Achieva Shimian Monitor Club - Page 349 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Achieva Shimian Monitor Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3481 of 3519 (permalink) Old 03-12-2016, 02:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ragsters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arroyo Grande, California
Posts: 9,010
Rep: 218 (Unique: 203)
I just found this laying around in my house. Will this work with a video card that does not have dvi-d card like a R9 nano?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IA4JJ9G


Tiny Dancer
(19 items)
Son's Build
(16 items)
White Noise (R.I.P)
(31 items)
CPU
i7 6800k
Motherboard
Asrock X99e-itx
GPU
RX Vega 56
RAM
Corsair Vengence LPX
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe
Power Supply
Corsair SF600w
Cooling
Corsair H75
Cooling
NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 PWM
Cooling
NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 PWM
Case
Ncase M1 V5 (Silver)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
BenQ 32" IPS 4K (BL3201PH)
Keyboard
Vortex Poker 3 (White with White LED)
Mouse
Logitech G102 Prodigy (Matte White)
Mouse
Glorious PC Gaming Race XXL Extended
Audio
Soundblaster Omni 5.1
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
kanto Yu2 Desktop Speakers (Gloss White)
Audio
Kanto Sub 6 (Gloss White)
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
Motherboard
Gigabyte 880GMA-UD2H
GPU
Asus GTX 660 Ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
PNY SSD CS1311
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 830
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoit F3
Power Supply
Antec Neo Eco 520C
Cooling
Corsair H50
Case
Silverstone FT03B
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster 220wm
Keyboard
Coolermaster Quickfire Rapid
Mouse
Steelseries QcK
Mouse
Zowie Mico
Audio
Logitech LS21 2.1 Stereo Speakers
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Formula
GPU
VisionTek Reference 7970
GPU
Diamond Reference 7970
RAM
Corsair Dominator-GT 16GB (4x4GB)
Hard Drive
SanDisk Extreme Pro
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 640GB
Power Supply
Seasonic X650 (Custom MDPC Sleeve)
Cooling
Swiftech MCP35X DDC Pump - White Top
Cooling
XSPC AX360 Triple 120mm Radiator - White
Cooling
EK-Supremacy Clean CSQ - Nickel Plexi
Cooling
Bitspower Silver Shining Fittings
Cooling
7 x Scythe Gentle Typhoons D1225C12B4AP-15
Cooling
Bitspower Acrylic DDC Pump Top
Cooling
Bitspower DDC Top Upgrade Kit
Cooling
Bitspower DDC / MCP35x Pump Heatsink - White (BP-DDCPC-WH)
Cooling
2 X EK-FC7970 Nickel CSQ GPU Block
Cooling
2 X EK-FC7970 Backplate - Black CSQ
Cooling
EK-FB KIT ASUS M5F Nickel Motherboard Block
Cooling
XSPC AX480 Quad 120mm Radiator - White
Cooling
EK-Ram Monarch X4 CSQ - (EN) Nickel Plexi
Case
CaseLabs Merlin SM8 (All White)
Operating System
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium Upgrade
Monitor
Achieva Shimian Lite "Perfect Pixels"
Keyboard
Das Keyboard Model S Professional
Mouse
Mionix Avior 7000
Mouse
SteelSeries QCK Mini
Audio
Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
Audio
Sennheiser 598
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Other
NZXT LED Kit - 2 Meter - White (CB-LED20-WH)
▲ hide details ▲
Ragsters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3482 of 3519 (permalink) Old 03-14-2016, 06:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 24
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
This screen has been serving me well for the most part since 2012. In the last year though, I have to wiggle the DVI cable at the monitor end to get it to "handshake" and get a signal from the PC, ONLY off a cold start i.e. first thing in the morning.

Swapped out the cables and it made no difference. Thoughts anyone?

vroom34 is offline  
post #3483 of 3519 (permalink) Old 04-28-2016, 07:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Recr3ational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Devon - UK
Posts: 2,407
Rep: 43 (Unique: 32)
Does anyone know the size of screw the Shmian uses? The screw hole is extremely short which worries me a little bit. Thanks

Recr3ational is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3484 of 3519 (permalink) Old 04-28-2016, 11:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
joeh1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 52
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Recr3ational View Post

Does anyone know the size of screw the Shmian uses? The screw hole is extremely short which worries me a little bit. Thanks

I believe I used M4 screws to attach it to my 3M monitor stand:

http://www.amazon.com/3M-Easy-Adjust-Monitor-Stand-MS110MB/dp/B0013CD0DI/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1461869639&sr=8-3&keywords=3M+monitor+stand

I forget the exact length, but I do have a bit of the screw still protruding outside of the backplate. It still fits snugly, and I've had no issues with either monitor stand functioning as expected.
joeh1974 is offline  
post #3485 of 3519 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 07:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Derpinheimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,139
Rep: 34 (Unique: 33)
Hi guys,

I have a weird problem that seems to be developing on this monitor. Had it for over 3 years now and it has vertical lines of moving pixels. I tried my best to get it on video but it was hard, and the youtube compression seems to have murdered it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxXDcqW2MuZfWW1kdmRvNmtvWE0/view

Heres a screengrab to hopefully make it clearer what I'm trying to point out





Any thoughts? Is the monitor dying?

I can try to get a better video or picture if desired
Derpinheimer is offline  
post #3486 of 3519 (permalink) Old 06-20-2016, 11:44 AM
Retired Staff
 
cam51037's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,273
Rep: 162 (Unique: 105)

I'm having an issue with my Shimian 1440p monitor, wondering if anyone has experienced this before?

 

Basically, when I turn on the monitor, the light in the bottom right corner of the monitor turns from red to blue, as it should, and then the backlight comes on. Even though the monitor is plugged into my computer, no video is displayed. I've been able to temporarily fix the problem by unplugging the DVI cable from the computer and plug it back in - after trying this a few dozen times eventually the monitor begins to display again. It seems that once the monitor is outputting video it has no issues until I turn the monitor off again. Then I have to unplug and plug the DVI cable back in a few dozen times to have any video display.

 

Some things I've tried:

 

  • Using a different DVI cable - no effect
  • Using the current DVI cable with a different monitor - no issues
  • Checking monitor power and video connections to ensure they're solid and that they aren't dusty

 

I did some reading and wasn't able to find anybody with this issue on a Shimian monitor, but I found a thread where it was happening to somebody with another Asian 1440p display. It sounded like the problem was a dislodged ribbon cable in the monitor itself, but I just want to see if anyone in the OCN community has experienced this before I start tearing this monitor apart. Also, the monitor is out of warranty (just my luck :rolleyes:).


<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/f/18042/distributed-computing-general"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><strong><em>CHECK OUT THE DISTRIBUTED COMPUTING SECTION FOR ALL THE INFO ON BITCOIN AS WELL AS OTHER CRYPTOCURRENCIES! </em></strong></span></a></div><span></span><p style="text-align:center;"><span> </span></p><span></span><p style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><a href="https://pgp.mit.edu/pks/lookup?op=get&amp;search=0xEFFBC2817A4C2195" target="_blank">My PGP Key (KEY ID: 7A4C2195)</a></span></p></div></div>


cam51037 is offline  
post #3487 of 3519 (permalink) Old 07-08-2016, 05:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fuzoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derpinheimer View Post

Hi guys,

I have a weird problem that seems to be developing on this monitor. Had it for over 3 years now and it has vertical lines of moving pixels. I tried my best to get it on video but it was hard, and the youtube compression seems to have murdered it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxXDcqW2MuZfWW1kdmRvNmtvWE0/view

Heres a screengrab to hopefully make it clearer what I'm trying to point out





Any thoughts? Is the monitor dying?

I can try to get a better video or picture if desired

I have the same issue. The vertical lines are in groups of 4 lines with a large space between groups. I can hardly see them unless the background is dark. I'd love to know what is going on as I purchased 2 monitors and the issue appeared to happen to both monitors at the same time. Makes me think that there was some kind of voltage surge that happened affecting both monitors - they're plugged into the same outlet. I also tried different DVI cables.

I was thinking about getting new PCB boards for the monitors, but for $150 more apiece I could just get new monitors.
Fuzoos is offline  
post #3488 of 3519 (permalink) Old 07-08-2016, 05:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fuzoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts6910 View Post

I wanted to give you all a heads up for replacement PCBs in case any of you have a dead or dying panel (like I had!) Just found a seller on the site below - here is my short review of what I received.

PCBs came in today - exactly what I needed. These are the ones that OC perfectly.

I had ordered two sets to get my Korean panels back up and running (and to overclock them). One got to 115hz before the panel freaked out the other to 120hz no problem (I have them both at 110hz). I did get coil whine on one set even with the bits covered as suggested. Not a big deal for me since I usually am gaming or have some background music playing while on the PC - the whine is most evident on pages with a lot of white.

I also got a 10% discount for ordering 2 sets - they told me all multi sets always get this discount. Not too shabby. $75 shipped per set (before the discount).

If you need PCBs for your LG panel, or want to OC your current one, I can say this is a solid product and seller.

Now I am set for my Evga 1080 that comes in sometime today!!! So stoked thumb.gifthumb.gif

CLICK HERE FOR THE PCBs

What was the display model are you using this on? Shimian QH270?
Fuzoos is offline  
post #3489 of 3519 (permalink) Old 07-08-2016, 11:07 PM
 
roberts6910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 35
I don't remember. I have the panels debezzled with the metal surrounds painted black. Then I JB welded monitor mounts (and the PCB mounts) to the back and have a nearly seamless setup. One is out of a Catleap and one was from a Yamakasi monitor if I remember correctly - I bought them in 2013. I have a third panel that I need to buy a set for, but again no idea where that came from - I tossed the plastic nearly two years ago.

All of these panels are some model of the the LG LM270WQ1 panels if that helps.
roberts6910 is offline  
post #3490 of 3519 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 12:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fuzoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts6910 View Post

I don't remember. I have the panels debezzled with the metal surrounds painted black. Then I JB welded monitor mounts (and the PCB mounts) to the back and have a nearly seamless setup. One is out of a Catleap and one was from a Yamakasi monitor if I remember correctly - I bought them in 2013. I have a third panel that I need to buy a set for, but again no idea where that came from - I tossed the plastic nearly two years ago.

All of these panels are some model of the the LG LM270WQ1 panels if that helps.

Thanks for the info. I was actually looking online for PCB boards earlier and they were hard to find.

Looking at the pictures, I think my monitor - the Shimian QH270 - has the smaller TCON connections. Comparing the image on the site and this video they seem to be smaller https://youtu.be/By7hrUXJCPk?t=3m5s

I think I'm going to end up buying some new monitors and keeping my Shimian's as extra "non-main" monitors.
Fuzoos is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off