Vega's *Heavyweight* display and computer; edition 2012 - Page 38 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Vega's *Heavyweight* display and computer; edition 2012

 
Thread Tools
post #371 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-05-2012, 12:31 PM
Hardware Princess
 
Hydroplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 1,404
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
Vega your builds inspire me thumb.gif

btw I was the one who commented on your youtube video about pines of rome lol

CHILLER DESTRUCTION
Build Log - White Voodoo
Z390 Station
(10 items)
White Voodoo
(14 items)
CPU
9900K @ 5.5 1.46v
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Titan RTX 2085/8500
RAM
Trident Z 3200c14 @ 4133c16 1.5v
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G2
Cooling
Dehumidifier
Case
Dimastech Test Bench
Monitor
AOC Agon AG251FZ 240Hz
Audio
Built-in Monitor Speakers (3 watt)
CPU
Intel Core i9-7980XE @ 4.3 GHz 1.10v
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080 Ti SLI 2037/6318 1.09V
RAM
Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3800C16 1.50V
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 T2
Cooling
HWLabs Nemesis GTR 420+280 Rads
Cooling
(7) Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM Fans
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Case
LD Cooling PC-V7 280/420
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSB
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.1
Monitor
NEC PA271W 2560x1440
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
CPU
Dual Intel Xeon L5520 2.26 GHz
RAM
48 GB Samsung DDR3-1066
Hard Drive
120 GB Samsung 750 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
2 TB Western Digital Green
Hard Drive
2 TB Hitachi 7200 RPM
Power Supply
650W Delta PSU
Case
1U Rackmount
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲
Hydroplane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #372 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-05-2012, 12:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nocturin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Somewhere OverThe Rainbow
Posts: 5,956
Rep: 153 (Unique: 126)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallsignVega View Post

10% is huge! wink.gif

touche, forgot about your massive resolution/millions of pixels tongue.gif.

Currently on Hiatus
1nf3ction is a BOSS!
BF3 id: Nocturin3
Disclaimer: IMHO; If you take it otherwise, your doing it wrong.
#OccupyAMD

Warnig: lulz (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by axipher go_quote.gif

That's a good questions, my 3 female room mates use the bathroom upstairs, I just use the shower downstairs, we might have to use the trunk of my car instead, I know that's sterile and has rubber mats and walls in it haha.
Also, more updates biggrin.gif We need to keep this thread somewhat on topic haha.
Quote:
Originally Posted by srsdude go_quote.gif

Yo dawg I heard you like computers in computers so we put a computer in your computer so you can use your computer while...thumb.gif
go_quote.gif

Nocturin is offline  
post #373 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-05-2012, 01:18 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 222
so guys, should I wait for 4gb version of 680's or go with 2gb version?im confuse..by the way thanks guys for the output!thumb.gif
gibsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #374 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-07-2012, 04:08 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,324
Rep: 520 (Unique: 359)
Well, the results of my PCI Express 2.0 versus 3.0 on my 4-way SLI GTX 680 FW900 Surround setup are in. The results are so incredible I had to start the tests over from scratch and run them multiple times for confirmation! eek.gif

Test setup:

3960X @ 5.0 GHz (temp slow speed)
Asus Rampage IV Extreme with PCI-E slots running 16x/8x/8x/8x
(4) EVGA GTX 680's running 1191MHz core, 3402 MHz Memory
nVidia Driver 301.10 with PCI-E 3.0 registry adjustment turned on and off for each applicable tes
GPU-Z 0.6.0

SANY0003-12.jpg


After PCI-E settings changed, confirmed with GPU-Z:

PCI-E20.gif

PCI-E30.gif


All settings in nVidia control panel, in-game and in benchmark, EVGA precision are all UNTOUCHED between benchmark runs. The only setting adjusted is the PCI-E 2.0 to 3.0 and back and forth for confirmation (Reboots obviously for registry edit).


PCI-ETests.jpg


I kid you not, that is how much PCI-E 2.0 running at 16x/8x/8x/8x versus PCI-E 3.0 bottlenecks BF3 and Heaven 2.5 at these resolutions. I attribute this to the massive bandwidth being transferred over the PCI-E bus. We are talking 4-way SLI at up to 10-megapixels in alternate frame rendering. Entire frames at high FPS are being swapped and PCI-E 2.0 falls on it's face.

The interesting part was that while running PCI-E 2.0, the GPU utilization dropped way down as would be typically seen if you are "CPU" limited. In this instance I am not CPU limited, nor GPU limited. We are really at a point now that you can be PCI-E limited unless you go PCI-E 3.0 8x (16x PCI-E 2.0) or faster on all GPU's in the system. GPU utilization dropped down into the ~50% range due to PCI-E 2.0 choking them to death. As soon as I enabled PCI-E 3.0, the GPU utilization skyrocketed to 95+% on all cores. I was going to run more benchmarks and games but the results are such blow-outs it seems pretty pointless to do any more. It may interest some of those out there running these new PCI-E 3.0 GPU's in which they think they are CPU limited (below 95% GPU utilization) yet might have PCI-E bandwidth issues.

Down to the nitty gritty; if you run a single GPU, yes; a single 16x speed PCI-E 2.0 slot will be fine. When you start to run multiple GPU's and/or run these new cards at 8x speed, especially in Surround/Eyefinity, make sure to get PCI-E 3.0. wink.gif

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 16GB 4600 MHz
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: Acer Predator XB273K 4K 144 Hz G-Sync / LG C8 OLED / LG 38GL950G
CallsignVega is online now  
post #375 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-07-2012, 04:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Acefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,055
Rep: 69 (Unique: 66)
Sorry you have 4x gtx 680's hardcore bottlnecked by 2gb of vram.

Acefire is offline  
post #376 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-07-2012, 04:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,324
Rep: 520 (Unique: 359)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acefire View Post

Sorry you have 4x gtx 680's hardcore bottlnecked by 2gb of vram.

Ya, because simply changing PCI-E slots between 2.0 and 3.0 speeds will affect VRAM usage. Please tell me you are just trolling and not actually that stupid. wink.gif

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 16GB 4600 MHz
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: Acer Predator XB273K 4K 144 Hz G-Sync / LG C8 OLED / LG 38GL950G
CallsignVega is online now  
post #377 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-07-2012, 04:42 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,313
Wow. Now someone needs to send you 4 7970s to see if x8 3.0 is even fast enough to make up for the 900MB/s CF bridge and everything running off the first card.
PoopaScoopa is offline  
post #378 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-07-2012, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: São Sepé - RS - Brazil
Posts: 292
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
VEGA, since you have a RIVE could you do another simple test so I can put my mind at ease? I'm really interested if, in your resolution of 3600x1920 (close to mine 3840x1920 ) you see any difference from a single VGA in PCI-E 3.0 to 2.0 at 16X. Your tests make it very clear when multi-GPU is involved, but since you MIX multi-GPU and surround resolution I can't really dismiss the possibility of still running in a "worth upgrading" bottleneck with a single card. I guess you'll only need to flip the 3 micro-switches and in 2 reboots you can answer my question =)

armartins is offline  
post #379 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-07-2012, 04:55 AM
Windows 10 is good
 
GoldenTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Visual Studio, USA
Posts: 4,301
Rep: 200 (Unique: 157)
Vega... nice tests!

I'm starting to wonder if my 2-way SLI is bottlenecked by having x8 2.0 for each card then... it looks possible (2560x1600). My GPU utilization is high (90%+) at almost all times in games though. Regardless, looking like a day-1 buy for Ivy Bridge for me to enable PCI-E 3.0 on my Z68 Gen3 board.

Is there any chance I could trouble you for a 2-way SLI run at 3600x1920 (PCI-E 2.0 vs 3.0)? Pretty please? That's most comparable to my resolution... though still far greater (4mp vs 7mp).

Have a problem with your FUD being dispelled by fact checkers?
"Patients suffering from psychosis have impaired reality testing; that is, they are unable to distinguish personal subjective experience from the reality of the external world." biggrin.gif
GoldenTiger is offline  
post #380 of 1300 (permalink) Old 04-07-2012, 05:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: São Sepé - RS - Brazil
Posts: 292
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
I'll make another post so this won't pass unnoticed in an edit. But just comparing the BF3 results in both resolutions It's pretty evident the role of the resolution in the bottleneck hence we go from 69 to 97FPS. But in the other hand I find the 133 to 140FPS a rather small increase in FPS considering the final resolution decrease. What are your thoughts about it VEGA? Is it possible that we are hitting some kind of "we are still topping the VRAM at 3600x1920, so due to memory swap we are unable to break the wall of 140FPS". Also please tell us the game settings you're playing on and the VRAM usage at 3600X1920! Those results are really making me change my plan to keep my non PCI 3.0 compatible Z68 board until the Z77 boards are priced right 2-3 months after release.

armartins is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off