3366 mice have different framerates: maximums are either ~8500 or ~11500 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

3366 mice have different framerates: maximums are either ~8500 or ~11500

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-27-2018, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
lololol
 
qsxcv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4,149
Rep: 362 (Unique: 150)
3366 mice have different framerates: maximums are either ~8500 or ~11500

edit: original title was "g pro (3366) running at lower framerates?!? aging or are g pro's weird?"
this is not due to aging and not specific to g pro's because my wired g403 that i've barely used since 2016 behaves the same.


current list:

~8500 max framerate:
g pro 3366
g403 wired version

~11500 max framerate mice:
g303
g403 wireless
g703

not sure:
g502 (at least the firmwares before 2016 were ~11500. not sure about current firmware, if there is a newer firmware)
g900 (pretty sure i remember it was ~11500)
g903? probably identical to g900


@anyone with a 3366 mouse in the "not sure" list
could you reply to this thread a mousetester log (preferred) and/or plot of a reasonably fast swipe (like around 1-2m/s)?
i'll tell you what framerate yours is running at. set the dpi to 12000 or something high to make it easier for me

also:
i dare anyone to try to find a post before this thread was created, claiming different tracking feel between mice in those two categories (e.g. between g pro and g303)
i certainly cannot tell a difference but maybe someone else was able to in the past

mousetester plots where i first found out about this:
Spoiler!


different malfunction speeds:
Spoiler!


i can estimate the framerates by observing the ratio of the dots.
for example if there are 10 counts of motion per frame,
a framerate of 2500 with 1000hz usb would give output like 20,30,20,30,20,30
a framerate of 5700 with 1000hz usb would give output like 50,60,60,50,60,60,50,60,60,60
just think about bit a little and it will make sense

more details and worked out examples:
Spoiler!

too busy to check forums as regularly
pm me if i forget to respond

Last edited by qsxcv; 12-01-2018 at 11:01 PM.
qsxcv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 03:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iceskeleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 325
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Not sure how clean it is :shrugs:

g pro used since it was released
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aa.png
Views:	69
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	234614  

Attached Files
File Type: zip gprof.zip (3.0 KB, 17 views)
iceskeleton is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
lololol
 
qsxcv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4,149
Rep: 362 (Unique: 150)
thanks

the max framerate in yours is ~8060

how much usage has your g pro gone through?
maybe one of the firmware updates did this? but then why are all my othee 3366 mice normal...
qsxcv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 12:27 PM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 6,101
Rep: 360 (Unique: 189)
Is this any good? Wireless G703.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	counts.png
Views:	45
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	234720  


CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
GPU
MSI 2080 Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quickfire TK
Mouse
Corepadded Logitech G703
Mousepad
Cooler Master MP510
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (B pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 02:12 PM
Mice is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,126
Rep: 107 (Unique: 81)
Wireless G403 (while wired). Had it since the release.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 403.zip (5.5 KB, 23 views)
Melan is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
lololol
 
qsxcv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4,149
Rep: 362 (Unique: 150)
thanks guys
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
Is this any good? Wireless G703.
framerates there are 4100 and 4900 (didn't reach higher modes because you didn't swipe too fast)
that's normal

Quote: Originally Posted by Melan View Post
Wireless G403 (while wired). Had it since the release.
framerate maxes out at 11600.
also normal


so only g pro is weird???
i swear i would have noticed this year ago but somehow i didn't?

too busy to check forums as regularly
pm me if i forget to respond
qsxcv is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 10:44 PM
Mice is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,126
Rep: 107 (Unique: 81)
Well you could flash old firmware...
Melan is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
lololol
 
qsxcv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4,149
Rep: 362 (Unique: 150)
has the g pro ever had a firmware update? uaok said he didn't find any

so i found a mousetester plot from Ino's review in 2016: https://www.overclock.net/forum/375-...eview-ino.html
unfortunately it's kinda noisy because Ino plotted xvelocity and the intervals weren't too stable for him.

anyway... looks like g pro has always been like this.
i scaled the image by 9/8 and overlapped them

bottom red dots should fit with the top blue dots if the framerate is between 8000 and 9000.

ughhhhh i feel embarrassed that i'm only finding out about this 2 years after the fact
guess it's time to pull out the oscilloscope again and see what's going on inside the g pro...

too busy to check forums as regularly
pm me if i forget to respond
qsxcv is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 10:57 PM
Mice is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,126
Rep: 107 (Unique: 81)
Maybe you're just not pro enough. It is a G Pro after all. Apply for Logi-sponsored competitive team to unlock max frame rate.
Melan is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter
lololol
 
qsxcv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4,149
Rep: 362 (Unique: 150)
o
m
g

my basically new wired g403 also has max framerate ~8750

too busy to check forums as regularly
pm me if i forget to respond

Last edited by qsxcv; 11-28-2018 at 11:42 PM.
qsxcv is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off