G-Wolves Sköll LoD bug - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

G-Wolves Sköll LoD bug

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2019, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dontspamme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 577
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
G-Wolves Sköll LoD bug

I seem to have found a bug with this mouse.

I've set up everything in the G-Wolves software; DPI, buttons assigned, RGB etc. I set the LoD to "High".
Everything is working. But a few minutes later, the LoD defaults back to "Low".

It even happens when I have the software running - and in focus.

All the other settings remain as they have been set by me. But the LoD flips back to the lowest setting.
The software still is showing it as "High". But it isn't. I just have to refresh/change something in my profile, and it goes back to my desired high LoD... but only for a few minutes, where it then returns to the lowest setting.

This has rendered my Sköll useless to me, as I'm using the ceramic feet from Lexip, which are 1.2mm.
The mouse only tracks when I have the LoD working on highest LoD.

I'm using the firmware dated "20190924", taken from X-Raypad's website, as well as the latest software from the same place.



Anybody else having this issue?

How good/bad are G-Wolves at fixing their bugs?

I have a Hati in the mail from them, too. I'm fairly worried that the Hati will be a useless lump of plastic for me, as well, if the Hati has the same bug (and G-Wolves never get around to fix it)

dontspamme is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2019, 05:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
munchzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,893
Rep: 59 (Unique: 50)
it had some major issues when it first came out, but people notified them and it was promptly fixed.
it took a few weeks - so maybe you will have to wait. do contact them though, they seem to be good at responding.
munchzilla is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2019, 07:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 36 (Unique: 14)
Only thing I can suggest in the meantime is to try installing the previous revision firmware and driver, that is if you are currently on firmware 2.4. I can upload it for you if it's not available from G-Wolves.

EDIT: Actually I think the driver is still on 2.3 but the current firmware is 2.4. Pretty sure I have the earlier driver software saved, but I definitely have firmware 2.3 saved if you need it.

Here's the official support page: http://www.gm-wolves.com/app

Primary System Specs: Lian Li PC-O11 DX - ROG Maximus XI Formula - Watercooled Intel 9900k (4.9Ghz) - Watercooled RTX 2080 Ti FE - G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz CL16 32GB - Corsair RM1000i PSU - Samsung 970 EVO 2TB NVME SSD

Secondary System Specs: Fractal Design Define S2 - ROG Maximus X Code - Watercooled Intel 8700k (5Ghz) - Watercooled Strix GTX 1080Ti OC - G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz CL16 16GB - Seasonic X-1050W PSU - Intel 600P NVME SSD

Last edited by Zammin; 11-01-2019 at 07:53 PM.
Zammin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2019, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dontspamme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 577
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by munchzilla View Post
it had some major issues when it first came out, but people notified them and it was promptly fixed.
it took a few weeks - so maybe you will have to wait. do contact them though, they seem to be good at responding.
Who would I even contact, though?

I bought it on Amazon.

X-Raypads seem to be the only company that do any sort of communication regarding G Wolves mice.
But, like I said, I ordered from Amazon.

dontspamme is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2019, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dontspamme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 577
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
I definitely have firmware 2.3 saved if you need it.
]
That would be great, thanks!

Do you have the LoD bug, too btw?
Its quite simple to check for it.

dontspamme is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 12:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 36 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by dontspamme View Post
That would be great, thanks!

Do you have the LoD bug, too btw?
Its quite simple to check for it.
I've just tried changing my LOD to high and left it for around 15-20 minutes, it hasn't changed back to low. Here's the folder containing previous firmware: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_xj...ew?usp=sharing

Primary System Specs: Lian Li PC-O11 DX - ROG Maximus XI Formula - Watercooled Intel 9900k (4.9Ghz) - Watercooled RTX 2080 Ti FE - G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz CL16 32GB - Corsair RM1000i PSU - Samsung 970 EVO 2TB NVME SSD

Secondary System Specs: Fractal Design Define S2 - ROG Maximus X Code - Watercooled Intel 8700k (5Ghz) - Watercooled Strix GTX 1080Ti OC - G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz CL16 16GB - Seasonic X-1050W PSU - Intel 600P NVME SSD
Zammin is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 02:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
munchzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,893
Rep: 59 (Unique: 50)
Quote: Originally Posted by dontspamme View Post
Who would I even contact, though?

I bought it on Amazon.

X-Raypads seem to be the only company that do any sort of communication regarding G Wolves mice.
But, like I said, I ordered from Amazon.
yeah, I mean, asking for them to fix the issue - so you could go through their twitter or X-raypad.
it does seem like a fairly serious issue.
munchzilla is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dontspamme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 577
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
I've just tried changing my LOD to high and left it for around 15-20 minutes, it hasn't changed back to low. Here's the folder containing previous firmware: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_xj...ew?usp=sharing
Thanks.

The FW you kindly supplied, did actually fix the LoD issue for me........ but only until I reboot my PC.
Close! But no cigar. Uff!
What a weird bug.

I'm giving up on the Sköll.

Waiting for the Hati, which is in the mail.
If the Hati has the same LoD bug, I'm throwing myself off of a bridge.

dontspamme is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dontspamme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 577
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by munchzilla View Post
yeah, I mean, asking for them to fix the issue - so you could go through their twitter or X-raypad.
it does seem like a fairly serious issue.
Yes.

But I'm giving up on the Sköll, for now. If the Hati has the same bug, I will surely contact them.

dontspamme is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 08:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 36 (Unique: 14)
If you bought the Skoll through amazon you should be able to return for either a refund or replacement. That's what I would do in this case.

I have the Hati and while I haven't used it much, it has some build quality issues. The shell is kinda flimsy and the the main buttons had an atrocious amount of vertical freeplay in them that I had to open the mouse up to fix. Couldn't return/replace because I bought from X-Raypad.

Primary System Specs: Lian Li PC-O11 DX - ROG Maximus XI Formula - Watercooled Intel 9900k (4.9Ghz) - Watercooled RTX 2080 Ti FE - G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz CL16 32GB - Corsair RM1000i PSU - Samsung 970 EVO 2TB NVME SSD

Secondary System Specs: Fractal Design Define S2 - ROG Maximus X Code - Watercooled Intel 8700k (5Ghz) - Watercooled Strix GTX 1080Ti OC - G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz CL16 16GB - Seasonic X-1050W PSU - Intel 600P NVME SSD
Zammin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off