Electrical issue causing input de-synchronization or input loss - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Electrical issue causing input de-synchronization or input loss

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Timecard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 491
Rep: 32 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Diffident View Post
Did you take the panel cover off and place a clamp meter around the wire at the breaker to check for load?
What's the voltage, neutral to hot under load? Is there a voltage drop compared to no load?
What happens when you don't use the UPS?
How many times did you power down and test again? Could it have been a one time fluke?
And my other question, if every thing is fine in your office, what possessed you to plug your system into an outlet in the hallway?

1. Haven't investigated in the circuit breaker itself, I'm wondering if there's a loose connection either there or path to for both.
2. Voltage as per my original thread post is currently 117v, usually 115v-120v during the week/time of day which is acceptable as per code.
3. This happened before the UPS, without UPS and using other decent ($80-100) power bars.
4. Never powered down, UPS kept it online. Repeated 3 times now, back and forth, always better on this office circuit.
5. I've been trying to diagnose this for a while. I do get spikes of lag on this good circuit too but it seems about 70 good / 30 bad, nothing in Windows has given clues and I have no electrical engineering background so trying to isolate cause by trying different things.


I just noticed something really interesting that I've been exploring today but I don't fully understand it, if I use my multimeter and set it to Hz (frequency) I get notably high numbers probing ground to neutral.

In my office if I get around 200hz as indicated above (ground to neutral) then I get occasional hitching on display and delay ingames, desktop. If it's around 100-150 then it feels fast and responsive, I tested this when lag increased and that was my observations.

Interestingly my hallway without my UPS on it has 0.002v load ground to neutral, and 60hz frequency ground to neutral but with UPS it's getting 2.2Khz (2200hz) which sounds crazy, to me this screams loose neutral connection or possibly the opposite office has loose and the hallway doesn't.

Last edited by Timecard; 03-29-2020 at 02:58 PM.
Timecard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 02:50 PM
LTSC for life crew
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,669
Rep: 156 (Unique: 107)
Quote: Originally Posted by looniam View Post
great minds and all . .
I am very humbled you would say that. You made my day in the best way possible.

CPU
Ryzen 1600 AF
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI R9 390 8GB
RAM
16GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 (2017)
Cooling
Thermalright True Spirit 140
Case
Fractal Define S
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSC
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #23 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 03:03 PM
BOINC Cruncher
 
Diffident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bawlmer, MD
Posts: 1,784
Rep: 110 (Unique: 72)
Quote: Originally Posted by Timecard View Post
1. Haven't investigated in the circuit breaker itself, I'm wondering if there's a loose connection either there or path to for both.
2. Voltage as per my original thread post is currently 117v, usually 115v-120v during the week/time of day which is acceptable as per code.
3. This happened before the UPS, without UPS and using other decent ($80-100) power bars.
4. Never powered down, UPS kept it online. Repeated 3 times now, back and forth, always better on this office circuit.
5. I've been trying to diagnose this for a while I get spikes of lag on this circuit, but it seems about 70 good / 30 bad, nothing in Windows has given clues and I have no electrical engineering background so trying to isolate cause by trying different things.


I just noticed something really interesting that I've been exploring today but I don't fully understand it, if I use my multimeter and set it to Hz (frequency) I get notably high numbers probing ground to neutral.

In my office if I get around 200hz as indicated above (ground to neutral) then I get occasional hitching on display and delay ingames, desktop. If it's around 100-150 then it feels fast and responsive, I tested this when lag increased and that was my observations.

Interestingly my hallway without my UPS on it has 0.002v load ground to neutral, and 60hz frequency ground to neutral but with UPS it's getting 2.2Khz (2200hz) which sounds crazy, to me this screams loose neutral connection.

If you didn't take off the panel cover, then you didn't properly check for load on the circuit. Load is checked at the source with a clamp meter. For voltage, you said 117v ground to hot. What is it hot to neutral, under load and without load?


If you pull out the outlet, did they wrap the wire around the screw (preferred method) or did they stab it in the back like lazy "shackers".

Team Boinc! - Forum Folding War Team
Gentoo Linux - Telemetry Free Since 1999!
Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Champions
Boinc Desktop
(15 items)
CrunchAholic
(10 items)
NAS
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
HyperX Predator
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVOPlus
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV PRO AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream XE 240 Radiator
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE 360 Radiator
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller 150mm Tube Res
Case
Thermaltake View 31 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Keyboard
Coolermaster Masterkeys Pro S
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2670
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard
Asrock Rack EP2C602
GPU
EVGA 1070ti FTW
GPU
EVGA 1070ti FTW
RAM
64 GBs Samsung M939B1K70CHD-CH9 PC3-10600R
Hard Drive
Samsung HD322HJ
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Case
Rosewill RSV-L4000
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
CPU
i3-4130T
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H97N-WIFI
RAM
CORSAIR CMX16GX3M2A1600C11
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 10 TB x3
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 8 TB
Case
Fractal Design Node 804
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
▲ hide details ▲


Diffident is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Timecard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 491
Rep: 32 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Diffident View Post
If you didn't take off the panel cover, then you didn't properly check for load on the circuit. Load is checked at the source with a clamp meter. For voltage, you said 117v ground to hot. What is it hot to neutral, under load and without load?
If you pull out the outlet, did they wrap the wire around the screw (preferred method) or did they stab it in the back like lazy "shackers".
Thanks

1. I don't own a clamp meter but I can look into that.
2. I have tested the plugs with plug tester and they pass that test.
3.
Office: Hot to neutral is slightly less (118.2) than ground to neutral (118.6) under current load (pc, monitor, router)
Hallway: Hot to neutral is slightly less (117.0) than ground to neutral (117.5) under current load (pc, monitor, router) * similar difference between both, slight variation in V between tests but that should change with other load in the house?
4. I can take apart the outlets to confirm, from what I've seen in this house in the past 10 years is they have used screw caps if anything is joined but not sure about the outlet screw itself that holds the 3 wires.
Timecard is offline  
post #25 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 03:39 PM
BOINC Cruncher
 
Diffident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bawlmer, MD
Posts: 1,784
Rep: 110 (Unique: 72)
Quote: Originally Posted by Timecard View Post
Thanks

1. I don't own a clamp meter but I can look into that.
2. I have tested the plugs with plug tester and they pass that test.
3.
Office: Hot to neutral is slightly less (118.2) than ground to neutral (118.6) under current load (pc, monitor, router)
Hallway: Hot to neutral is slightly less (117.0) than ground to neutral (117.5) under current load (pc, monitor, router) * similar difference between both, slight variation in V between tests but that should change with other load in the house?
4. I can take apart the outlets to confirm, from what I've seen in this house in the past 10 years is they have used screw caps if anything is joined but not sure about the outlet screw itself that holds the 3 wires.

The difference in voltage between the 2 outlets could be because they are on different phases with different incoming voltages from the power company or the hallway circuit has a longer wire run creating voltage drop. But so far there isn't anything out of the ordinary.
The screw caps are called wirenuts, which are standard.

Team Boinc! - Forum Folding War Team
Gentoo Linux - Telemetry Free Since 1999!
Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Champions
Boinc Desktop
(15 items)
CrunchAholic
(10 items)
NAS
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
HyperX Predator
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVOPlus
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV PRO AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream XE 240 Radiator
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE 360 Radiator
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller 150mm Tube Res
Case
Thermaltake View 31 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Keyboard
Coolermaster Masterkeys Pro S
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2670
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard
Asrock Rack EP2C602
GPU
EVGA 1070ti FTW
GPU
EVGA 1070ti FTW
RAM
64 GBs Samsung M939B1K70CHD-CH9 PC3-10600R
Hard Drive
Samsung HD322HJ
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Case
Rosewill RSV-L4000
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
CPU
i3-4130T
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H97N-WIFI
RAM
CORSAIR CMX16GX3M2A1600C11
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 10 TB x3
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 8 TB
Case
Fractal Design Node 804
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
▲ hide details ▲


Diffident is offline  
post #26 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 03:44 PM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 8,456
Rep: 521 (Unique: 240)
Ok, I've watched both videos as attentively as I can at 0.12x speed 30 FPS, and I think I am seeing a slight added delay on the 2nd video. I'd like more people to check and confirm what I am seeing because I can be wrong. But it does look like it to me.

Now, in relation to the issues other users are experiencing: if you could find a solution so easily, when others couldn't after various attempts, it still could be the case, just as easily, that it is placebo. OP has the data and footage to prove it, but we haven't seen the same from others.

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
GPU
Gigabyte 2070 Super Windforce OC
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Vortex Race 3 RGB
Mouse
Glorious Model O- Glossy
Mousepad
SteelSeries QcK+
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (Dekoni pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
post #27 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Timecard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 491
Rep: 32 (Unique: 20)
Thanks everyone so far who has taken the time for good criticism and support. I can try and provide other video evidence if you think it will be more conclusive, I don't have 1000fps camera so currently limited there. I can get 1000fps in this game if that may benefit.
Timecard is offline  
post #28 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 05:18 PM
OCN is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,490
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
"Accuracy and timing feels significantly de-synchronized."

How is this any different from the other thread? I'm looking at the OP, but I'm not finding links to the 240 FPS videos. Though 500+ FPS videos would be ideal.

If a bunch of words is now "good documentation," I guess science won't save us in the end.
Imagine if people spent that effort into playing the game instead of looking for crutches.
Melan is online now  
post #29 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 06:07 PM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,491
Rep: 737 (Unique: 388)
Quote: Originally Posted by Diffident View Post
The difference in voltage between the 2 outlets could be because they are on different phases with different incoming voltages from the power company or the hallway circuit has a longer wire run creating voltage drop. But so far there isn't anything out of the ordinary.
The screw caps are called wirenuts, which are standard.
these are the hard hitting facts we need!

I'm pretty sure they've always been wirethings up until now, so I appreciate this. I've finally found something beneficial to self in one of these threads.

though, i never did get around to testing my mouse input curve. been meaning to do that for at least 10 years now.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #30 of 437 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Timecard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 491
Rep: 32 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Melan View Post
Imagine if people spent that effort into playing the game instead of looking for crutches.
I assume this is directed towards me, hello. I've been playing fps for roughly 15 years, 6 of which were competitive in multiple leagues both at medium and higher levels, and played about 12 lans in those 6 years my teams usually placing top 3. I've had this issue off and on throughout that time, I don't play competitively now but I'm trying to better understand what causes this.

When you have this problem your muscle memory isn't as sharp and depending 'when' you practice you're either practicing with the latency or without so when you cross that boundary and actually join a game you won't be as consistent. Although you can still get decent results through practice as you said and I completely agree, practice is a key component of consistency in anything you do. When the issue isn't present, the game becomes almost effortless because you don't have to spend the mental effort for compensating for varying timings of your input and instead focus on your surroundings and team play.

Not sure if you've played a lan or gone to your friends place and your sensitivity and game feels different than your home other variables aside (desk/chair etc), that's just the kind of the thing we're talking about here subtle or significant changes in your experience that impact your gameplay and prior preparation.

Feel free to give further constructive criticism.

Last edited by Timecard; 03-29-2020 at 06:55 PM.
Timecard is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off