Air compressor to clean PC? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Air compressor to clean PC?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 05:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dmbjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: west Michigan
Posts: 877
Rep: 41 (Unique: 40)
you can always get a pressure regulator and water trap for an air compressor.....which if you spray paint ever you'd probably already own anyway.

works great for me.

Peace!
John
"I only know a snowflake cannot exist in a storm of fire."
MICHIGAN OVERCLOCKERS
dmbjohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 05:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
saiyanzzrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Long Island/NYC
Posts: 2,322
Rep: 56 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bellagiofan;13404776 
So you know my girlfriend? thumbsupsmiley.png

ROFLMAO, this my friend, is the definition of sig-worthy


“I am what was, what is, what will be — the black angel, Chaos-Bringer! I AM POWER!” Dark Phoenix, Uncanny X-Men #136
saiyanzzrage is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 05:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney-Australia
Posts: 2,904
Rep: 159 (Unique: 147)
Yes it's fine. Just run the thing for like 2 minutes to make sure theres no moisture droplets in the tank.
SpeedNuggeT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 05:38 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,919
Another vote on the Metro Vac. One of the better investments for cleaning you'll ever make. thumb.gif

Big Air Compressor Users:
Be careful using those things. Make sure you drain the tank before you use it on a machine (to make sure there's no water). There's a drain plug on every air compressor I've ever used. And then, you should also be able to limit the pressure output. I personally use around 60-75 PSI at most for computer hardware. Any more, and it runs the risk of blowing parts off the board. eek.gif

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BayMax
(10 items)
FanzGoBrrr
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.65GHz, 1.45v (105.68x44)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1425 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1690, 9-9-9-24-1T, 1.66v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0 (400GB)
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
Seasonic M12II Evo 520w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2608L v3 x2
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DRL-I
GPU
Onboard
RAM
16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 ECC / Registered
Hard Drive
Crucial BX500 120GB
Hard Drive
40TB FreeNAS Array
Power Supply
CoolerMaster MasterWatt 750w
Cooling
Arctic Cooling 92mm Tower x2
Case
P Link USA 20 Hotswap Bay 4u Chassis
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2683 v4 16 core x2
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DRL-I
RAM
16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 ECC / Registered
Hard Drive
120GB Crucial BX500
Hard Drive
1TB Crucial BX500
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 7200RPM x2 (RAID 1)
Power Supply
CoolerMaster Masterwatt 750w
Cooling
Arctic Cooling 92mm Tower x2
Case
P Link USA EATX Locking Front 4u Chassis
Operating System
Windows 10 + VMWare
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 05:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fishhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Superior WI
Posts: 1,330
Rep: 57 (Unique: 52)
Yes the regulators work to apoint-but if you do own one and have painted cars-harleys and trucks for 30 years you now there is always a chance of moisture coming through. Yes you can use one-but it is never %100 safe-a burst my come through at any time. Ya i do know for a fact-brother owns harley shop other bro owns auto motive shop-, plus cutom painting.
fishhawk is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-08-2011, 07:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TowelieTowel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 79
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I just open my case and stick a vvacuum cleaner in there to suck up all the dust.

TowelieTowel is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-10-2013, 11:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hayabura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
thank you

air compressor
hayabura is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-27-2013, 01:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
burdebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I've often used a pancake compressor (like contractors often use) to clean out my computer and it did work. However, I would recommend limiting the pressure because I have had fan blades break off before. I can't be certain if it was due specifically to using too much pressure or the fans were just old and cheap. The last time I cleaned my computer I just used an old toothbrush, a qtip, and my own breath. Pulling fans and cleaning them manually is the best way to ensure you don't damage anything.
burdebc is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-28-2013, 10:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
attca2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
attca2k is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 06:40 PM
Hardware veteran
 
burning_ac1d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
buying an air compressor will be cheaper than buying can after can after can.

Im not sure how strong it should be.
how much capacity (l/m) and how much max pressure (bar) should be fine ?

im thinking in getting this: (sorry its in swedish, just look at the details and numbers)
http://biltema.se/sv/Verktyg/Trycklu...pressor-15195/ Batteridriven kompressor
or this:
http://www.clasohlson.com/se/Kompres...24/Pr408310000 Kompressor Cocraft 24

will buy a filter too to be safe from condensation.

anyone using one of this?

Last edited by burning_ac1d; 08-22-2019 at 09:59 PM.
burning_ac1d is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off