Not working ec2a - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Not working ec2a

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Not working ec2a

Hi,
I bought an unopened ec2a as defect for 4,- Euro. Just wanted to test the shape, and thought maybe I could get it working again. If not I could swap in the g403 pcb.


Here is what I checked:
- Cable is good, tried the original and a paracord I made with matching pin arrangement.
- internal usb connector is fine, no faulty solder joints, same for the 3310 sensor.

- looked for the 3310 datasheet und checked IO voltage (pin 7) and VDD (pin 10 + 11) both are at about 3,3V


The cpi indicator led lit up in red green and blue at the same time for maybe 1/10 sec when I plugged the mouse in. Then the mouse installed correctly in win7 but does nothing, no clicks, sensor, cpi button nothing is working.


Is there other things I can check? Does sb. know if the behaviour of the led could indicate whats wrong with the ec2a?


Thanks in advance!
motormensch is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Hi,
I fixed it.
For those who are interested or have a similar problem, it was a faulty 3310 sensor. I had a pcb with 3310 lying in a drawer because of a 3366 mod. With this "new" 3310 the ec2a is working perfectly again.


Here is a picture of the ec2a pcb with its new 3310 soldered in, and the faulty one lying in front of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF9967.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	1.42 MB
ID:	277782  

motormensch is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 09:56 AM
Not a Linux Lobbyist
 
the1freeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,106
Rep: 40 (Unique: 31)
Cool! Nice buy, thanks for sharing!

"a bad joint can't be that bad right?" -q
the1freeMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Thanks!


I did a another little mod. Since I use 800cpi, the scrollwheel is purple, i dont like that colour.
A way to fix it is to remove the led, or you can cut the red pin to get blue light on 800cpi.

But I wanted to keep lights enabled on all cpi steps, so I switched the red and green pin from the led.
Now its cyan on the 800cpi step.


400 -green, 800 - cyan, 1600 remains blue, 3200 red
motormensch is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off