LightBoost, G-SYNC, Turbo240: 120Hz Strobe Backlight LCDs / No Motion Blur! - Page 77 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

LightBoost, G-SYNC, Turbo240: 120Hz Strobe Backlight LCDs / No Motion Blur!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #761 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 03:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 11,019
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahnafakeef View Post

I've gone through the Samsung HowTo. It says that a game needs to run at a constant 120FPS to take advantage of this feature. Is this true? Or am I missing something here?

maintaining constant 60FPS on a 1080p monitor is near impossible for most systems. and 120 is a daydream.

so would this benefit systems with 120Hz monitors running at 50-60FPS in game?

Thanks! smile.gif

No it won't. It needs 100+ fps at 100Hz or 120+ fps at 120Hz.

My Rig
(14 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZKW TridentZ Series
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe (OS Drive)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
SeaSonic Platinum-760 (SS-760XP) Power Supply
Cooling
Custom Watercooling Loop
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Glass
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Dell S2716DG Gaming Monitor
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3
Mouse
Roccat Savu
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck
▲ hide details ▲
kevindd992002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #762 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 04:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,761
Rep: 96 (Unique: 62)
Is this really needed? for a new monitor out of the box that never had LB enabled


If you don’t have a 3D emitter, use the “Edit…” button at the very top to set the product ID to ACI27F8 for each monitor. This will make the driver think you have a VG278H with a built-in emitter so you can enable 3D mode. The model name doesn’t matter and can be set to whatever you want. ?

And these 2 arent needed if you had LB enabled before right and you done a fresh OS install

In the NVIDIA control panel, open the “Set up stereoscopic 3D” page, then click the “Run Setup Wizard” button. If the button isn’t there, uncheck “Enable stereoscopic 3D” and click the “Apply” button.

In the setup wizard, click the “Next” button, then click “Next” again. At this point, it should enable LightBoost, and if you don’t have an emitter, the mouse cursor will be very sluggish and jerky. If you don’t need to enable 3D, you can exit here. Otherwise, continue the wizard as usual.

?

shedokan is offline  
post #763 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 08:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
linkin93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,190
Rep: 267 (Unique: 236)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahnafakeef View Post

I've gone through the Samsung HowTo. It says that a game needs to run at a constant 120FPS to take advantage of this feature. Is this true? Or am I missing something here?

maintaining constant 60FPS on a 1080p monitor is near impossible for most systems. and 120 is a daydream.

so would this benefit systems with 120Hz monitors running at 50-60FPS in game?

Thanks! smile.gif

It looks better at 100+FPS at 120hz, but it's necessary per se. I'd say minimum 60 frames otherwise it looks all juddery.

The AMD ASRock Extreme Series Motherboard Club
Rkingsmiley.png FLAC > Essence STX > Beyerdynamic DT880 250 Ohm thumbsupsmiley.png
Quote:
Originally Posted by skitzogreg go_quote.gif

Hmm, I don't know of any other company that charges $15 for a kick to the testicles.
linkin93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #764 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 01:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Will this apply to Skyrim running with vsync at 60fps? I know the video shows skyrim running at 120fps but that supposedly will break physics in the game as well as all game time-based events.
mxyz is offline  
post #765 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-27-2013, 05:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,761
Rep: 96 (Unique: 62)
Had to reposition my system in other room so taking the power cable off removed LB as well, I'm on 144Hz non LB now after using LB for "quite" long, Wow... and thinking I had a 60Hz T240 Samsung before.. It looks so bad compare to LB thats its unbelievable, don't even care about gaming. just browsing text gives me a headache already cause you're so used to zero motion blur redface.gif gonna enable LB back right now!

shedokan is offline  
post #766 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-27-2013, 10:05 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Razor 116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 979
Rep: 29 (Unique: 25)
What's the compatibility with Lightboost? I'm looking to get an old Nvidia card just to enable Lightboost then switch to my 7970.
Razor 116 is offline  
post #767 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-27-2013, 11:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
writer21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 742
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxyz View Post

Will this apply to Skyrim running with vsync at 60fps? I know the video shows skyrim running at 120fps but that supposedly will break physics in the game as well as all game time-based events.

If you use lightboost 120hz and run at only 60 you will suffer ghosting or double image. Best to get as close to 120fps as possible in lightboost 120hz. It's the reason why someone should find a way to make 60fps at 120hz lightboost work without double image.
writer21 is offline  
post #768 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-27-2013, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
mdrejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,241
Rep: 200 (Unique: 138)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahnafakeef View Post

I've gone through the Samsung HowTo. It says that a game needs to run at a constant 120FPS to take advantage of this feature. Is this true? Or am I missing something here?
maintaining constant 60FPS on a 1080p monitor is near impossible for most systems. and 120 is a daydream.
so would this benefit systems with 120Hz monitors running at 50-60FPS in game?
You need fps=Hz for maximum LightBoost benefits.

Otherwise, the repeated refreshes ends up contributing to sample-and-hold motion blur (double image effects, stutters, increased motion blur, etc). The stroboscopic backlight is enabled only at certain refresh rates (e.g. 100 Hz or 120 Hz), and you need fps=Hz for best motion on stroboscopic displays (CRT, LightBoost). LightBoost and other stroboscopic backlights doesn't look awful at just 60fps, just that most benefits disappear if your strobes aren't synchronized with framerate (which requires frame rate equalling refresh rate).

So you definitely do need 120fps @ 120Hz -- preferably 100fps
Which you can easily do on most systems with a just a high-500 or 600 series GTX if you just run older games (Source engine games). However, to get even just 100fps in games like Crysis 3, you need a Geforce Titan to pull that off. Games like Quake Live, Counterstrike and Team Fortress 2 have no problem attaining 120fps; those games are still fairly popular.

P.S. New Samsung tip. Better colors during stroboscopic mode; change Samsung OSD setting “Magic Angle” to “Group View”
mdrejhon is offline  
post #769 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-27-2013, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
mdrejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,241
Rep: 200 (Unique: 138)
Quote:
Originally Posted by writer21 View Post

If you use lightboost 120hz and run at only 60 you will suffer ghosting or double image. Best to get as close to 120fps as possible in lightboost 120hz. It's the reason why someone should find a way to make 60fps at 120hz lightboost work without double image.
This can be accomplished by software-based black frame insertion, there's a special modification to MAME emulator that allows the 60Hz LightBoost effect by blacking-out every other refresh:
www.blurbusters.com/mame

Theoretically, it can be implemented as a system-wide software-based black frame insertion driver, that can produce the complete LightBoost effect at 60fps (with the attendant 60Hz flicker and further reduced brightness, as a compromise). This works around the hardware LightBoost limitation of being restricted to 100-120Hz.
mdrejhon is offline  
post #770 of 2929 (permalink) Old 03-27-2013, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
mdrejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,241
Rep: 200 (Unique: 138)
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwkslvr View Post

Finally got this working on my VG278 and holy *****! It's unbelievable! Definitely worth it coming from 1600p.
Welcome to the LightBoost experience.
I also did a resolution downgrade (from 1200p) to get the motion clarity upgrade.
mdrejhon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off