[Techspot] Zen 3 is rumored to be flaunting monumental IPC gains in early testing - Page 20 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Techspot] Zen 3 is rumored to be flaunting monumental IPC gains in early testing

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #191 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 01:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
It's pretty awful on every rig I tried , seems worse on the AMD cpu with Nvidia gpu though. . What are you running for a gpu? I apprecate the reply btw.
Running a GTX 1080. Was previously getting into some CPU bound situations with DX11, but DX12 basically eliminated that entirely.
Derple is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #192 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 02:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,721
Rep: 487 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Derple View Post
Running a GTX 1080. Was previously getting into some CPU bound situations with DX11, but DX12 basically eliminated that entirely.
Should be able to compare 2080 vs 5700Xt soon , the relative strength of the cards I hav ebeen comparing might explain why it seems the way it does. My cpu usage certainly goes up on the 3600/rtx 2080 rig with DX 12 enabled.
cssorkinman is offline  
post #193 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 03:33 PM
Official Luddite of OCN
 
SoloCamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,446
Rep: 417 (Unique: 216)
Quote: Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post
Bro 5960x was $1000 CPU and 3600 is $200. I used 3770K from the day it came out until early 2019. I was starting to see dips in fps in BF5 @ 4K with 2080 Ti. When I switched to 1440p and 1080p I could clearly see the limit of the CPU. Once I moved to 9900K it was smooth sailing all over again. I had to OC 3770K to the limit and deal with all that while I could just run 9900K + DDR4 with XMP and not care.
Yup, my 4790k @ 4.6ghz and XMP Cas10 2400mhz DDR3 sits at near 90% usage on 64 player BFV... and that's at 2880x1620p and a V64 with all settings at ultra. Never dips below 90% but even if I go 100% res scale at 4k I'm still at near 70% cpu usage and a 2080ti is ridiculously faster than my oc'ed V64.

I've had an x570 board, 32gb 3200mhz DDR4 and a 3600 in my Amazon cart for a while now, just haven't pulled the trigger as my system is pretty balanced right now and my monitor is only 60hz.


4k box
(23 items)
Oculus Box
(6 items)
CPU
4790k at 4.6ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
GPU
Sapphire Vega 64 1667mhz core / 1100 mem (reference air cooler)
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16gb DDR3 2400mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 128gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256gb
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 480gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 500gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 120gb
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray RW
Power Supply
NZXT Hale82 850w
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Rosewill Thor V2 (Black)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ASUS PB287Q (4k)
Monitor
Dell Ultrasharp 1908FP
Keyboard
Corsair K55 RGB
Mouse
Fenek Swift Gaming Mouse - PMW 3360 Sensor
Mousepad
Steelseries QCK+
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z
Audio
Logitech Z-623
Audio
Sennheiser HD 280 PRO
CPU
FX-9590
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
GPU
Sapphire Pulse Vega 56 1590core/945mem
RAM
16gb DDR3 1866 cas9 (two dimms)
Cooling
AMD FX Watercooler (came with 9590)
Operating System
Win10 pro 64bit
CPU
Xeon E5450
CPU
Xeon E5450
Motherboard
Dell T7400 stock
GPU
XFX DD 7970Ghz Edition
RAM
32gb DDR2 667mhz Quad Channel (4gb x8)
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb SSD
Power Supply
Dell T7400 stock 1000w PSU
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
SoloCamo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #194 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 07:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,721
Rep: 487 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Nizzen View Post
gametime.maxvariablefps 300

Enough excuses, now post some results

PS: I did't say BF V scaled perfect with 12 thread, but it USES 12 threads. Check the taskmanager while gaming
Ok All stock clocks , cpu , gpu.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bfvsingle1080stock.PNG
Views:	41
Size:	83.8 KB
ID:	318450  

cssorkinman is offline  
post #195 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 04:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
reqq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 431
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Derple View Post
Running a GTX 1080. Was previously getting into some CPU bound situations with DX11, but DX12 basically eliminated that entirely.
Really? So you saying you get more fps then dx11 after using dx12 for a while?

[3900x][MSI X570GamingProCarbon][Ripjaws 3600CL16][Vega64][DELL S2417DG][Model O-][Steelseries QCK][HyperX MX Brown]
reqq is offline  
post #196 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 05:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by reqq View Post
Really? So you saying you get more fps then dx11 after using dx12 for a while?
I was getting more FPS with DX12 right off the bat, as it was utilizing my CPU more than DX11 and shifting it to being more GPU bound. I just meant once the stutters smooth out or become rare after some time, DX12 > DX11 imo.
Derple is offline  
post #197 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 05:25 AM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,988
Rep: 1800 (Unique: 1176)
Quote: Originally Posted by SoloCamo View Post
Yup, my 4790k @ 4.6ghz and XMP Cas10 2400mhz DDR3 sits at near 90% usage on 64 player BFV... and that's at 2880x1620p and a V64 with all settings at ultra. Never dips below 90% but even if I go 100% res scale at 4k I'm still at near 70% cpu usage and a 2080ti is ridiculously faster than my oc'ed V64.

I've had an x570 board, 32gb 3200mhz DDR4 and a 3600 in my Amazon cart for a while now, just haven't pulled the trigger as my system is pretty balanced right now and my monitor is only 60hz.
Wait for at least an 8 Core and Ryzen 4000 and you should not have any regrets. Get 3600 if you plan to upgrade it. 8 Cores will be mandatory once 2020 consoles come out.

Yamato
(10 items)
Ishimura
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Gamdias Chione M1A-280R
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #198 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 05:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,998
Rep: 870 (Unique: 635)
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
Ok All stock clocks , cpu , gpu.
Fake.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #199 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 07:23 AM
Hey I get one of these!
 
KyadCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,377
Rep: 312 (Unique: 219)
Quote: Originally Posted by Nizzen View Post
BF V uses 12 threads in my taskmanager with my 3900x, 7980xe and 9900k... The game using 12 threads
Microsoft does this thing called Core Load Balancing.

The tl;dr version is that Microsoft will bounce a thread between two cores in order to try and balance thermals. You can see this in effect if you run a single-threaded benchmark, such as Cinebench in single-core mode, where it will load two cores to 50%.

Task manager, for this reason, is a useless metric for actual CPU usage, and instead you simply need to have CPUs with various core configurations to test with. The same CPU at the same OC tested with cores and/or SMT disabled in BIOS would be an even more accurate test.

Forge
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
AMD 5700XT PowerColor Devil
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo (2x16GB 3600Mhz/C16)
Hard Drive
Intel 900P 480GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
Corsair H150i
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
2x Acer XR341CK
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB
Audio
Sennheiser HD700
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-9
Audio
Audio Technica AT4040
▲ hide details ▲
KyadCK is offline  
post #200 of 200 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 11:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,721
Rep: 487 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Fake.
Darn it! you busted me..... that was actually my FX/780ti rig

EDIT: * was teasing - this is my FX 780ti* Really good gaming experience - very steady framerate during gameplay - player death seqences are where the highs and lows are expressed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SMOOOOOTH.JPG
Views:	21
Size:	139.9 KB
ID:	318902  


Last edited by cssorkinman; 01-14-2020 at 02:50 PM.
cssorkinman is offline  
Reply

Tags
uotquo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off