[DIY] Logitech G500 Japanese Omron switch upgrade - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[DIY] Logitech G500 Japanese Omron switch upgrade

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
X58 Enthusiast
 
Oleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 259
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
My Logitech G500 has had the infamous "double click" problem, where you get random double clicks and are unable to drag and drop, for almost a year now. It is a common problem caused by the fact that Logitech opted to use Chinese made Omron D2FC-F-7N switches instead of higher quality Japanese made Omron D2F-01F switches. [URL="https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789175/"][IMG]https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789175/width/350/height/700/flags/LL[/IMG][/URL] There is a way to put some life back into the switches by taking them apart and adjusting the spring inside, but the parts are very delicate and can easily break. I decided I would try to adjust the spring to see how it felt, but after fiddling with it one too many times one of the thin side arms broke on the contact with the spring. [URL="https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789177/"][IMG]https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789177/width/350/height/700/flags/LL[/IMG][/URL] Although I could have replaced the switch with the same Chinese made switch, I opted to upgrade the mouse and get the Japanese made Omron switches instead, and change out the right button too. The D2F-01F switches only cost a dollar or so more than the D2FC-F-7N switches depending on how many you order, and are worth every penny. Once I got the new switches, I could immediately hear a difference in the way they click. To get the PCB out of the housing I used [URL="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KmgcGRcuYtc&spfreload=10"][B]THIS[/B][/URL] guide. Once the PCB was out, I was quickly able to remove the broken switch and solder in the new switch. Edit: The switch is on a PCB that is soldered to another PCB right below it. This makes it hard to get a soldering iron or desolder gun near the contacts for the switches. If your soldering iron/desolder gun is small enough like mine, you can just get it inbetween the two PCBs and heat up all three contacts to release the switches without touching anything else. If your soldering iron doesn't let you get in there or let you heat up all three contacts, you will have to desolder the connections holding the PCBs together in order to get to the switches. Soldering in the new switches is much easier. /endedit After I replaced the broken button, I tried the two different buttons out with the housing on to compare them side by side, and the new switch felt much better. The click was a little deeper and the tactile feedback felt more satisfying with the newly installed Japanese switch over the Chinese one. [URL="https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789178/"][IMG]https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789178/width/350/height/700/flags/LL[/IMG][/URL] I finished up by replacing the other button and started putting the whole thing back together. Since the mouse was already open, I also put a couple drops of oil on the scrollwheel axle, making it nearly silent and butter smooth. [URL="https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789179/"][IMG]https://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2789179/width/350/height/700/flags/LL[/IMG][/URL] After putting it back together the mouse felt awesome, and better yet, no more issues with double clicking or drag and drop.

Hex Core
(31 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon x5650 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X58
GPU
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970 4GB AMP! Extreme Core Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 24GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
MyDigitalSSD BP5e
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Hard Drive
Western Digital Purple
Optical Drive
LG WH16NS40 16x Blu-Ray Burner
Optical Drive
ASUS Black 24X CD/DVD Burner
Power Supply
CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850
Cooling
ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler
Cooling
Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoon 2150 RPM fans
Cooling
CooLaboratory Liquid Ultra
Case
NZXT Phantom Black
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate
Operating System
Zorin OS 12.4 Ultimate
Monitor
ASUS VE Series 20" - 1600x900 @ 60Hz
Monitor
LG Electronics 43UH6100 43-Inch 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV
Monitor
Oculus Rift CV1
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5
Mouse
Logitech G500
Mousepad
Steelseries QcK
Audio
Astro A40 w/ MixAmp Pro
Audio
Jay's Q-Jays
Audio
Blue Yeti Blackout Edition
Other
Logitech G27
Other
CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD 900W UPS
Other
NZXT Phantom side panel window
Other
NZXT Aperture M Internal 5.25-Inch Mesh Card Reader
Other
Inateck KTU3FR-5O2I PCI-e USB 3.0 expansion card
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Oleh; 03-08-2019 at 07:37 AM.
Oleh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 06:55 PM
AAGGHH~ MY EYES~ AAGGHH~
 
uaokkkkkkkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,552
Rep: 157 (Unique: 67)
More like made in China.

If the 01f's start double clicking though, you could also try the new D2FC-F-K(50m). Though how that 50m rating(which is based on tests done without load, with no overtravel applied, and done in a controlled dust free laboratory) works out in the real world is unknown.
uaokkkkkkkk is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 08:26 PM
- Insanity Beckons -
 
Elrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,950
Rep: 173 (Unique: 89)
Quote:
Originally Posted by uaokkkkkkkk View Post

More like made in China.

If the 01f's start double clicking though, you could also try the new D2FC-F-K(50m).

OKAY then, were is this D2FC-F-K(50m) switch that is available for purchase?
Elrick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 09:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
popups's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,483
Rep: 142 (Unique: 79)
Quote:
Originally Posted by uaokkkkkkkk View Post

More like made in China.

If the 01f's start double clicking though, you could also try the new D2FC-F-K(50m). Though how that 50m rating(which is based on tests done without load, with no overtravel applied, and done in a controlled dust free laboratory) works out in the real world is unknown.

I haven't seen anything indicating they are made in China. The box says "Made in Japan" and the switch has "Omron Japan" on it.
popups is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 09:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,345
Rep: 50 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by popups View Post

I haven't seen anything indicating they are made in China. The box says "Made in Japan" and the switch has "Omron Japan" on it.


You got a box ?

I bought mine from mouser.. didn't get box.. frown.gif

where did you get box.. the 1000 unit boxes ?
tp4tissue is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 09:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
popups's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,483
Rep: 142 (Unique: 79)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post

You got a box ?

I bought mine from mouser.. didn't get box.. frown.gif

where did you get box.. the 1000 unit boxes ?

I saw a reseller with boxes of D2F-01. I don't know if they were genuine boxes.
popups is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 09:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,345
Rep: 50 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by popups View Post

I saw a reseller with boxes of D2F-01. I don't know if they were genuine boxes.

hahahaha...

why didn't you get it from Mouser.com then.. or Digikey.. you can trust these two vendors, they're the largest in the usa.
tp4tissue is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2016, 09:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
popups's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,483
Rep: 142 (Unique: 79)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post

hahahaha...

why didn't you get it from Mouser.com then.. or Digikey.. you can trust these two vendors, they're the largest in the usa.

I didn't buy any from that person. I just saw the boxes.

Someone could simply email Omron to see if the D2F-01 switches are made at their Japan factory or not.
popups is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-26-2016, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
X58 Enthusiast
 
Oleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 259
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by popups View Post

I didn't buy any from that person. I just saw the boxes.

Someone could simply email Omron to see if the D2F-01 switches are made at their Japan factory or not.

I'm pretty sure they are made in Japan, but I took your advice and e-mailed omron asking about them. Ill let you guys know what they say.

Hex Core
(31 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon x5650 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X58
GPU
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970 4GB AMP! Extreme Core Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 24GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
MyDigitalSSD BP5e
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Hard Drive
Western Digital Purple
Optical Drive
LG WH16NS40 16x Blu-Ray Burner
Optical Drive
ASUS Black 24X CD/DVD Burner
Power Supply
CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850
Cooling
ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler
Cooling
Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoon 2150 RPM fans
Cooling
CooLaboratory Liquid Ultra
Case
NZXT Phantom Black
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate
Operating System
Zorin OS 12.4 Ultimate
Monitor
ASUS VE Series 20" - 1600x900 @ 60Hz
Monitor
LG Electronics 43UH6100 43-Inch 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV
Monitor
Oculus Rift CV1
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5
Mouse
Logitech G500
Mousepad
Steelseries QcK
Audio
Astro A40 w/ MixAmp Pro
Audio
Jay's Q-Jays
Audio
Blue Yeti Blackout Edition
Other
Logitech G27
Other
CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD 900W UPS
Other
NZXT Phantom side panel window
Other
NZXT Aperture M Internal 5.25-Inch Mesh Card Reader
Other
Inateck KTU3FR-5O2I PCI-e USB 3.0 expansion card
▲ hide details ▲
Oleh is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-26-2016, 08:47 PM
- Insanity Beckons -
 
Elrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,950
Rep: 173 (Unique: 89)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oleh View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by popups View Post

I didn't buy any from that person. I just saw the boxes.

Someone could simply email Omron to see if the D2F-01 switches are made at their Japan factory or not.

I'm pretty sure they are made in Japan, but I took your advice and e-mailed omron asking about them. Ill let you guys know what they say.

If you're worried about companies lying about where they are making these switches now, then for the hardcore enthusiast, go buy an old Microsoft ball mouse and take out it's switches which are 100% confirmed to all be made in Japan.

Some of these switches are over 18 years old and they still work perfectly today yessir.gif .
Elrick is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off