[G3D] Rumor: AMD Seeds Board partners Ryzen 3000 Samples - Runs 4.5 GHz and show 15% Extra IPC - Page 12 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[G3D] Rumor: AMD Seeds Board partners Ryzen 3000 Samples - Runs 4.5 GHz and show 15% Extra IPC

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #111 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 06:43 PM
Master of Black Snow
 
Ceadderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West of the Pecos.
Posts: 19,236
Rep: 699 (Unique: 518)
Quote: Originally Posted by pony-tail View Post
I use mostly Asus for ATX builds - I have 2 C6E and one C7f all have been trouble free . on ITX builds not so fussy but I did find that running a mildly tweaked R7 1800X on an Asus ROG Strix B350 i "Gaming" mobo was not a good Idea ( over time the VRM failed - with that wonderful necrid black smoke and the lingering burnt component smell )
B350 Boards in general were pretty sketchy due to not being fully prepared for Ryzen. Likely you fried your board due to the Auto OC feature being enabled. I cannot say that for certain, but more than a couple of reviewers burnt up their boards due to that being enabled and forgetting it when they entered their voltage for a follow up Clocking session.

Jay from Jayz2Cents was one that immediately comes to mind.

~Ceadder

I am really starting to feel my Oats as a long time member of OCN. Why did we go back to this system again?

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/w8cbvb-6.png
Black snow
(17 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX RX 480 Black Edition 8GB
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel Z370 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Adata m.2
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova
Cooling
EKWB Crosshair VI Acetyl Monoblock
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64bit USB
Monitor
Samsung NU6900
Keyboard
Corsair K55
Mouse
Corsair M65
Other
Xbox Wireless Controller: Winter Forces Special Edition - Xbox One/Xbox One S/Windows 10
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
Motherboard
Crosshair IV Formula
GPU
XFX RX 480 Black Edition 8GB
RAM
Corsair Dominator
Hard Drive
x2 HITACHI 1TB Deskstars 1TB RAID0
Hard Drive
Samsun 750 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA
Cooling
EK D5 Vario
Cooling
EK x3 250 RGB
Cooling
Yate Loon 120x20 (D12SM-12C) Medium Speed Silent Fans
Cooling
EK Supreme HF Classified
Cooling
Monsoon 1/2"x5/8" PETG White Hardline tubing.
Cooling
Monsoon Economy Hardline fittings
Cooling
EK x3 CSQ Clean Acrylic
Cooling
EK RX 480 Copper/Acetyl
Case
HAF 932
Operating System
Win7 64 bit Ultimate OEM
Monitor
Asus VH222H Black HDMI Widescreen
Keyboard
Logitech the OCZ went buhbye adios. Don't know what I'm going to replace it with.
Mouse
Logitech g9x
Mouse
COOLER MASTER Weapon of Choice: M4 Duramesh Pad
Audio
Logitech X-240 2.1 speakers
Other
Creative X-Fi
Other
Sunbeam Rheosmart 3
▲ hide details ▲


Ceadderman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #112 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 09:43 PM
Sexagenarian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sunny Qld AU
Posts: 943
Rep: 28 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ceadderman View Post
B350 Boards in general were pretty sketchy due to not being fully prepared for Ryzen. Likely you fried your board due to the Auto OC feature being enabled. I cannot say that for certain, but more than a couple of reviewers burnt up their boards due to that being enabled and forgetting it when they entered their voltage for a follow up Clocking session.

Jay from Jayz2Cents was one that immediately comes to mind.

~Ceadder

I hope with the new ITX boards coming that these ones do not have VRMs that go "poof" as I am intending to build using an Asus rog Impact itx board
pony-tail is offline  
post #113 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 05:04 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 908
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
Pardon my ignorance, but is the 4+0 mode the ability to disable one of the core complexes?
Yep, sure is. I'm playing around with it on my AX370 Gaming K7. If you have some tests you want me to run feel free to ask, I've got a 1080ti hooked up to it atm.

VeritronX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #114 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 05:57 AM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 6,391
Rep: 362 (Unique: 191)
Thanks!

It's alright. I'm not surprised (nor expected otherwise) that single core complex function has less latency overall, but I hadn't yet heard of motherboards allowing disabling them singularly. Doing that for AMD's 3800X could yield better performance in some applications, assuming only 2 CCX are involved.

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
GPU
MSI 2080 Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
Mouse
Corepadded Logitech G703
Mousepad
Asus Scabbard
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (B pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
post #115 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 08:50 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,114
Rep: 819 (Unique: 550)
turning on a Single CCX means there's no cross CCX latency (that's what 4+0 mode does). It's not practical though. I think core affinity is a better option

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is online now  
post #116 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 11:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imouto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,797
Rep: 208 (Unique: 96)
Imouto is offline  
post #117 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 12:54 PM
Mining the DB
 
SystemTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 2,209
Rep: 114 (Unique: 98)
Quote: Originally Posted by Imouto View Post
Quote:
especially in the wake of Samsung discontinuing its B-die DRAM chips.
That's the first I'm hearing of that. I still think B-Die RAM will be your best bet for Zen2 if you can get ahold of it.
So much so, I already have my RAM for my Zen 2 build already sitting on my shelf.

The virtualizer
(11 items)
Sufrfacing
(0 items)
CPU
E5-2670
CPU
E5-2670
Motherboard
Dell PowerEdge R720
RAM
Dell Default
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 256GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 5TB Barracuda(ST5000LM000)
Power Supply
Dell PowerEdge 750W
Power Supply
Dell PowerEdge 750W
Case
Dell PowerEdge R720
Operating System
Windows Server 2016 Hyper-V
▲ hide details ▲


SystemTech is offline  
post #118 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 01:01 PM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,051
Rep: 208 (Unique: 132)
Well I'm not going to let that get me excited just yet, I can select ram speeds on my X470 that absolutely don't work. Should I assume that my processor will clock as high as the multiplier options will let me go? TPU seems to get worse with every link.

El Computer
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
Radeon VII
GPU
EVGA 2080ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO
Hard Drive
CRUCIAL 1TB MX500 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 32GK850G
Monitor
50" Vizio 4k TV
Keyboard
Logitech G110
Mouse
G.SKILL RIPJAWS MX780 USB
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #119 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 01:08 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,114
Rep: 819 (Unique: 550)
So it's still half speed I.F. when the I.F. can't match RAM speed? That means uncore is still going to massively slower than Intel uncore, which is typically 4-4.5GHz


Can't wait to see the new Ryzen 3rd gen in action though.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: Asteroid[email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is online now  
post #120 of 133 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 01:17 PM
Indentified! On the Way!!
 
LancerVI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,510
Rep: 150 (Unique: 112)
Quote: Originally Posted by Imouto View Post
Was just about to post that. If true...........
LancerVI is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off