Tutorial: How to Debezel Triple Screen Asus VG236H 3D Monitor! - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Tutorial: How to Debezel Triple Screen Asus VG236H 3D Monitor!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-21-2012, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
System Builder & Gamer
 
zerobahamut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 592
Rep: 30 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tippy View Post

Thanks for this, I own a single VG236H and heaven knows what kind of monstrous GPU setup you would need to get 120fps @ 5760x1080 in more demanding games.
Still, 2cm bezels are just far too much (not blaming you or anything, you did a fantastic job) and the very presence of bezels still ruins any potential plans I could have for surround displays. Oh bezel-free monitors, where art thou...

Hey no problem, always trying to find ways to contribute when I can, and thanks so much for the compliment!

The distance is not too bad and you seem to get used to it. Currently I have made my side monitors overlap the middle one so that the bezel ios only 1cm, which really is not bad at all if you sit back.

As far as the GPU's currently have two EVGA GTX 670 4GB SC cards incoming, and that is hoping it will do 3d at an acceptable frame rate!
zerobahamut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-21-2012, 04:01 PM
Retired Staff
 
ACHILEE5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 9,511
Rep: 786 (Unique: 486)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerobahamut View Post

Thanks so much! Cant wait for Crysis 3
Here is a link to the Side monitor Wallpaper : Link
And the Center Wallpaper: Link

You did a nice job on the monitors bud thumb.gif
rep+

But this wallpaper smile.gif

How can I reverse one of the side wallpapers so the two side wallpapers are facing to the centre thinking.gif
And then how do I stick them all together as one big 48x9 wallpaper coolsmiley.png


ACHILEE5 is offline  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-21-2012, 04:24 PM - Thread Starter
System Builder & Gamer
 
zerobahamut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 592
Rep: 30 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACHILEE5 View Post

You did a nice job on the monitors bud thumb.gif
rep+
But this wallpaper smile.gif
How can I reverse one of the side wallpapers so the two side wallpapers are facing to the centre thinking.gif
And then how do I stick them all together as one big 48x9 wallpaper coolsmiley.png

lol thanks so much

here you go I put them together and made you a wallpaper wink.gif

http://serenityysera.webs.com/images/Crysis%203%20OCN%20Triple%20Screen%20Wallpaper.png

Uploaded it to my old guild website page lol
Resolution is 5760x1080
zerobahamut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-21-2012, 04:48 PM
Retired Staff
 
ACHILEE5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 9,511
Rep: 786 (Unique: 486)
Thanks dude, you're a diamond thumb.gif


ACHILEE5 is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-21-2012, 05:40 PM
CS+EE Alumnus
 
HybridCore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,321
Rep: 214 (Unique: 172)
Job well done. Shouldn't we be able to do this with most monitors?
HybridCore is offline  
post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-21-2012, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
System Builder & Gamer
 
zerobahamut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 592
Rep: 30 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HybridCore View Post

Job well done. Shouldn't we be able to do this with most monitors?

Yeah I would assume that almost all monitors would follow the same tutorial, but I can't guarantee anything. At least for ASUS monitors, they are pretty much all packaged exactly the same as this one.
zerobahamut is offline  
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-21-2012, 08:53 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Hellish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 923
Rep: 46 (Unique: 44)
I did the samething with 3x Asus VH236H's about 4 months ago and did not like it, the vinyl tape I used was near impossible to get perfectly straight and that stand has a base that is obnoxiously large, I opened and did not damage at all the bezels with solely my hands, I tried the first with a screw driver and it was way worse and left a mark and slight bend on one.

IMG-20110819-00042.jpg that series of asus monitors just had terrible bezels, I switched to 3x xl2420t's and they are possibly going on a chief ktp325b

KTP325B.jpg

Hellish is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-26-2012, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
System Builder & Gamer
 
zerobahamut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 592
Rep: 30 (Unique: 29)
Pics Update as per request.... (Click to see bigger image)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tippy View Post

Still, 2cm bezels are just far too much

As for the 2cm concern, I overlap my monitors now...which is a 1cm gap. I really dont even realize its there anymore.

SKYRIM



CRYSIS 2



CRYSIS 2



Some images of the beauties that run the show

zerobahamut is offline  
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-27-2012, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
System Builder & Gamer
 
zerobahamut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 592
Rep: 30 (Unique: 29)
Curplyp

to be honest one gtx690 is not going to have enough cram to run most games on max settings. I would either invest in two gtx 670 4gb SC cards or even two GTX 680 4GB FTW cards. THe FTW cards blow away the gtx 690 sli'd and is around the same price point.

Here I need to show you something...

I took some pics of me playing skyrim last night...look at my Vram usage




On low areas without a ton of pressure it is using at least 3gb of Vram on EACH card.




In higher areas its using almost 3.8gb of Vram on each card.

If you are spending all that money on a gtx 690 and it only has 2gb of vram dedicated for each port, you will never have enough Vram to run games at max settings triple screen. I am almost using the full 8gb of Vram. To be precise i'm using 7.6gb of vram.
zerobahamut is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 12:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PepeLapiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,860
Rep: 158 (Unique: 99)
Hey thanx man, I enjoyed the tut.....+rep
I'm planning on the following monitor at a reported 0.35 inch (9mm) bezel:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005LN1JEC/ref=redir_mdp_mobile?camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B005LN1JEC&linkCode=as2&redirect=true&ref_=as_li_ss_tl&tag=httpwwwnearbu-20
Would be interesting to find out if I can shave it down even more after I remove the bezel.

I like how you set up all 3 monitors on a single stand. Can you ellaborate on that please? I'd do the same.

.
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.
However, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

PepeLapiu is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off