need help with tplink power-line adapters disconnected issue - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

need help with tplink power-line adapters disconnected issue

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
need help with tplink power-line adapters disconnected issue

hi peoples.

need help with this annoying problem i am having with a pair of power line adapters.
for some unknown reason that i cant figure out the power line adapter will just disconnect itself for the router. ( you end up with a yellow triangle on the network logo next to the clock )
if i turn the power line adapter off and on again from the wall it will reconnect just fine and work for a while and then just disconnect again.

do you have any ideas on this?

it is plugged in to the wall not a surge protector.

the model of the thing is TL-PA4010 KIT.
nigel1342 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:00 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,736
Rep: 1097 (Unique: 634)
are they on the same circuit?

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:05 AM
Tokyo the defiler
 
emeianoite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: lawlz
Posts: 805
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
no idea, call tplink, another reason why I would avoid powerline, another reason I dont regret running ethernet in my walls.


Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
are they on the same circuit?
Isn't this the most critical part of the configuration? LOL

Babies are just something you have to not make die...



emeianoite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
yea they are on the same circuit. they have to be to work lol
nigel1342 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
i know wish could do that in my house but since i rent the place i cant
nigel1342 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:23 AM
Vandelay Industries
 
maltamonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: US/UK
Posts: 1,479
Rep: 78 (Unique: 59)
Major appliances can interrupt powerline networks. Is you Fridge on the same circuit?
maltamonk is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
yea its all the one same circuit. nothing much i can do about it.
we have a ring main and everything in the house is connected to it.

this is in the UK

if you don't know how this can be fixed don't worry about it just though id ask.
nigel1342 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:33 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,736
Rep: 1097 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by emeianoite View Post
no idea, call tplink, another reason why I would avoid powerline, another reason I dont regret running ethernet in my walls.




Isn't this the most critical part of the configuration? LOL


Quote: Originally Posted by nigel1342 View Post
yea they are on the same circuit. they have to be to work lol


no, they don't need to be on the same circuit. I use power line adapters in my bedroom for my TV and they're on separate circuits and it works fine.

https://www.makeuseof.com/answers/po...cuit-breakers/

https://forums.tomshardware.com/thre...eaker.3237068/

a lot of powerline adapters don't work properly if they're on separate circuits, so if you plug a power line adapter into two outlets and it works and you think "okay, these are on the same circuit" then that's not true and that can be your problem.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
yea it just seem odd because i don't have a problem with download speed, oh well. ill have to find another way. thanks for the info anyways
nigel1342 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off