't go any further with ryzen...
That is good. The only way to get it lower is to install win7 and deinstall and remove loads of components (and it also depends on your mouse as well). But what you reached is pretty much win 10 limits. At least i haven't seen anyone provide anything that was lower. I also doubt that lower results would be a big improvement.
Athrutep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1182 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-01-2020, 12:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Safe mode graphs look pretty much like win 7, maybe a little worse. Normal boot is as it is. Took me like 1 year to get these kind of polling which is kinda sad but hey, at least the ******** journey has ended.

Thanks for reply @Athrutep
MIETAS is offline  
post #1183 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-01-2020, 12:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NDUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 109
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
I don't think these graphs showing your polling stability on desktop with nothing running are useful data. When you play a game, you will start getting tons of interrupts as the same thread that handles polling will also start handling game logic. If you play a game with mousetester recording active and then observe afterwards, it's not going to look as tranquil as your desktop graphs.

The real way to maximize polling stability in games should be:

1) identify the thread which controls USB polling by moving your mouse and observing thread activity. For me it's thread #2, or "thread #1" if you start from 0 like HWINFO64 does
2) move all possible computation off of that thread ie. forbid the game from using it

Also it should obviously help to have a stronger per-core performance, since the CPU will handle interrupts that much faster.
NDUS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1184 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-01-2020, 02:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by NDUS View Post
I don't think these graphs showing your polling stability on desktop with nothing running are useful data. When you play a game, you will start getting tons of interrupts as the same thread that handles polling will also start handling game logic. If you play a game with mousetester recording active and then observe afterwards, it's not going to look as tranquil as your desktop graphs.

The real way to maximize polling stability in games should be:

1) identify the thread which controls USB polling by moving your mouse and observing thread activity. For me it's thread #2, or "thread #1" if you start from 0 like HWINFO64 does
2) move all possible computation off of that thread ie. forbid the game from using it

Also it should obviously help to have a stronger per-core performance, since the CPU will handle interrupts that much faster.

The main thing is - I had 0 stability at idle so i take these graphs as a huge step forward.
MIETAS is offline  
post #1185 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-01-2020, 02:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
numberfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 629
Rep: 22 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by MIETAS View Post
The main thing is - I had 0 stability at idle so i take these graphs as a huge step forward.
you won in graphs, but do you play games?

Roach's declowning guide to the galaxy https://i.imgur.com/iz6WDUl.jpg
numberfive is offline  
post #1186 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-02-2020, 06:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: µcode
Posts: 822
Rep: 60 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by NDUS View Post
I don't think these graphs showing your polling stability on desktop with nothing running are useful data.
All relative so still useful IMO. IRQ's should take precedence so if you seeing poor results in game it might just be MouseTester itself getting beat up by those other threads.


Quote: Originally Posted by MIETAS View Post
Safe mode graphs look pretty much like win 7, maybe a little worse.
Does seem very sad with W10 vs W7 in it's IRQ handling so you've done well. I had tried some serial mouse integration although not a real mouse, just a connection to the 232 port pretending to be a mouse and when looking at 10,000Hz packets W10 drops 40-50% of them while W7 carries on well above that (same HW). What I found surprising though was above 8000Hz the CPU (Haswell) starts throttling internally, reaching base ratio at somewhere around 15k packets. Enough of that though as this is a USB thread. I will say W7 does seem to set XHCI interrupt moderation (a way of throttling interrupts) high though or perhaps it's that it doesn't set it at all.

ucode is offline  
post #1187 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-12-2020, 07:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Noob here, why does my mousetester graphs have like 5 dots when I zoom in compared to the hundreds of dots I see posted in this thread?
klunka is offline  
post #1188 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-12-2020, 07:37 AM
►¿¿¿
 
Axaion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,257
Rep: 59 (Unique: 50)
Quote: Originally Posted by klunka View Post
Noob here, why does my mousetester graphs have like 5 dots when I zoom in compared to the hundreds of dots I see posted in this thread?
Because you zoomed the graph to 10ms?

I took the bait/10

Last edited by Axaion; 08-12-2020 at 08:42 AM.
Axaion is offline  
post #1189 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-12-2020, 08:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Timecard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 503
Rep: 32 (Unique: 20)
If you don't cut off the head and tail zoomed out it'll look almost perfect too (much less dots)
Timecard is offline  
post #1190 of 1204 (permalink) Old 08-12-2020, 08:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
xD I am actually serious.....how do you zoom in on update time without zooming the timeline??
klunka is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off