AMD X 4 Battle Royale - time to get your Geek on! ( unofficial competition ) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AMD X 4 Battle Royale - time to get your Geek on! ( unofficial competition )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-15-2016, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,424
Rep: 463 (Unique: 263)
It's time for the AMD X4 Battle Royale Geekbench 3 round!

Benchmark for this round - Geekbench 3 , we will use the 32 bit version as it is the only one available without purchasing the software.
Linky - http://www.primatelabs.com/geekbench/


The general Idea is to give the average overclocking enthusiast a chance to compete without being trounced by the big leaguer's that run extreme cooling etc. I'm hoping this will be a low-key good natured competition , fun for the members that don't usually participate. I think it will be a good opportunity for some members to learn how to get a little more oomph out of their system or maybe it will whet someone's appetite for competitive overclocking. On that note I would encourage anyone who is interested to join OCN's hwbot team - I've had a lot of fun particularly in the team cup competitions.

Eligible hardware :
Any AMD quad core cpu. X2 and X3's unlocked to X4's are legal , however native X6 and X8 with disabled cores will not be allowed.

Cooling: No extreme cooling methods allowed - LN2, Dry ice, etc is forbidden. Air cooling and water cooling are allowed. Using cold ambient air or chilled liquid is legal however in the unlimited clockspeed class, proof of core temp during the run of greater than 0C will be required.

Competition features:
Bracket racing with classes for 3 ghz, 4ghz, 4.5 ghz and unlimited maximum clockspeeds.
Participants will be limited to submitting scores for one clockspeed bracket .

Submission requirements
2 screenshots, one during the benchmark and one with the final score.:
Cpu-z with cpu and memory tabs open
World clock and windows time/date visible in screenshot.
Windows time/date visible in the screenshot submissions ( final score screenshots must be taken within 2 minutes of the during screen shots)
Must use a competition background.

Submission requirement update!
The geekbench scoring window needs to show a timestamp, processor and clockspeeds as shown in the picture below


I intended to include this from the get go, but I goofed. Apologies for any inconveniences redface.gif


( stay tuned I'll post the background when the competition starts- tentatively planned to run from March 17th to march 27th at 7pm CST)

COMPETITION NOW EXTENDED UNTIL APRIL 17 at 7PM CST



Submissions should be made in this format

Forum name - Bracket - score being submitted ( single , multi or both) - cpu - clockspeed

Example ( competition background used is just an example , may use a different one for this round , will update before competition start.)

cssorkinman 4 ghz - single - 1744 multi - 5877 - PHII 965 BE 3400 mhz





Best single and multi-core scores for each bracket will be recognized at the end of the competition.

I'll drop the green flag for the competition soon - stay tuned wink.gif

Competition background Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


This round is now open for submissions until March 27th at 7 pm CST - Good luck and have fun!

Leader board
3 Ghz
toughacton - 3Ghz - single 1716- Athlon II x4 651k BE 3000Mhz
toughacton - 3GHZ - multi 5821 - Athlon II x4 651k BE - 3000Mhz

4 Ghz
vordavor - 4 Ghz - Single - 2469 - Multi - 7622 - Athlon x4 860k 4 Ghz
bbowseroctacore - 4ghz - single - 1886 - multi - 6828 - phenom ii b55 unlocked x4 3772mhz

4.5 Ghz

drmrlordx - 4.5 GHz - single 2684 - multi 8484 - A10-7700k 4500 MHz
jsc1973 4.5 GHz - single 2664 multi 8358 - Athlon 860K 4500 MHz
schubaltz 4.5ghz - single 2242 multi 7582 - Phenom II X4 960T @4.018ghz

Unlimited
cssorkinman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 01:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
033Y5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: wiltshire uk
Posts: 383
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Nice am in

Edit: If we already have 64 bit geekbench can we use it?
033Y5 is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 07:12 AM
Retired Staff
 
xxbassplayerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 21,142
Rep: 610 (Unique: 438)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 033Y5 View Post

Nice am in

Edit: If we already have 64 bit geekbench can we use it?

64-bit generally scores higher so I think he wants to stick with 32-bit to keep it free for the users who don't already own it.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><b><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1566371/"><span style="font-size: 12px;">I'M BACK! NEW LN2 INSIDE 7/24/15!</span></a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><br></b><span></span><div style="text-align:center;"><b><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/dry-ice-liquid-nitrogen/1123121-first-amd-venture.html"><span style="font-size:10px;">Subzero AMD Fun</span></a><span style="font-size: 12px;"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/overclock-net-related-news-information/1108498-august-ice-summary-results-pictures-prize.html">August Ice</a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></span></b></div><span></span><div style="text-align:center;"><b><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/overclock-net-hwbot-team/772955-hwbot-explained.html#post9951028"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><span><span>HW</span>Bot Explained</span></span></a><span style="font-size: 12px;"><span><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></span></span></b><b><span><span style="font-size: 12px;">Join OCN's <a href="https://www.overclock.net/overclock-net-hwbot-team/"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><span>HW</span>Bot<img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></a> team!</span></span></b></div><span></span><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;t=1082747"><b>6GHz + Elite Overclock Club</b></a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/dry-ice-liquid-nitrogen/1087013-start-subzero-cooling-under-200-a.html"><b>Start Subzero Overclocking for Under $200!</b></a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></div><span></span></div></div></div>


xxbassplayerxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,424
Rep: 463 (Unique: 263)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 033Y5 View Post

Nice am in

Edit: If we already have 64 bit geekbench can we use it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxbassplayerxx View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by 033Y5 View Post

Nice am in

Edit: If we already have 64 bit geekbench can we use it?

64-bit generally scores higher so I think he wants to stick with 32-bit to keep it free for the users who don't already own it.

Yes, as xxbassplayerxx says , there is a slight advantage when using the 64 bit version so I think it's best if everyone uses the 32 bit version that is available at no cost.
cssorkinman is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 08:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
033Y5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: wiltshire uk
Posts: 383
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post


Yes, as xxbassplayerxx says , there is a slight advantage when using the 64 bit version so I think it's best if everyone uses the 32 bit version that is available at no cost.

That's cool
Looking forward to see what my athlon x2 5000 unlocked can do against the newer chips in a multi tread scenario
033Y5 is offline  
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 04:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
drmrlordx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,351
Rep: 75 (Unique: 52)
Subscribed, will do a run later . . .

Watch this space for future . . . uh . . . stuff! Yeah. That.
drmrlordx is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-17-2016, 01:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
STW1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wall Twp. N.J. United States
Posts: 66
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Subed,will start playing when work let's me.



STW1911 is offline  
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-17-2016, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,424
Rep: 463 (Unique: 263)
The competition is now open !
See OP for the competition background smile.gif
cssorkinman is offline  
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-17-2016, 11:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
drmrlordx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,351
Rep: 75 (Unique: 52)
Sadly, the 7700k is now misbehaving @ 4.7 GHz. I'll need to replace this guy eventually . . . le sigh. But I digress.

I've stepped it back to the 4.5 GHz category.




drmrlordx - 4.5 GHz - single 2688 - multi 8433 - A10-7700k 4500 MHz

Watch this space for future . . . uh . . . stuff! Yeah. That.
drmrlordx is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,424
Rep: 463 (Unique: 263)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmrlordx View Post

Sadly, the 7700k is now misbehaving @ 4.7 GHz. I'll need to replace this guy eventually . . . le sigh. But I digress.

I've stepped it back to the 4.5 GHz category.

drmrlordx - 4.5 GHz - single 2688 - multi 8433 - A10-7700k 4500 MHz

Thanks for the sub, nice scores!

In reviewing the submission rules I forgot to add that the geekbench 3 score window needs to show the timestamp, processor and clockspeed information as shown below. I'll add that to the OP now, apologies for any inconveniences.
I'll accept the submission, but I'll have to add asterisk beside it without unless you update the submission including the information below.
cssorkinman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off