USB polling precision - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

USB polling precision

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 08:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Crymore13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 75
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Why does my Deathadder 2013 have these peaks ?



Movement made:



My Latencymon:




Windows 8.1

Crymore13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 08:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Derp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8,763
Rep: 735 (Unique: 515)
Disabling c6/c7 made an enormous improvement but I'm not ok with the processor sitting at full voltage and consuming fives times the power. The polling on my system is quite terrible with c6/c7 enabled.

Derp is offline  
post #23 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 08:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,717
Rep: 472 (Unique: 318)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derp View Post

Disabling c6/c7 made an enormous improvement but I'm not ok with the processor sitting at full voltage and consuming fives times the power. The polling on my system is quite terrible with c6/c7 enabled.

Did you only experiment on the desktop? You should check what's happening with regards to C6/C7 while a game is running. It might keep the CPU from falling completely asleep and you might be fine there.

There's two different collections of C-states with the same names: ones for the individual cores and then for the whole package. The package ones can only activate if all cores are asleep at the same time. Those are the ones that can reduce speed and lower Vcore (if using offset overclocking). If at least one core is kept running by a game, the package ones might never activate and then individual cores in C6 might wake up to full voltage and run at full speed from the start.
deepor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HAGGARD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 657
Rep: 56 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crymore13 View Post

Why does my Deathadder 2013 have these peaks ?

I would say because you are slowing down at some point in your circle, but then all of those readings exactly jump 1 poll interval.
Whatever it is, it is coming from your mouse. The host would try to compensate for deviation from the set interval and so you would see counter-peaks as well.
Take some more logs and try to stay consistently fast throughout the circle movement.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derp View Post

Disabling c6/c7 made an enormous improvement but I'm not ok with the processor sitting at full voltage and consuming fives times the power. The polling on my system is quite terrible with c6/c7 enabled.

Even with the high performance power plan set? Not too familar with C6/7 power states, but like all c states they are micro sleeps for selective core idle. Setting minimum processor state 100% may or may not prevent cores from entering advanced idling states.
Alternatively use SpeedStep to save energy in a balanced power plan. Clocking features are effectively disabled with minimum set to 100% when you switch to your performance power plan. Or calculate just how much more you would be spending on power consumption per year without c states.
HAGGARD is offline  
post #25 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 08:36 PM
Mice is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,208
Rep: 109 (Unique: 83)
Mine.



Another one.

Melan is offline  
post #26 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 08:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Derp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8,763
Rep: 735 (Unique: 515)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HAGGARD View Post

Even with the high performance power plan set? Not too familar with C6/7 power states, but like all c states they are micro sleeps for selective core idle. Setting minimum processor state 100% may or may not prevent cores from entering advanced idling states.
Alternatively use SpeedStep to save energy in a balanced power plan. Clocking features are effectively disabled with minimum set to 100% when you switch to your performance power plan. Or calculate just how much more you would be spending on power consumption per year without c states.

Yes. With all power savings in bios disabled except c6 and windows power plan set to 100% so the clock speed never drops results in scattered polls from 1.4-2.6ms on a 500Hz g100s. If I disable c6 and change nothing else the polling changes to 1.97-2.02ms.

Derp is offline  
post #27 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 08:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
L4dd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 677
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
Thank you!
I would like to have an explanation for my Lachesis 3G's SPI speed possibly being a bottleneck when using 1,000 Hz polling, too. I remember possibly noticing smoother mouse movement with 500 Hz versus 1,000 Hz via that mouse, so I suspect that it has a less than 1,000 Hz or so SPI speed and would show what you have listed here...

Glyphosate and fluoride chelate metals allowing passage of the blood-brain barrier, and glyphosate destroys gut flora and depletes minerals.
USA fluoridates, allows so much glyphosate in water, and forces vaccines of metals, MSG, polysorbate, glyphosate, and etc.
The above, pollution, alcohol, sugar, dyes, artificial flavors, electromagnetic radiation, and etc. can increase inflammation.
L4dd is offline  
post #28 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 09:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Crymore13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 75
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HAGGARD View Post

I would say because you are slowing down at some point in your circle, but then all of those readings exactly jump 1 poll interval.
Whatever it is, it is coming from your mouse. The host would try to compensate for deviation from the set interval and so you would see counter-peaks as well.
Take some more logs and try to stay consistently fast throughout the circle movement.

With my Roccat Taito(Razer Scarab before) now, 1 circle only, constant velocity.


Crymore13 is offline  
post #29 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 09:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HAGGARD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 657
Rep: 56 (Unique: 44)
Very interesting. Try a swipe instead of a circle first. If it's still there, then we can start wondering what else it could be.
Using any Razer/ROCCAT software?
Quote:
Originally Posted by L4dd View Post

Thank you!
I would like to have an explanation for my Lachesis 3G's SPI speed possibly being a bottleneck when using 1,000 Hz polling, too. I remember possibly noticing smoother mouse movement with 500 Hz versus 1,000 Hz via that mouse, so I suspect that it has a less than 1,000 Hz or so SPI speed and would show what you have listed here...

500Hz often also seems smoother because it "filters" inputs. Refer to www.overclock.net/t/1251156/an-overview-of-mouse-technology "Pollling Misnomer" section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derp View Post

Yes. With all power savings in bios disabled except c6 and windows power plan set to 100% so the clock speed never drops results in scattered polls from 1.4-2.6ms on a 500Hz g100s. If I disable c6 and change nothing else the polling changes to 1.97-2.02ms.
That is indeed significant. Either you calculate how much more you'd be spending and make your decision from there, you disable C6/7 everytime you want to play seriously, or you try to reduce power consumption with speedstep enabled. When you want to game you can just set the performance plan and speedstep will effectively be disabled.
HAGGARD is offline  
post #30 of 831 (permalink) Old 04-12-2015, 09:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Crymore13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 75
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HAGGARD View Post

Very interesting. Try a swipe instead of a circle first. If it's still there, then we can start wondering what else it could be.
Using any Razer/ROCCAT software?
500Hz often also seems smoother because it "filters" inputs. Refer to www.overclock.net/t/1251156/an-overview-of-mouse-technology "Pollling Misnomer" section.

I am using software from Razer, Roccat Taito is a mousepad...
I tried with my Kana v2 and gave a different result, without installing the software because plugged only for testing. So the 500hz.

Kana v2(500hz):



Deathadder 2013(500hz):



Apparently the problem is with the mouse itself.

Crymore13 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off