My 4G sim card in my new iPad - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My 4G sim card in my new iPad

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,794
Rep: 225
I currently have the 32 GB Wi-Fi new iPad and I was wondering if I could put my Verizon 4G Sim card from my phone in a 4G iPad if I decided to get one of those instead.


skatingrocker17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 11:57 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
r34p3rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston/Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,633
Rep: 899
Should work.. not sure if your phone would work without the SIM though. If they don't allow to you access EV-DO data without a SIM card, then you won't have data.

Again, I'm just guessing biggrin.gif

cool.gifI'm from Long Island, I'm a member of the New Yorker Club cool.gif


Canon 5DII w/ Grip | EF 17-40 f/4L | EF 24-105 f/4L | EF 70-200 f/2.8L | Speedlite 430EX II | AlienBee B800 + Vagabond Mini

OC's: i7 920 3845B260 @ 4713 (air) | i7 920 3943A529 @ 4760 (H50)
Fun Stuff: -=R34P3ReX's OCN Wallpaper Thread=-
r34p3rex is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-21-2012, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,794
Rep: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by r34p3rex View Post

Should work.. not sure if your phone would work without the SIM though. If they don't allow to you access EV-DO data without a SIM card, then you won't have data.
Again, I'm just guessing biggrin.gif

The phone won't work at all without the SIM card I was just wondering if the iPad would work if I put the SIM card in there.


skatingrocker17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-22-2012, 12:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jakemfbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,113
Rep: 8
you can't... sim cards are active for the phone number they are assigned to

jakemfbacon is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-22-2012, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,794
Rep: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakemfbacon View Post

you can't... sim cards are active for the phone number they are assigned to

So since the iPad has no phone number it won't work? I know with the SIM cards I don't have to call in and activate phones anymore, I just pop in the SIM card into my new phone and it just works without having to do anything.


skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-29-2012, 06:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jakemfbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,113
Rep: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by skatingrocker17 View Post

So since the iPad has no phone number it won't work? I know with the SIM cards I don't have to call in and activate phones anymore, I just pop in the SIM card into my new phone and it just works without having to do anything.

that's true but it is because they assign the sim to your phone number before they ship it out. Usually an ipad or mifi, etc will have a phone number associated with it even though it is not a phone. I am not 100% sure on this information though. HAs anyone tried it? Why don't you just try it?

jakemfbacon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off