[Kitguru] Intel’s 10nm launch may be impacted by chipset issues - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Kitguru] Intel’s 10nm launch may be impacted by chipset issues

 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2019, 09:15 AM
Overclocker
JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about JackCY has a spectacular aura about
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,557
PCIe 4 is higher bandwidth and with that come stricter design rules for everything. While you may think a copper interconnect is just a copper interconnect, it is not, it has resistance, capacity, inductance, it affects things around it and other connects around it, designing high frequency and high bandwidth interconnects is not as simple, route it where ever you want on a mobo LOL. Why does Intel struggle with chipset design... don't know, they struggle with everything nowadays.
JackCY is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2019, 10:34 AM
@ASUS
Silent Scone is on a distinguished road Silent Scone is on a distinguished road Silent Scone is on a distinguished road Silent Scone is on a distinguished road Silent Scone is on a distinguished road
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,312
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
PCIe 4 is higher bandwidth and with that come stricter design rules for everything. While you may think a copper interconnect is just a copper interconnect, it is not, it has resistance, capacity, inductance, it affects things around it and other connects around it, designing high frequency and high bandwidth interconnects is not as simple, route it where ever you want on a mobo LOL. Why does Intel struggle with chipset design... don't know, they struggle with everything nowadays.
Whilst resistance is a factor most recent boards should be able to pass validation. The transceivers are on the CPU and GPU...
Silent Scone is offline  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
pgdeaner Level 1
 
pgdeaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 665
Thanks!

Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
PCIe 4 is higher bandwidth and with that come stricter design rules for everything. While you may think a copper interconnect is just a copper interconnect, it is not, it has resistance, capacity, inductance, it affects things around it and other connects around it, designing high frequency and high bandwidth interconnects is not as simple, route it where ever you want on a mobo LOL. Why does Intel struggle with chipset design... don't know, they struggle with everything nowadays.
Thank you for bringing some technical savvy to this conversation.

I think Intel is struggling with bandwidth. There is so much demand in their high end market that they have less development resources and production capacity for desktop. They just invested 15 billion in Q3 2018 to increase production capacity. They probably should have done this sooner but I'm guessing the demand increase was not anticipated or their issues with leadership caused a delay in reaction. Hopefully they will find someone to take the helm that can get them back on track and give some focus back to desktop.

For everyone out there predicting Intel's demise at the hand of AMD, I don't think I'll live to see that day. Here is the simplified CFSR for Q3 from Intel.

https://www.intc.com/investor-relati...s/default.aspx

Here is a great article from Bloomberg that supports the current management crisis at Intel.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/artic...-ousted-rivals

“Who you are is defined by what you’re willing to struggle for.”― Mark Manson
Nuka Cola
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by pgdeaner; 01-23-2019 at 11:19 AM. Reason: Added reference.
pgdeaner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2019, 11:27 AM
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about
 
Alex132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,204
Quote: Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
Of course it will they have to find a way to reduce the pcie lanes you'll get then make a cover story to why you will only get 8x or 4x pcie 4.0 lanes and crippled 3.0

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
.... what?



Quote: Originally Posted by Hwgeek View Post
So Intel is struggling to implement PCI-E Gen4 while AMD users can just enable it on older M-board with Bios Update? LMAO :-).
You'll still need Zen 2.


Quote: Originally Posted by m4fox90 View Post
We're just about at the point where they're "inteLOL," aren't we?
Quote: Originally Posted by Hwgeek View Post
If it's not "Greed"- then the other reason should be "Poor socket design" since Intel knew all the processor line up since 6700K and they could make Z170/Z270 compatible, so if somehow Z270 could not support i3 8100 cpu with same pin count- it's very poor planing by Intel engineers.

Pick the reason you like :-).

Haha yes, Intel BAD. AMD GOOD.




Quote: Originally Posted by pgdeaner View Post
Thank you for bringing some technical savvy to this conversation.

I think Intel is struggling with bandwidth. There is so much demand in their high end market that they have less development resources and production capacity for desktop. They just invested 15 billion in Q3 2018 to increase production capacity. They probably should have done this sooner but I'm guessing the demand increase was not anticipated or their issues with leadership caused a delay in reaction. Hopefully they will find someone to take the helm that can get them back on track and give some focus back to desktop.

For everyone out there predicting Intel's demise at the hand of AMD, I don't think I'll live to see that day. Here is the simplified CFSR for Q3 from Intel.

https://www.intc.com/investor-relati...s/default.aspx
Thanks for some sanity.




While I know some people love jumping to conclusions from reading a title someone else has written on a site; one thing should be clear - there really are no easy answers and Intel isn't struggling because <haha SHINTELL bad> or <they got so fat and happy and now they're spooked AMD has something good>. They're struggling because it's bloody hard to implement. And I'd have it a guess it's probably due to trying to create a monolithic design that is scalable across all their requirements that is better in every metric to their CL counter-parts.

| This Cannot Continue | We Are Become As Gods | This Cannot Continue |

Vehicles:
Current: None.
Ex: '07 Fiat Palio, '07 Honda Accord Type-S
Yuki
(19 items)
CPU
Intel 2500K 5Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 Pro
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill RipJaws X 2133Mhz 16GB
Hard Drive
240GB Corsair Neutron GTX RAID0
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
EVGA G3 850W
Cooling
Hyper 212
Cooling
EK Vardar fans
Case
Corsair 270R w/TG mod
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Dell u2713hm
Monitor
1200p TN
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow 2013
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mouse
CoolerMaster Swift-RX XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Audio
Schiit Jotunheim Balanced DAC + Amp
▲ hide details ▲


Alex132 is offline  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
Shadowarez Level 1
 
Shadowarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,788
Just know. Intel will eff this up and end up making consumers pay top dollar for datacentre scraps they hodgepodge together. Like they have been past 3-5 generation of CPUs. Look at Optane its a joke and a bad one.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

Shadowarez is offline  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:42 AM
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about
 
Alex132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,204
Quote: Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
Just know. Intel will eff this up and end up making consumers pay top dollar for datacentre scraps they hodgepodge together.
What makes you say that beyond "INTEL BAD!"?


Quote: Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
Like they have been past 3-5 generation of CPUs. Look at Optane its a joke and a bad one.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
But Optane is great for its use-case?

| This Cannot Continue | We Are Become As Gods | This Cannot Continue |

Vehicles:
Current: None.
Ex: '07 Fiat Palio, '07 Honda Accord Type-S
Yuki
(19 items)
CPU
Intel 2500K 5Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 Pro
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill RipJaws X 2133Mhz 16GB
Hard Drive
240GB Corsair Neutron GTX RAID0
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
EVGA G3 850W
Cooling
Hyper 212
Cooling
EK Vardar fans
Case
Corsair 270R w/TG mod
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Dell u2713hm
Monitor
1200p TN
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow 2013
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mouse
CoolerMaster Swift-RX XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Audio
Schiit Jotunheim Balanced DAC + Amp
▲ hide details ▲


Alex132 is offline  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
pgdeaner Level 1
 
pgdeaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 665
Quote: Originally Posted by elina08 View Post
"We spoke with AMD representatives, who confirmed that 300- and 400-series AM4 motherboards can support PCIe 4.0. AMD will not lock the out feature, instead it will be up to motherboard vendors to validate and qualify the faster standard on its motherboards on a case-by-case basis. Motherboard vendors that do support the feature will enable it through BIOS updates, but those updates will come at the discretion of the vendor. As mentioned below, support could be limited to slots based upon board, switch, and mux layouts."
If you translate that from marketing speak it says "Neither the CPU nor the chipset will limit PCI 4.0 compatibility but rather the implementation of the individual motherboard vendors."

How much effort do you think Asus or others will put in to updating existing boards for PCI 4.0? If I was a betting man I'd say very little but it will be interesting to see.

“Who you are is defined by what you’re willing to struggle for.”― Mark Manson
Nuka Cola
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
pgdeaner is offline  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
Shadowarez Level 1
 
Shadowarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,788
It's not 10000x faster then nand or dense or cost effective

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

Shadowarez is offline  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:50 AM
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about Alex132 has a spectacular aura about
 
Alex132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,204
Quote: Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
It's not 10000x faster then nand or dense or cost effective

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
It's not for consumers neither

| This Cannot Continue | We Are Become As Gods | This Cannot Continue |

Vehicles:
Current: None.
Ex: '07 Fiat Palio, '07 Honda Accord Type-S
Yuki
(19 items)
CPU
Intel 2500K 5Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 Pro
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill RipJaws X 2133Mhz 16GB
Hard Drive
240GB Corsair Neutron GTX RAID0
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
EVGA G3 850W
Cooling
Hyper 212
Cooling
EK Vardar fans
Case
Corsair 270R w/TG mod
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Dell u2713hm
Monitor
1200p TN
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow 2013
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mouse
CoolerMaster Swift-RX XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Audio
Schiit Jotunheim Balanced DAC + Amp
▲ hide details ▲


Alex132 is offline  
Old 01-23-2019, 12:01 PM
7nm Radeon Version Eleven
CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about CynicalUnicorn has a spectacular aura about
 
CynicalUnicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Extra-west Virginia
Posts: 9,068
Quote: Originally Posted by Defoler View Post
That doesn't necessarily mean you can magically enable PCIE 4.0 on a PCIE 3.0 motherboard.
It means that the ryzen will be backward compatible, aka, you can put a ryzen that is PCIE 4.0, on a PCIE 3.0 motherboard, and it will work.
It doesn't mean the motherboard will turn into a PCIE 4.0 one.
Nah, they actually can through a firmware update. PCIe 4.0 runs at twice the clockrate of PCIe 3.0, but I do not believe there are many other changes in the signal. Over a short enough distance, there's a chance that a PCIe 4.0 signal can be sent through a motherboard designed for PCIe 3.0 if its tolerances are tight enough. Existing 300- and 400-series motherboards from AMD should be able to upgrade the primary PCIe x16 slot provided it is within a certain distance of the CPU socket. This will need to be validated by the vendor, but I'm betting that a lot of existing motherboards will handle it fine.

It could also cause BSODs if a vendor enables it when it doesn't work with the motherboard.

It's not very different from using a stockpile of CAT5 cable to run a 10 gigabit line. It'll have to be a short run, it's not technically within spec, but it'll work.


Quote: Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
Amd should partner with micron make there own Optane that isn't compatible with Intel boards now. Thatd be nice.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
Optane works just fine on AMD boards. Optane is nothing more than a brand of NVMe SSDs that use a kind of memory that isn't flash. There's nothing special about them per se.

But Intel screwed up their marketing big time because they only focused on its use as a cache drive, which is a firmware feature like Intel RST or AMD StoreMI that is motherboard-dependent.


Quote: Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
It's not 10000x faster then nand or dense or cost effective

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
3D Xpoint memory is orders of magnitude faster than flash memory. Flash SSDs over the course of a few decades have developed techniques to mask some of flash's downsides, particularly the long time it takes to erase. Good garbage collection and some amount of overprovisioning are mandatory for a flash SSD, and a DRAM cache doesn't hurt either.

Low latency and low queue depths are more important than sequential throughput in many workloads (why else did we move off of RAID 0 HDDs?), and Optane drives manage that amazingly well.

Quote: Originally Posted by TheBadBull View Post
someone sig this



Last edited by CynicalUnicorn; 01-23-2019 at 12:04 PM.
CynicalUnicorn is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off