[WCCF] AMD Radeon ‘Big Navi’ RX Gamma Specs And Benchmarks Leaked (April Fools) - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[WCCF] AMD Radeon ‘Big Navi’ RX Gamma Specs And Benchmarks Leaked (April Fools)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 08:15 AM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,482
Rep: 142 (Unique: 101)
I'm not running an overclock or any sort of GPU overclocking software due to the issues. Will give a different port a try for sure. The card was second hand - And the odd thing is, my memory is showing up as underclocked compared to the default for this card. Which makes me think the BIOS has been modded.

CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI R9 390 8GB
RAM
16GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 (2017)
Cooling
Thermalright True Spirit 140
Case
Fractal Define S
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSC
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 08:20 AM
Expert pin bender
 
dagget3450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,041
Rep: 164 (Unique: 94)
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
I'm not running an overclock or any sort of GPU overclocking software due to the issues. Will give a different port a try for sure. The card was second hand - And the odd thing is, my memory is showing up as underclocked compared to the default for this card. Which makes me think the BIOS has been modded.
If in doubt, flash it or try using the bios switch and see if it helps. I recently bought an RX 580 and it had a modified bios(memory timings) but it looked normal, until i ran a game and black screened immediately. I flipped the switch and it worked flawless. Almost was about to give the guy a bad rating for it thinking it was bad. Good luck! (there are bios threads here on OCN and i think techpowerup has bios also)

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...emSize=&since=

GPU i currently own: R9 390/290x/290/390x/FuryX/Vega FE/RX Vega 64/ - CPUs: 5960x/R7 1700/X5650x2/E5 2863/e5 2670/R5 3600/FX 9590
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition Owner
dagget3450 is offline  
post #23 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 10:27 AM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,482
Rep: 142 (Unique: 101)
Will do, thank you! Only problem I see so far is I have the card out and can't find the bios switch for it. Not in the same place as my R9 290's switch was at least.

CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI R9 390 8GB
RAM
16GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 (2017)
Cooling
Thermalright True Spirit 140
Case
Fractal Define S
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSC
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 11:56 AM
Expert pin bender
 
dagget3450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,041
Rep: 164 (Unique: 94)
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
Will do, thank you! Only problem I see so far is I have the card out and can't find the bios switch for it. Not in the same place as my R9 290's switch was at least.
Well i will admit i never used any MSI Hawaii gpus, so i tried to research for you some. It appears there may not be a switch on the MSI 390 Gaming 8g?

Quote:
We haven’t been able to locate a switch for a dual-BIOS setup, which means that the stock firmware is the only one we get to play with. Display outputs are limited such that there’s no analog signal to be found any more. The two exclusively digital DVI-D connectors are joined by an HDMI and a DisplayPort connector.
https://www.tomshardware.com/uk/revi...70,4178-2.html



http://media.bestofmicro.com/H/Y/503...ing-8G-Top.jpg i dont see it in this picture... strange i did not know this... Might have to research further but that bites only having one bios mode

GPU i currently own: R9 390/290x/290/390x/FuryX/Vega FE/RX Vega 64/ - CPUs: 5960x/R7 1700/X5650x2/E5 2863/e5 2670/R5 3600/FX 9590
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition Owner
dagget3450 is offline  
post #25 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 01:11 PM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,482
Rep: 142 (Unique: 101)
If there is, it's buried under the heatsink or needs contacts soldered together, or some other unusual arrangement. There is definitely no external switch on this particular card. Bummer as that's a feature I've made use of in the past.

That's alright though - I will give flashing the BIOS you linked to a try. Next up is to find out how that process works.

CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI R9 390 8GB
RAM
16GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 (2017)
Cooling
Thermalright True Spirit 140
Case
Fractal Define S
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSC
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is online now  
post #26 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-05-2020, 03:06 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 78 (Unique: 46)
If PCIe 5.0 wouldn't be listed, i totally could believe that
Dang you 1st april
I hope they can get 1GB chips to stack for bandwidth
Going 3GB would drive cost again far too high expected 24gb VRAM

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off