USB mouse hard overclocking (2000 Hz+) - Page 26 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

USB mouse hard overclocking (2000 Hz+)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #251 of 786 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 548
Rep: 55 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waisech View Post

Since I have 4 USB3.0 ports on my Asus laptop and I was on Windows 7 (64bit) I had no way to OC my MX518 other than to upgrade to Windows 10 (64bit).
To (possibly) you and all old Intel chipsets users:
https://www.overclock.net/t/596276/changing-usb-polling-rate-to-1000hz-or-lower/420#post_25046948
and below. But this will not work from 100 series of Intel chipsets - there is simply no USB2.0 controller.
Quote:
5) Checked box 'Filter On Device' and selected 500hz (doesnt matter if I choose 62Hz, 125Hz or 1000Hz, it wont let me change the rate)
6) Restart (No difference, the filter checkbox will disappear whether I restart or not)

Looks like no elevated privileges. Are the windows ask to elevate privileges when you start setup.exe? If no - try to expressly run it as admin.
SweetLow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #252 of 786 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 08:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Waisech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post

Looks like no elevated privileges. Are the windows ask to elevate privileges when you start setup.exe? If no - try to expressly run it as admin.
Didn't even think of that, never had to do it in Win7. You were right. I ran it as admin, was able to easily change it and mouse rate checker shows the new Hz. Works beautifully. Thank you! I can finally use my MX518 to it's fullest potential
Waisech is offline  
post #253 of 786 (permalink) Old 06-13-2016, 05:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 313
Rep: 34 (Unique: 31)
Since this basically is a "custom" pollingrate - would this allow us to get something like the Xai had? "Exact Rate" or whatever it was called?

So we can set a rate of 639 for example biggrin.giftongue.gif
c0dy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #254 of 786 (permalink) Old 06-13-2016, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 548
Rep: 55 (Unique: 31)
SweetLow is offline  
post #255 of 786 (permalink) Old 06-13-2016, 07:35 AM
AAGGHH~ MY EYES~ AAGGHH~
 
uaokkkkkkkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,558
Rep: 157 (Unique: 67)
I could never get Exactrate to work on my Xai. Then again, nothing worked right with that mouse.
uaokkkkkkkk is offline  
post #256 of 786 (permalink) Old 06-13-2016, 09:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 313
Rep: 34 (Unique: 31)
Quote:

Sorry, thought that maybe something new turned up smile.gif
c0dy is offline  
post #257 of 786 (permalink) Old 07-13-2016, 11:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: DE
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Win7 64bit
MX300

I can't get it to work.
I tried 'NoPatch' drivers with 250Hz filter but whenever i restart the system the mouse doesn't move. In 'device manager' the 'mouse hid device' claims something's wrong with registry (installation incomplete) or something. I also manually installed the driver with 'pnputil -i -a hidusbf.inf' and it gets installed (not activated though as there were no device found) and is properly listed with 'pnputil -e'.

These are my usb drivers:


My 'usbport.sys' is 6.1.7601.18328 (MD5=12FEB33791920678F8433701C822BCFD) and i can manually create a 250Hz version by patching it but it only works in testmode:
24D13: 3A B0
24D14: C2 04
24D17: 88 12
24D1A: 01 BF

Any attempt (like >this) to sign the driver looks ok in file properties (usbport.sys) but it always results in Intel drivers showing exclamation mark and mouse doesn't respond when i swap the file and reboot.

There's a guy who regularly patches Intel drivers for older systems (here). For that you have to import his certificate first. It works properly. He just patches the inf file though. The *.sys files are still signed by Intel. Maybe that's the trick. Some people say its impossible to sign drivers with self-signing and certificates must be cross-signed with MS. I'm not sure if that's really true for all cases.

Whatsoever.. i'm wondering why it doesn't work here.

Any idea?
Risk64 is offline  
post #258 of 786 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 12:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 548
Rep: 55 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Risk64 View Post

>Any idea?
>Win7 64bit, Etron USB 3.0
See first post of this topic if you really need 2000 Hz+. if you only need 1000 Hz- - look at readme (win 7+usb 3.0)

>NoPatch
under win 7 this version of driver can make rate lower only

>but whenever i restart the system
it's not need now. take the last version (and read readme)
SweetLow is offline  
post #259 of 786 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 02:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: DE
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Never mind... i've restored the original *.inf association (by registry fix) and installed the driver by right-click. Now its working. Thank you very much. smile.gif

No change with 1kHz *.sys file. Once i replug the mouse the 'HID Mouse' driver gets exclamation mark and setup.exe is empty. I delete the device in device manager and rescan for new hardware and mouse comes back to original state.
It just says 'driver is not properly configured (in registry)' when filter is active (in device manager).

I can send you my usbport.sys if necessary but for me it rather looks like it doesn't connect the driver or service. I cannot install the driver by right-click as i have *.inf associated with notepad++ and the old handler is not listed in context menu anymore. But i don't see why 'pnputil -i -a hidusbf.inf' shouldn't work. The driver gets properly installed as oem.inf.

If i try to manually assign the driver to the broken device in device manager it says there is no information in the driver for that device.

No clue what's wrong here...
Risk64 is offline  
post #260 of 786 (permalink) Old 07-30-2016, 01:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rattleheadmegadeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 214
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by qsxcv View Post

WMO DOES 8000HZ POLLING


also that's conclusive proof that my (new) x08, with last 4 digits=4103 (41th month of 2003?), does not run at 6000fps, because if it did it would not be possible to have consistent 125us report intervals


My IMO 1.1 from 2001 x06 runs @ 8000 Hz, exacly the same as my IME 3.0 x80...
rattleheadmegadeth is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off