Is my mouse broken? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Is my mouse broken?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
I took this profile pic
 
Thready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 3,886
Rep: 135 (Unique: 106)
Is my mouse broken?

Hi guys. I have a Razer Naga from 2014 and when I pick it up and put it back down, it takes 2 seconds for it to start moving again.

When I restart my computer it doesn't happen but if my computer has been on all day then it starts to happen. I don't know if it's my computer or the mouse.

Thanks.

Instagram @patrickmcguirkphotos & @mcguirk.patrick
Psychology grad student, computer hobbyist, self taught photographer
I'm really funny but I don't know when to stop.
I took my profile pic
Thready is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 02:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TranquilTempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,629
Rep: 77 (Unique: 62)
Maybe, but dust is a more likely issue.

TranquilTempest is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 07:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,167
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
I have a Razer abyssus and sometimes it does that too, like it's connection is broken...but I don't get a noise saying it's disconnected. And I have to move some certain way do get it back. It hasn't happened as much these past few months, IDK why. I have fixed part of this cable before, but again IDK for sure what does it, still happens once and a while.


I think I also had to pick it up off a surface, then put it back down, just moving it on the surface didn't seem to work

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 08:10 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,987
Rep: 587 (Unique: 489)
My mouse was doing that and when I checked the hole where the lasers beam out I noticed an accumulation of dust and hair.

I always said I never noticed a difference in mouse response on my 60Hz and 144Hz monitors when I moved my mouse until I cleaned that area with tweezers and man was there a difference afterwards.

That may not be a problem for you, however check. Since your mouse works properly after you reboot the computer, it may not be the mouse but something else with the OS/Bios? Check here:

https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-in...-hardware.html

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
Cigar ATX PC
(14 items)
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Open Water Loop
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Microsoft Sidewinder X5
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD 128GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640
Motherboard
ASRock N68C-GS
GPU
NVIDIA 6600GT
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue 500GB 16MB Cache 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Optical Drive
Power Supply
Thermaltake TR2 600W
Cooling
Thermaltake Max Orb
Case
Cigar Boxes
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
Viewsonic 19” Flatscreen CRT
Keyboard
Gigabyte GK-K6800 103
Mouse
Zalman ZM-M300
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance MM200
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Gunderman456; 05-15-2019 at 08:13 PM.
Gunderman456 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 03:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kommando Kodiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Tantiss outskirts, Wayland
Posts: 355
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Aside from what everyone else said it could be a dying cable, replacements are available on ebay as well as paracord cables from their respective makers (ceesa, paraflex). Were I you id get the naga trinity as it has a proper sensor.
Kommando Kodiak is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off