Korean QNIX QX2710 Evolution ll 27" 2560x1440 Matte Samsung PLS panel ?? - Page 310 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Korean QNIX QX2710 Evolution ll 27" 2560x1440 Matte Samsung PLS panel ??

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 3099 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 06:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dseg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,461
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
Are these monitors useless now with all the GPUs not having DVI?
I have the 1080 TI and does not have DVI, only HDMI and displayport.

I am reading that even these $100+ active displayport to DVI adaptors won't convert 1440p @ 90Hz.
Should only get 60Hz.

dseg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 3099 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 07:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DiceAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,232
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dseg View Post

Are these monitors useless now with all the GPUs not having DVI?
I have the 1080 TI and does not have DVI, only HDMI and displayport.

I am reading that even these $100+ active displayport to DVI adaptors won't convert 1440p @ 90Hz.
Should only get 60Hz.

Yes you can only get 60hz. i'm kinda in the same boat as I'm going to give this monitor to my dad or use as second monitor so 60hz should be fine for me. I would have to buy this adapter in order to get at least 60hz and that's fine for me. I still love this monitor and it's one of the best monitor I bought. It will always stay in the family and I know my dad will take good care of it as well but I treated myself to a pg279q a while ago and it's awesome. a little bit better for gaming but the Qnix is still good for pretty much anything else.

Gaming RIG
DiceAir is offline  
post #3093 of 3099 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 11:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sempre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 390
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
you can get custom 1080TI cards which have DVI

Mind
Sempre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3094 of 3099 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 02:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zazzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 80
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hi Everyone,

I'm looking to move to a 1080 TI from a 780 GTX don't know how but I've gone from high gfx in StarCraft 2 down to low because it's the 780 can't seem to keep up anymore for some reason.

Anyways, the 1080 TI only has one DVI-D port by the looks of it and I need 3 for the korean monitors.

I have 1 active DP to DVI from acell however, it doesn't behave the best and would rather not need to spend 80$ for another adapter.

Other than replacing all monitors does anyone have a suggestion? I saw there was a way to overdrive the HDMI port to accept 1440 P https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALD_7bs669o using a DVI to HDMI adapter.

Zazz!

zazzn is offline  
post #3095 of 3099 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 03:05 PM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,147
Rep: 188 (Unique: 162)
Your only choice is Active DP to DVI-D connectors. And with them they will only overclock to 75hz.

Im only using 1 screen now after getting my 1080ti.
Was driving 2 fine on my 980ti but it had 2X DVI-D


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is online now  
post #3096 of 3099 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 05:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zazzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 80
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
What about using IGP ports on Skylake/Kaby lake can you use a DVI to HDMI adapter and overdrive it like Nvidia pixel hack?

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-NVIDIA-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

Also what about replacing the board on the monitors with one that supports more ports? Anything like that? these active adapters are bank 80$ a piece, also it is very flaky when I start a Netflix video it goes all messed up sometimes until I unplug it and plug it back in basically some strange compatibility issues.

I have 3 Korean monitors, one x-star, qnix and a Shimian, and I really don't want to replace them especially since everything out there isn't even as good as these!! Is there a better adapter or any other way of hacking the board to include DP by replacing the IC board on the monitor?

Zazz!

zazzn is offline  
post #3097 of 3099 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 09:00 PM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,147
Rep: 188 (Unique: 162)
Maybe get replacement controller board for the screen which supports the HDMI. Only does 60hz on that tho.
Get decent quality DP to DVI-D adapter. Yeah its expensive tho.


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is online now  
post #3098 of 3099 (permalink) Old 06-18-2017, 01:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zazzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 80
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Any ideas where these controllers are and how much? I mean the adapter i have cost 85$ and the monitors only 250.

I'd rather get a new 4k monitor if this is the case TBH.

So silly that none of these adapters really work well.

Zazz!

zazzn is offline  
post #3099 of 3099 (permalink) Old 06-19-2017, 04:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Posts: 1,202
Rep: 51 (Unique: 36)
Evga 1080ti SC black is a reference board with a DVI port. That's the card I bought (and on water) to use with my trusty X-Star.

"The answer might make you find a new hobby lol. It's best just to make pretend it's affordable" kpoeticg


The Storm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off