[G3D] Intel Comet Lake-S CPUs and Z490 boards support PCI-E 4.0 (but it's not active) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[G3D] Intel Comet Lake-S CPUs and Z490 boards support PCI-E 4.0 (but it's not active)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,847
Rep: 439 (Unique: 303)
[G3D] Intel Comet Lake-S CPUs and Z490 boards support PCI-E 4.0 (but it's not active)

Source
Quote:
...upcoming Comet Lake-S processors (...) actually do support PCI Express 4.0, some Z490 motherboards are designed for it as well.
...
The reason behind this is presence of Jitter in the Z490 chipset signal, that causes instability in the data signal and that menas that specifications required for the PCI-Express 4.0 certification are simply not met.
...
Several manufacturers added external clock generators to eliminate this Jitter, however not everyone did, so Intel made the decision to not support PCI-E 4.0 on this new platform.
Seems like intel relay on motherboards manufacturers to allow PCIE 4.0. I wonder why. Did AMD demanded they do it, while intel didn't or found out post design and they don't have time to come back to fix it?
Looks like a big oversight in design process if this is true.
But it could also be that in the future with firmware updates, some could give PCIE 4.0 on intel as well.


Defoler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 08:30 AM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,932
Rep: 103 (Unique: 81)
Makes sense though - adding pcie 4 likely adds to the cost and isn't really all that needed for most at this point.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?


speed_demon is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 09:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,423
Rep: 344 (Unique: 253)
I still find it funny that Intel is struggling so much with PCI-E 4. Not only did they help create the spec, but sucky companies like AS Media have no problems at all implementing the spec in their chipsets.

EniGma1987 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 09:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,648
Rep: 173 (Unique: 127)
Quote: Originally Posted by EniGma1987 View Post
I still find it funny that Intel is struggling so much with PCI-E 4. Not only did they help create the spec, but sucky companies like AS Media have no problems at all implementing the spec in their chipsets.
I don't think it has to do with the fact that they can't get it to work, it's that they would need to design a new chipset instead of using the same one they have been using for many years with a few minor tweaks here and there.

Maybe I'm wrong, but I would imagine they have been using the same chipset since Broadwell.


DNMock is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 10:18 AM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,681
Rep: 163 (Unique: 127)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
I don't think it has to do with the fact that they can't get it to work, it's that they would need to design a new chipset instead of using the same one they have been using for many years with a few minor tweaks here and there.

Maybe I'm wrong, but I would imagine they have been using the same chipset since Broadwell.

probably needs motherboard trace optimization or signal integrity to make pcie4 signal work

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀



TK421 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 10:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mrzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,312
Rep: 97 (Unique: 77)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
I don't think it has to do with the fact that they can't get it to work, it's that they would need to design a new chipset instead of using the same one they have been using for many years with a few minor tweaks here and there.

Maybe I'm wrong, but I would imagine they have been using the same chipset since Broadwell.
I agree. They would need to change the requirements for the chipset they had given to the Manufacturers. Great way to upset ___ manufacturer because you changed the requirement last minute , where they can implement a solution in time, or already have X inventory they need to get rid of some how.

So, does this mean that the chips have it permanently disabled, or can the bios allow you to enable it? It always bothers me to see functionality blocked because its not fully up to their standards.



Mrzev is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 10:33 AM
Untitled.jpg
 
Lexi is Dumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Encounter Bay, South Australia
Posts: 715
Rep: 43 (Unique: 32)
Seems pointless. May as well have waited for PCI-E 5.

Panthera
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
Msi Gaming X Trio RTX 2080
RAM
16GB 3200CL14 G.skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 860 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair HX750 Platinum
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
NZXT H700
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU G-sync 1440p165hz IPS
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 TKL w/ Cherry Reds
Mouse
Logitech G703 Hero
Mousepad
Glorious Extended
Audio
Presonus Eris 3.5
Audio
Audio-Technica M50xBT
▲ hide details ▲
Lexi is Dumb is online now  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 11:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,648
Rep: 173 (Unique: 127)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lexi is Dumb View Post
Seems pointless. May as well have waited for PCI-E 5.
Isn't PCIE 5.0 still a good 3 or 4 years out on consumer level stuff?


DNMock is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 11:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mothergoose729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 5,755
Rep: 343 (Unique: 284)
Really odd decision, since if PCIE-4 were included it would be the only compelling reason to upgrade from Z390. Totally bizarre. There is basically nothing lost for them by delaying the 10 series processors.
mothergoose729 is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 11:53 AM
Untitled.jpg
 
Lexi is Dumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Encounter Bay, South Australia
Posts: 715
Rep: 43 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
Isn't PCIE 5.0 still a good 3 or 4 years out on consumer level stuff?
No idea, I would think that up to AMD and Intel themselves.. the spec was already finalised and available about a year ago.
I guess cost could be a factor, idk about any of that.

Panthera
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
Msi Gaming X Trio RTX 2080
RAM
16GB 3200CL14 G.skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 860 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair HX750 Platinum
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
NZXT H700
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU G-sync 1440p165hz IPS
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 TKL w/ Cherry Reds
Mouse
Logitech G703 Hero
Mousepad
Glorious Extended
Audio
Presonus Eris 3.5
Audio
Audio-Technica M50xBT
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Lexi is Dumb; 01-22-2020 at 11:58 AM.
Lexi is Dumb is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off