[Wccftech]Intel Comet Lake-S 10 Core CPUs Allegedly Require New Socket - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Wccftech]Intel Comet Lake-S 10 Core CPUs Allegedly Require New Socket

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 06:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Raghar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,890
Rep: 37 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lexi is Dumb View Post
I mean duh? It's been exactly 2 generations per 'socket' since at least Nehalem. Not sure how anyone could have hoped for or expected anything different enough to be mad about it now?
CPU should be restricted by engineering limitations not by decision of marketing department.
Intel had it's methodology of making new improvements and changing architecture in one year thus requiring new socket, then in next year shrinking the CPU thus keeping old socket. The socket change was mostly forced by technology limits, not by an ad hoc decision. Of course, a competent company makes socket with expected growth limits, to avoid rapid socket change, and Intel was hurting his own users by not doing that, but that could be excused by monopoly.

There was no plausible reason to not make second 14 nm socket and chipset future proof to ensure up to 12 core would work flawlessly, up to 20 cores when Intel would be lucky. It was blatantly obvious that AMD would make 16 cores a norm when it would start using 7 nm.
Raghar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 07:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,753
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by Raghar View Post
CPU should be restricted by engineering limitations not by decision of marketing department.
Intel had it's methodology of making new improvements and changing architecture in one year thus requiring new socket, then in next year shrinking the CPU thus keeping old socket. The socket change was mostly forced by technology limits, not by an ad hoc decision. Of course, a competent company makes socket with expected growth limits, to avoid rapid socket change, and Intel was hurting his own users by not doing that, but that could be excused by monopoly.

There was no plausible reason to not make second 14 nm socket and chipset future proof to ensure up to 12 core would work flawlessly, up to 20 cores when Intel would be lucky. It was blatantly obvious that AMD would make 16 cores a norm when it would start using 7 nm.
Hmm. A new socket for a 14nm cpu just as they announced 7nm.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #23 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 07:17 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,778
Rep: 78 (Unique: 59)
Hi,
Two core carrot on a stick 6 to 8 now 8 to 10 with maybe a new mother board
Doubt it's all that big a deal for those willing to jump only two cores every year
Should of gone skylake-x if one wanted more cores it can game too

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 10:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ubbernewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Escaped from XP Hell
Posts: 577
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
THIS is exactly WHY i wont use Intel anymore they change Sockets like i change my Socks "i change my socks every day"
ubbernewb is offline  
post #25 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 11:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pro3ootector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland / Deutschland
Posts: 1,081
Rep: 48 (Unique: 29)
Quote: Originally Posted by ubbernewb View Post
THIS is exactly WHY i wont use Intel anymore they change Sockets like i change my Socks "i change my socks every day"

IPC wise, since Haswell Intel changed the socket for the same CPU's and iGPU that no one really needed.
Pro3ootector is offline  
post #26 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 02:08 PM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,596
Rep: 219 (Unique: 136)
What do you guys do with your old processors if you don't buy a new motherboard/memory with your new processor?

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #27 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 02:20 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,778
Rep: 78 (Unique: 59)
Quote: Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post
What do you guys do with your old processors if you don't buy a new motherboard/memory with your new processor?
Hi,
Typically sell for less money.

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #28 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 03:26 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,739
Rep: 795 (Unique: 452)
Quote: Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post
What do you guys do with your old processors if you don't buy a new motherboard/memory with your new processor?
either keep it for a spare for trouble shooting or find a $40 mobo and the cheapest 8Gb of ram for it to re-purpose or sell.

through the years, actually a decade now, it is common for me to cheap out a little on the cpu to buy the better mobo, ram, storage or gpu and then drop in an upgrade later. core duos i went with a E2200 celeron at first before a E8400 and Q6600. had an i3-2110 before a i5-2400 then i7-3770K (however changed mobo because got such good deal on an RMA).

long story short:
overall, i do like having a few spare parts around.

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is online now  
post #29 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 03:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,550
Rep: 858 (Unique: 327)
Wouldn't be surprised if CML-S would bring FIVR back to the mainstream.
The current draw of CFL-S 8C is already brutal and with CML-S 10C it will obviously be even more so.
Bringing back FIVR would be a smart move, as it would significantly lower the motherboard requirements.
The Stilt is offline  
post #30 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 03:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Raghar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,890
Rep: 37 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Hmm. A new socket for a 14nm cpu just as they announced 7nm.
The problem is leaked roadmaps don't show any 7 nm.

Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Wouldn't be surprised if CML-S would bring FIVR back to the mainstream.
The current draw of CFL-S 8C is already brutal and with CML-S 10C it will obviously be even more so.
Bringing back FIVR would be a smart move, as it would significantly lower the motherboard requirements.
14 nm is called how to get heat out of square that has higher thermal density than an electric heater. 7 nm is at least twice as hard to cool. Placing FIVR with its 80 percent efficiency under the same heatsink would be quite bad move. Especially CPUs with multiple layers would be restricted by thermals.

FIVR for VCCIO, or VCCSA would make some sense, but there is practically zero point in concentrating heat and power density to CPU on desktop.
Raghar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off