Does anyone actually run their mouse at 5000+ DPI? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Does anyone actually run their mouse at 5000+ DPI?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
48" Mousepad Extremist
 
AMW1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 70 (Unique: 67)
Hey, I was just wondering, is there anyone here that actually runs their mouse that high? I'm using a 1600 DPI mouse and looking to replace it with a 6000 DPI mouse (Kone+). I just can't imagine using the full 6000 DPI or anything over 3000-4000 DPI. However, since I haven't tried anything over 2400 DPI (which was noticeable over my 1600 DPI), I was wondering if there was anyone who actually uses such high sensitivity.

CPU
Celeron G4900
Motherboard
Asrock z370 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 980 Ti
RAM
Team Dark 3200 MHz CL14 16GB
Hard Drive
2x Crucial MX500 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300w G2
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Audio
Audio-GD NFB1.28 DAC -> Dragon Inspire IHA-1 amp -> ZMF Eikon
▲ hide details ▲
AMW1011 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 12:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,746
Rep: 276 (Unique: 231)
When I'm playing BC2 and I'm in a tank or APC, I will crank my G500 up to 3200. Normally I'm only at 1000-1200 for every class but recon (800).

Sandy Beach
(13 items)
CPU
2500K @ 4.5GHz/1.32v
Motherboard
P8P67-PRO [BIOS 1704]
GPU
MSI GTX780 TFIV
RAM
G.Skill 4x4GB DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24-1T)
Hard Drive
512GB 850EVO, WD Black 1TB & ES.2 1TB & Cuda 3TB
Power Supply
SilverStone Strider Plus 750W [Sleeved]
Cooling
XSPC Rasa w/ RS240
Case
Custom Stacker 832
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Dell SX2210
Keyboard
Filco Ninja w/ Browns
Mouse
Logitech G500
Mouse
Steelseries 4HD
▲ hide details ▲
kidwolf909 is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 12:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zdogg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 60
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Yup! for BC2 tanks I use my G500 @ 5700DPI!! (or whatever is max on the mouse)

Zdogg7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
48" Mousepad Extremist
 
AMW1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 70 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidwolf909 View Post
When I'm playing BC2 and I'm in a tank or APC, I will crank my G500 up to 3200. Normally I'm only at 1000-1200 for every class but recon (800).
I don't think I have much problem with 1600 DPI and sniping, maybe I should try that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zdogg7 View Post
Yup! for BC2 tanks I use my G500 @ 5700DPI!! (or whatever is max on the mouse)
You mean when your in a tank? Does that actually speed up the barrel movement?

CPU
Celeron G4900
Motherboard
Asrock z370 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 980 Ti
RAM
Team Dark 3200 MHz CL14 16GB
Hard Drive
2x Crucial MX500 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300w G2
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Audio
Audio-GD NFB1.28 DAC -> Dragon Inspire IHA-1 amp -> ZMF Eikon
▲ hide details ▲
AMW1011 is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 12:29 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
losttsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 7,702
Rep: 607 (Unique: 529)
My mouse's max is 1800DPI, but I wish I could shave it to about 1500. Can't imagine 5000+ for normal FPS running around. You'd have to have nerves of steel and a very steady hand. I've been looking for something with higher DPI I can switch to on the fly, just for the reason kidwolf909 says, shooting from tanks mainly. I was going to try the Mionix Naos 3200, but they sold out of them at Newegg. May look elsewhere for it.

http://files.overclock.net/images/sm...lame-small.gifOCN Water Cooling Clubhttp://files.overclock.net/images/sm...lame-small.gif
Corsair Carbide Series Owners Club
Low Tide
(12 items)
CPU
i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA GTX 670 FTW
RAM
8GB G. Skill 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850W V1
Cooling
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. C
Case
Corsair Carbide 300R
Operating System
Windows X
Monitor
Samsung T240HD
Keyboard
Ducky DK9008G2 Red
Audio
X-Fi XtremeGamer
▲ hide details ▲
losttsol is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 12:33 PM
Retired Staff
 
Greensystemsgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 4,083
Rep: 192 (Unique: 172)
one buddy had is maxed all the time, whatever that is on an mx518

another had it maxed for cs:s, BUT had the sensitivity super low in it, so it equaled out?



Greensystemsgo is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
48" Mousepad Extremist
 
AMW1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 70 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greensystemsgo View Post
one buddy had is maxed all the time, whatever that is on an mx518

another had it maxed for cs:s, BUT had the sensitivity super low in it, so it equaled out?
Its an old trick with PC gaming. Turn the game sensitivity as low as possible and jack your mouse sensitivity up in windows. It's supposed to make you more accurate I guess.

CPU
Celeron G4900
Motherboard
Asrock z370 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 980 Ti
RAM
Team Dark 3200 MHz CL14 16GB
Hard Drive
2x Crucial MX500 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300w G2
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Audio
Audio-GD NFB1.28 DAC -> Dragon Inspire IHA-1 amp -> ZMF Eikon
▲ hide details ▲
AMW1011 is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 01:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bojinglebells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,583
Rep: 60 (Unique: 52)
Turning DPI up can be helpful in a game like BC2 to speed up the otherwise dreadfully slow turret movements. However there is a cap to how fast the turrets can spin, and this cap is easily met at 5000+ DPI assuming the in-game mouse sensitivity isn't set ridiculously low. I stopped seeing dividends in cranking up DPI for turret movement right around around 3000+.

That being said, its possible to actually mod/tweak/script games like BC2 to where the different sensitivities can be adjusted for you so that changing DPI won't be necessary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMW1011 View Post
Its an old trick with PC gaming. Turn the game sensitivity as low as possible and jack your mouse sensitivity up in windows. It's supposed to make you more accurate I guess.
unless you're talking about mouse DPI... but turning up windows sensitivity is a terrible idea and is much less accurate and should only ever be considered if you have a super old mouse that is way too slow for basic desktop functionality

bojinglebells is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
48" Mousepad Extremist
 
AMW1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 70 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojinglebells View Post
unless you're talking about mouse DPI... but turning up windows sensitivity is a terrible idea and is much less accurate and should only ever be considered if you have a super old mouse that is way too slow for basic desktop functionality
Yeah I was referring to the DPI. I'm not sure how much it works, but you always hear about it from FPS gamers.

CPU
Celeron G4900
Motherboard
Asrock z370 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 980 Ti
RAM
Team Dark 3200 MHz CL14 16GB
Hard Drive
2x Crucial MX500 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300w G2
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Audio
Audio-GD NFB1.28 DAC -> Dragon Inspire IHA-1 amp -> ZMF Eikon
▲ hide details ▲
AMW1011 is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 07:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheRockMonsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,041
Rep: 113 (Unique: 85)
I have a G9x, and I have it maxed at 5000 something all the time, I just set real low sensitivities. If you're wondering why I do that, it has nothing to do with the idea of it possibly making me more accurate, but everything to do with the fact that I spent a lot of money on this, so I might as well get my money's worth. LOL.
TheRockMonsi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off