Achieva Shimian Monitor Club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Achieva Shimian Monitor Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 05:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ibtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuschdev View Post

I doubt they would design an LCD that couldn't be disassembled for repairs.
The most common is screws + little clips, and you use a pry tool of some sort to pop the clips/tabs . That's most likely the sound you heard, if you don't do it right they'll pop, sometimes break. But I could be wrong I don't have one of these in front of me

I think I've figured it out, actually.

Opening the top portion of the display seems to have broken a screw loose, which seems to be attached from front to back (head facing towards me while I'm sitting down). The only way to access the head of this screw would be to remove the black bezel around the front of the panel itself, so perhaps that is how it's supposed to be done.

edit; Yup, just pried it open. That did it.

Seems like it's glued down too, though... =/

another edit:

Glue doesn't seem to matter. There are clips too, so you could easily pry it away and just clip it back on.
ibtar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 855
Rep: 55 (Unique: 52)
adjas is offline  
post #23 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-22-2012, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CharlesK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 31
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibtar View Post

I think I've figured it out, actually.
Opening the top portion of the display seems to have broken a screw loose, which seems to be attached from front to back (head facing towards me while I'm sitting down). The only way to access the head of this screw would be to remove the black bezel around the front of the panel itself, so perhaps that is how it's supposed to be done.
edit; Yup, just pried it open. That did it.
Seems like it's glued down too, though... =/
another edit:
Glue doesn't seem to matter. There are clips too, so you could easily pry it away and just clip it back on.

Where did you put the pry, between the withe and black bezel ? like you I have the bowing top bezel, I also want to open it to find what I can do about the buzzing sound that my screen does, hopefully it will be some coils vibrating that I can glue to shut them up
CharlesK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-22-2012, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BBGunWB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA
Posts: 61
Rep: 0
FYI from a friend who got his No-tempered-glass but with speakers version:
Quote:
Got it situated and DUal DVI in and......................black screen. Switched ports on the ATI 5870 and................. black screen. Yes backlight was showing and blue on with data present steady on. Heart sinking.
Switched to secondary card ATI 5770 and DVI port only with different DUal Cord............... black screen. Went online to the overclock url (thanks BB) and tried to find where I remembered reading some guy with same issue. The subject is about 500 pages now so held off after 200 or so. One guy said he opened it up and re-seated all ribbons etc. Made sense, was about to do that (didn't want to) when I said to myself, "Ok, let's just try all my best DUal DVI known good cords. Took the 5 all top rated and in use known good and tried first 3 with a no go. Took the 4th which is a 20 foot double sheilded thick wrapped monster and coiled it through. BANG!, works immediately. Tried 5th that was just yer average DUal DVI looking rather like the other 3 7 footers, worked fine.

So she is a bit picky on the cord........make a note.

BB

BBGunWB is offline  
post #25 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 01:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ibtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesK View Post

Where did you put the pry, between the withe and black bezel ? like you I have the bowing top bezel, I also want to open it to find what I can do about the buzzing sound that my screen does, hopefully it will be some coils vibrating that I can glue to shut them up

I started in the bottom right corner. It's easier to pry open if you do it from the inside where the black bezel meets the panel, rather than the outside where the white bezel is. It should just pop off after that. Mine was only glued along the bottom, the rest was just attached with clips.

To fix the bowing top bezel I just wrapped a small piece of tape around 5 or 6 stacked pennies (to hold them together) and then stuck it under the bezel, on top of the panel itself. It closed up just fine after that and straightened out the top of the panel perfectly.
ibtar is offline  
post #26 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 03:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CharlesK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 31
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
thanks for the answer thumb.gif, actually , i did it yesterday the way you just described it.



I made a little tutorial for disassembling and fixing the buzzing sound :
(hope my english is good enough biggrin.gif)

The first and hardest part is to separate the black bezel from the white one, the problem is that they are clipped and glued with double sided tape. You need to separate them in order to access to the screws that attach the white bezel to the housing.

(I made the photos during reassembling).

401

It is easier to pull it out if you do it from the inner side of the bezel, but you need to be very careful to not harm the panel, there is glue only at the bottom, and a little on the sides, so once you've pried open the botom, you're done. (uncliping is easy)

Now you have this :

401

just unscrew the screws tongue.gif

401

and then unclip the white bezel (from the outside of the bezel)

Now these 2 screws are the only ones that attach the panel to the housing :

401

lift up a little the panel from the botom or right side and you'll see the internal and where to unplug the cables to completely separate the panel from the housing.

Now, for fixing the buzzing sound :

the panel pcb (where are the buzzing chokes) is behind this :

401

I did not take a photo, but it's nearly the same as the catleap one (photo from ScribbyDaGreat) :

348
edit : better with some paint works tongue.gif

We can see one, the component with "220" written upside-down, the other one is hidden under the little black square foam, cover them with epoxy, and it will shut them up. 100% success on my monitor which now is deadly silent.

CharlesK is offline  
post #27 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 04:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ibtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thanks for the tip about fixing the buzzing, mine has a slight buzz on certain webpages that I tend to notice on and off.
ibtar is offline  
post #28 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 04:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CharlesK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 31
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
It was depending on what was displayed for me as well, which is why I suspected the chokes from the panel pcb more than the ones from the backlight power circuit ( and those where solid state choke which normaly don't buzz)
CharlesK is offline  
post #29 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 855
Rep: 55 (Unique: 52)
awesome write-up, great pics too. Mine hasn't buzzed yet (actually my PC is much too noisy for me to hear it, plus I game with headphones)

But if I was to hear the buzzing noise, your post would help immensely in solving it, thanks for sharing.

adjas is offline  
post #30 of 3516 (permalink) Old 03-23-2012, 04:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
yomike007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Just got my shimian-lite in a few minutes ago. Hooked it up and no problems or dead pixels. So far everything looks good

Only downside is it leans significantly to the left with the stock stand, but nothing that cant be fixed.. Ordered from dreamsum last friday, took about a week. Im happy!
yomike007 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off