Custom PCBs for mice - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Custom PCBs for mice

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
-1nf1n1ty-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 93
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Custom PCBs for mice

How would I go about making (or purchasing) custom PCBs for mice? I have a Razer Viper coming in and it has a A2050 (Not sure if thats awesome or not) Anyways, just in case I should replace the insides, how would I go about making or purchasing a custom PCB with 3360 or 3989 (whatever its called) in the shape of the viper shell? Thanks everyone! Also first time making a thread on here.
-1nf1n1ty- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 09:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Rep: 29 (Unique: 25)
As for DIY PCB you just have to google for the tips on the process, like these:
. Though, you won't ever be able to make the traces as thin as those on the factory PCBs. I heard you could make double-sided PCBs, with a little bit more effort.
granitov is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 10:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kyube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 110
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Your best bet would be trying to find a somewhat compatible PCB from another mouse and just transplant it into the mouse with some modding, perhaps soldering as well. My recommendation is to look at Logitech mice, their 3366 is the best: G303, G102/G203/G305/G Pro PCB's on AliExpress, G502 etc.
Kyube is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 02:38 PM
bst
Hardware Rep
 
bst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 886
Rep: 91 (Unique: 50)
You can get PCBs made in China quite cheap, theres a few sites that can import them. But you will have to design the PCB, and solder on all of the components (you can use soldering paste for SMD components).

Overall, if you're starting from no knowledge, its quite difficult, or maybe very difficult. Depends how fast you can learn. But once you've got the process down, you could make all sorts of PCB sizes.

The easier thing to do is get a teensy, 3360 sensor from tindie, and connect it up to the existing PCB inside the mouse, after trimming off anything unnecessary (like the old sensor).

I made a guide for the IE Classic, if you look in the description of the video below, theres a link to a PDF which explains it step by step:

If you're determined to make PCBs, its probably a good idea to use the same design as the teensy and tindie 3360 PCBs (you can find their schematics online), then you can just use the same firmware from the IE classic. Otherwise you'd have to write your own firmware as well.
bst is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 09:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
-1nf1n1ty-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 93
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by bst View Post
You can get PCBs made in China quite cheap, theres a few sites that can import them. But you will have to design the PCB, and solder on all of the components (you can use soldering paste for SMD components).

Overall, if you're starting from no knowledge, its quite difficult, or maybe very difficult. Depends how fast you can learn. But once you've got the process down, you could make all sorts of PCB sizes.

The easier thing to do is get a teensy, 3360 sensor from tindie, and connect it up to the existing PCB inside the mouse, after trimming off anything unnecessary (like the old sensor).

I made a guide for the IE Classic, if you look in the description of the video below, theres a link to a PDF which explains it step by step: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nyb6M89QrWI

If you're determined to make PCBs, its probably a good idea to use the same design as the teensy and tindie 3360 PCBs (you can find their schematics online), then you can just use the same firmware from the IE classic. Otherwise you'd have to write your own firmware as well.
Hi! I actually did tutorial I talked to you on reddit about it, do you think a Viper would actually have room for the teensy and the tindie?

Quote: Originally Posted by Kyube View Post
Your best bet would be trying to find a somewhat compatible PCB from another mouse and just transplant it into the mouse with some modding, perhaps soldering as well. My recommendation is to look at Logitech mice, their 3366 is the best: G303, G102/G203/G305/G Pro PCB's on AliExpress, G502 etc.
I have been looking into this actually. don't wanna waste a g102. So before i jump the gun on doing that I am looking for other alternatives, i don't mind a 3310 sensor.

Last edited by -1nf1n1ty-; 03-05-2019 at 09:10 PM.
-1nf1n1ty- is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 02:45 AM
Clown cursor
 
m1hka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tambov, Russia
Posts: 303
Rep: 13 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by -1nf1n1ty- View Post
I have been looking into this actually. don't wanna waste a g102.
G102 pcb 10 bucks without scroll wheel though:
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...836998665.html

PEKA
(20 items)
CPU
i7-6700K @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 120GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 525GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Power Supply
Chieftec APS-650C
Cooling
Corsair H105 + Noctua NF-F12
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 Black
Monitor
BenQ XL2411T
Keyboard
Vortex Poker II
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mouse
Microsoft Pro IntelliMouse
Mouse
Logitech G900
Mousepad
Artisan FX HIEN XL black
Audio
ASUS Xonar U7
Audio
Sennheiser HD 558
Audio
HyperX Cloud Core
Audio
iPod Classic
▲ hide details ▲
m1hka is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
-1nf1n1ty-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 93
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by m1hka View Post
G102 pcb 10 bucks without scroll wheel though:
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...836998665.html
oh...holy ****.....yeah this should be perfect, thanks a ton! Now I am wondering if I have to drill a bigger hole in the viper


edit: yeah I will have to, g102 is center ish on the mouse while the viper is closer to the front

Last edited by -1nf1n1ty-; 03-06-2019 at 03:21 PM.
-1nf1n1ty- is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 01:35 PM
Beige Enthusiast
 
Rayndalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 71
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by bst View Post
The easier thing to do is get a teensy, 3360 sensor from tindie, and connect it up to the existing PCB inside the mouse, after trimming off anything unnecessary (like the old sensor).
This is what I did and it worked much better than I could have hoped.
It isn't perfect (its close, but my scroll wheel encoder could be more robustly mounted), but having so much freedom concerning sensor placement and reusing the existing button portion of the PCB makes for a thing that feels factory produced (or better if the original scroll wheel was an optical encoder and a click bar)
Rayndalf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off