USB mouse hard overclocking (2000 Hz+) - Page 34 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

USB mouse hard overclocking (2000 Hz+)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 725 (permalink) Old 11-18-2016, 04:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mantorker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 65
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by trism View Post

Because this currently requires a driver "hack" which is not considered to be a valid approach for a commercial product.

The reason why 8 kHz polling is not used is simple: the USB 2.0 FS standard does not support it by default. You would need HS for that - and that's where things get tricky. The frequency the bus is working at is much higher and thus the design of the PCB needs to be really exact - in fact it's quite a hard task with 2-layer PCBs. The tolerances are just generally much lower and you would most likely see units that would either kick back to FS or not even authenticate at all with Windows. Generally 4-layer+ PCBs are used for USB 2.0 HS products which then again costs more. In addition, you would require a beefier MCU (as if 72 MHz STM32s weren't already an overkill for peripherals) and in many cases an additional external PHY making the PCB design for an already constrained space a harder task.

Conclusion: too much stuff to worry about with a negligible gain.

It's too soon to say "negligible" before you try a real 8khz mouse. And, high speed USB on 2-layer pcb is possible, in fact , following the layout guideline , it's quite easy.
mantorker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-12-2017, 08:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cool2000m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
any chance we can get amd/via compatible drivers?
I've tried everything.

Every time I try to overclock something the mouse stops working, light switches off, and the device says "This device cannot start. (Code 10)

Insufficient system resources exist to complete the API."

Not only that but when I use 31 or 62 in usb 2.0 mode it filters to 31 and 62 polling rate in mouse tester... i'm not sure this is built for amd systems!
cool2000m is offline  
post #333 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-13-2017, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 487
Rep: 55 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool2000m View Post

Every time I try to overclock something the mouse stops working, light switches off, and the device says "This device cannot start. (Code 10)
It's not hardware related probably:
https://www.overclock.net/t/1597441/digitally-signed-sweetlow-1000hz-mouse-driver/340#post_25560676
Fresh Windows 10 x64 Anniversary (or newer) + Secure Boot enabled
SweetLow is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-13-2017, 01:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cool2000m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
the 1000 hz works though.
and I don't have secure boot enabled, and also its a new installation.
cool2000m is offline  
post #335 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-13-2017, 02:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 487
Rep: 55 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool2000m View Post

the 1000 hz works though.
1. as opposed to what? what is nominal polling rate of mouse - 125Hz?
2. as i can see you have some kind of hub between mouse and controller. look at first message of thread carefully.
SweetLow is online now  
post #336 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-13-2017, 01:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cool2000m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post

1. as opposed to what? what is nominal polling rate of mouse - 125Hz?
2. as i can see you have some kind of hub between mouse and controller. look at first message of thread carefully.
Thats just the thing, its plugged straight into the usb 3.1a socket and the other usb 3.0's are the front panel.
cool2000m is offline  
post #337 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-14-2017, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 487
Rep: 55 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool2000m View Post

Thats just the thing
Really? Look at / Post screenshot of your via usb 3.0 controller and it's device subtree expanded when mouse not attached.
If "generic usb hub" disappear - than you simply have not right hardware.
And what about my first question?
SweetLow is online now  
post #338 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-14-2017, 01:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cool2000m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
yes, sorry, the mouse in question is an intellimouse explorer 3.0 legends edition with a default polling rate of 125 hz. the 1000 hz works fine but in 2.0 usbs the polling rate switches to the listed numbers of 62 hz and 32 hz and because the usb 3.0 cant go that low it breaks, I think.

here is the screenshot as requested:
I assure you there is no usb hub.


what i see when enabled:



motherboard is the MSI 970 gaming
cool2000m is offline  
post #339 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-14-2017, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 487
Rep: 55 (Unique: 31)
>I assure you there is no usb hub.
My friend, there IS usb hub. No matter it is not separate device - it is present in hardware path to mouse.

>mouse in question is an intellimouse explorer 3.0 legends edition with a default polling rate of 125 hz
Nice, now we can be sure that problem lay inside PC.

>the usb 3.1a socket and the other usb 3.0's are the front panel
as i can understand you have some second xHCI controller. what is the picture of device manager if you attach mouse to this controller (port of this controller)?

p.s. at second screenshot i can see some errors of using setup wink.gif if you have composite devices - install filter with "Process Parent" checkbox set. It's very easy now - look at green lines only smile.gif
SweetLow is online now  
post #340 of 725 (permalink) Old 01-15-2017, 04:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
culturist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Is it real to overclock Razer mice to 2000+ hz?
I've tried with my Taipan with no results.
culturist is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off